failed to start x server

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :)

Moderator: Moderators

Pack
Baby Hen

failed to start x server

Post by Pack » Wed Apr 27, 2011 21:24

Hello, im kinda new to linux but have been using ubuntu,opensuse and mint for a little while now. I wanted to try Sabayon but I cant get it to start. I keep getting this "failed x server (your graphical interface..." and then it asks me if i want to view the logs. I click yes and then i get this wall of text and at the end it says no screens detected, im not sure what to do.
My computer has an ATI radeon HD 6870 if that helps and it is the 64bit version of Sabayon (E17). I tried the KDE version and i got the same thing.
The computers internet connection is through wireless so I don't have an internet connection until I get this fixed, anyone know how to fix this? Keep in mind im new to all this.

Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen

Re: failed to start x server

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Wed Apr 27, 2011 21:58

The ATI Radeon HD 6870 has only recently become supported in Linux, by the AMD Catalyst for Linux driver version 11.3, and the open-source driver is apparently still buggy with this GPU (see Sapphire Radeon HD 6870 On Linux). So that's why you are having trouble. Until the Catalyst driver version 11.3 (ati-drivers-11.3) is added to the Entropy repository you will not be able to use the closed-source driver, and I'm not sure what the status is regarding the current version of the open-source Radeon driver xf86-video-ati and your GPU.

Have you actually installed to your HDD, or are you still trying to boot the LiveCD?

You could try the open-source Radeon driver to see if you have any joy. If that fails, you can try the VESA driver which would at least get you going until the Catalyst 11.3 driver is put in the repository.