Sabayon don't boot

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :)

Moderator: Moderators

pepro
Baby Hen
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2018 11:45

Sabayon don't boot

Post by pepro » Sat Jun 09, 2018 11:53

Hi, I have with sabayon the same problem that I had with gentoo (genkernel) and funtoo (deban kernel ).

The system do not boot because don't find root.
Here a screen: https://ibb.co/dP0gso

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3293
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Sabayon don't boot

Post by sabayonino » Sat Jun 09, 2018 12:08

Hi.And welcome in

There are few similar issues (new installation) around the sabayon forums . I think this is related EFI but I'm not sure about this. I can't reproduce it.
I reported this to the IRC-dev channel.
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

pepro
Baby Hen
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2018 11:45

Re: Sabayon don't boot

Post by pepro » Sat Jun 09, 2018 12:12

Hi thank you for the answer, just to be clear, when I had this issue with gentoo and funtoo I was in legacy mode, this time not. I installed sabayon in uefi mode with secure boot disabled.

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3293
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Sabayon don't boot

Post by sabayonino » Sat Jun 09, 2018 12:56

How is your partition schema installed/configured ?

Code: Select all

# blkid && lsblk
My partiton schema :

Code: Select all

lsblk && blkid

NAME            MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
sda               8:0    0 238,5G  0 disk 
├─sda1            8:1    0    33M  0 part /boot/efi
├─sda2            8:2    0   150M  0 part /boot
├─sda3            8:3    0     2G  0 part [SWAP]
└─sda4            8:4    0 236,3G  0 part 
  ├─VG00-system 251:0    0   100G  0 lvm  /
  ├─VG00-home   251:1    0   100G  0 lvm  /home
  └─VG00-data   251:2    0 302,1G  0 lvm  /home/saba/Doc
sdb               8:16   0 465,8G  0 disk 
└─sdb1            8:17   0 465,8G  0 part 
  ├─VG00-data   251:2    0 302,1G  0 lvm  /home/saba/Doc
  └─VG00-backup 251:3    0   100G  0 lvm  /backup
/dev/mapper/VG00-system: UUID="e66c9ff4-5872-4479-99e6-4d4c50254bf5" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sda1: UUID="21B2-49B5" TYPE="vfat" PARTUUID="7413321e-9413-4ca5-a377-50acae0bbdc0"
/dev/sda2: UUID="7ccfc056-86d3-4710-97c0-6ef0e3fbc8e9" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="8d9f77b2-7b22-4732-9a39-536be6fec4bf"
/dev/sda3: UUID="e66dff34-4a5d-43dd-a08e-cc3d33de87b5" TYPE="swap" PARTUUID="bc3d93d9-9208-4600-8223-fcd8e707ca05"
/dev/sda4: UUID="wIR3x9-hxoa-4HbD-rXCn-Vh3x-VYka-VBq8wA" TYPE="LVM2_member" PARTUUID="8c672141-ebee-498b-9ed7-eebc48163ab4"
/dev/sdb1: UUID="t4SSss-MZmU-sZMA-nO8S-1f5Q-9Ssk-72Kl9J" TYPE="LVM2_member" PARTUUID="3a15fe35-45a5-4f49-b9ee-09f042d51c5c"
/dev/mapper/VG00-home: UUID="107300fa-1473-4414-b6ba-9082d0af94eb" TYPE="xfs"
/dev/mapper/VG00-data: UUID="52b334f5-b135-4644-ad21-e20732b5423e" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/mapper/VG00-backup: UUID="2d3f040a-1217-42d7-8296-8b3e93700ffa" TYPE="xfs"

Fstab

Code: Select all

#
# /etc/fstab
# Created by anaconda on Fri Oct 28 01:06:52 2016
#
# Accessible filesystems, by reference, are maintained under '/dev/disk'
# See man pages fstab(5), findfs(8), mount(8) and/or blkid(8) for more info
#
UUID=7ccfc056-86d3-4710-97c0-6ef0e3fbc8e9       /boot           ext4    defaults 0 1
UUID=21B2-49B5                                  /boot/efi       vfat    defaults 0 1
UUID=e66c9ff4-5872-4479-99e6-4d4c50254bf5       /               ext4    defaults,discard        0 2
UUID=107300fa-1473-4414-b6ba-9082d0af94eb       /home           xfs     defaults,discard        0 2
UUID=52b334f5-b135-4644-ad21-e20732b5423e       /home/saba/Doc  ext4      defaults,discard        0 2
UUID=2d3f040a-1217-42d7-8296-8b3e93700ffa       /backup         xfs     defaults,discard                0 2
UUID=e66dff34-4a5d-43dd-a08e-cc3d33de87b5 swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

pepro
Baby Hen
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2018 11:45

Re: Sabayon don't boot

Post by pepro » Sat Jun 09, 2018 14:10

now I have installed lubuntu wainting to find some kernel documentation.

I have installed many distro with the same classic partition scheme,

Code: Select all

NAME         MAJ:MIN RM  SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
mmcblk0      179:0    0 29,1G  0 disk 
├─mmcblk0p1  179:1    0  512M  0 part /boot/efi
└─mmcblk0p2  179:2    0 28,6G  0 part /
mmcblk0boot0 179:8    0    4M  1 disk 
mmcblk0boot1 179:16   0    4M  1 disk
it was igual but with other two partition

/dev/mmcblk0p1 /boot/efi
/dev/mmcblk0p2 /boot
/dev/mmcblk0p3 /swap
/dev/mmcblk0p4 /


now, like other in gentoo and linuxquestion forum, dont look just fstab, because it is correct. I need if possible to understand what option have some kernel (arch, debian, ubuntu, manjaro) to boot in this kind of notebook with sd/mmc hdd. Actualy there arent many gentoo forks, so I installed gentoo and I see (first time) that it do not boot, funtoo was the same (but why? it use debian kernel), after looking for some distro I tried redcorelinux that have boot, I have read some error message from kernel but it have some module that finaly find root partition and boot, with sabayon I was very surprised when I see that dont, because like redcore I was expecting some big fulloptional kernel.

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3293
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Sabayon don't boot

Post by sabayonino » Sat Jun 09, 2018 15:18

oooh you've installed the system on MMC/SD card reader
many BIOS can't boot from MMC/SD card reader 'cause its drivers will be load after SO loading

or check your BIOS-->Boot option

PS : Is a raspberry board ?
PPS : I think you need to load the MMC/SD card reader driver at boot . Module/Drivers should be on initramfs ; so check boot priority to the BIOS
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

pepro
Baby Hen
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2018 11:45

Re: Sabayon don't boot

Post by pepro » Sat Jun 09, 2018 15:28

Nono I do not explain myself!
My notebook Acer Cloudbook 11, have just this hard drive.
(I think that the other two partition that u see in my lsbk output:

mmcblk0boot0 179:8 0 4M 1 disk
mmcblk0boot1 179:16 0 4M 1 disk

are needed from bios to start. And they work just fine, I mean Windows boot, all linux dist boot. Gentoo don't. Redcorelinux boot.

What I am saying is that I don't choice where to install,I don't use external sd/mmc card, I just use the only hard drive that my notebook has. I mean is the only one, like you see in the code.

pepro
Baby Hen
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2018 11:45

Re: Sabayon don't boot

Post by pepro » Sat Jun 09, 2018 15:32

Ok I just read your PPS.
I will do something and let you know.

In the meantime if someone know what module option or something are needed in the kernel initfram and everything else i have to put in genkernell, let me know. Thank u.

gocool
Growing Hen
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 13:37

Re: Sabayon don't boot

Post by gocool » Wed Jun 20, 2018 0:46

I think its the new update which Sabayon team pushed. I am seeing this pattern with Sabayon team, they hardly care about users. I had five machines with Sabayon and I changed it all to Ubuntu. But just this one machine is stuck with Sabayon as its for a non profit organization. I need to find time to change it to Ubuntu.

But till then, is there any way to get the machine up? Even mine stops at the login prompt. And it doesnt take my regular username and password.

Stupot
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1680
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:44
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA

Re: Sabayon don't boot

Post by Stupot » Wed Jun 20, 2018 4:39

gocool, yours sounds like a different issue.

Your issue almost sounds more like the KDE lockscreen issue than a booting issue. But I assume you would have said it was the lockscreen if that was indeed where your problem lies.

Post Reply