[HOWTO]: Resolve Problems With HDA-INTEL Sound Cards

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

ajez
The Blamed One
Posts: 506
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 17:17
Location: Venezia - /dev/null
Contact:

[HOWTO]: Resolve Problems With HDA-INTEL Sound Cards

Post by ajez » Mon Sep 17, 2007 18:26

MODERATOR EDIT (October 2, 2010 13:42 BST): These instructions are for an earlier version of SL. See the SL Wiki for more-recent instructions.


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


This is the translation of the italian guide i made in italian section:

I report how some users resolved their problems with a hda-intel audio card.. the guide was originally made by maltese.. i only corrected it a bit.

1) to avoid errors, i suggest to try this guide on live enviroment, and if it works, do it on installed sabayon!
2) look at the list if u see the model of your sound card, keeping in mind that also if it is not the exact name u have, one of the option should work anyway!

This is the list:

Code: Select all

Module snd-hda-intel
	  --------------------
	
	    Module for Intel HD Audio (ICH6, ICH6M, ESB2, ICH7, ICH8),
			ATI SB450, SB600, RS600,
			VIA VT8251/VT8237A,
			SIS966, ULI M5461
	
	    model	- force the model name
	    position_fix - Fix DMA pointer (0 = auto, 1 = none, 2 = POSBUF, 3 = FIFO size)
	    single_cmd  - Use single immediate commands to communicate with
			codecs (for debugging only)
	    enable_msi	- Enable Message Signaled Interrupt (MSI) (default = off)
	
	    This module supports one card and autoprobe.
	
	    Each codec may have a model table for different configurations.
	    If your machine isn't listed there, the default (usually minimal)
	    configuration is set up.  You can pass "model=<name>" option to
	    specify a certain model in such a case.  There are different
	    models depending on the codec chip.
	
		  Model name	Description
		  ----------    -----------
		ALC880
		  3stack	3-jack in back and a headphone out
		  3stack-digout	3-jack in back, a HP out and a SPDIF out
		  5stack	5-jack in back, 2-jack in front
		  5stack-digout	5-jack in back, 2-jack in front, a SPDIF out
		  6stack	6-jack in back, 2-jack in front
		  6stack-digout	6-jack with a SPDIF out
		  w810		3-jack
		  z71v		3-jack (HP shared SPDIF)
		  asus		3-jack (ASUS Mobo)
		  asus-w1v	ASUS W1V
		  asus-dig	ASUS with SPDIF out
		  asus-dig2	ASUS with SPDIF out (using GPIO2)
		  uniwill	3-jack
		  fujitsu	Fujitsu Laptops (Pi1536)
		  F1734		2-jack
		  lg		LG laptop (m1 express dual)
		  lg-lw		LG LW20/LW25 laptop
		  tcl		TCL S700
		  clevo		Clevo laptops (m520G, m665n)
		  test		for testing/debugging purpose, almost all controls can be
				adjusted.  Appearing only when compiled with
				$CONFIG_SND_DEBUG=y
		  auto		auto-config reading BIOS (default)
	
		ALC260
		  hp		HP machines
		  hp-3013	HP machines (3013-variant)
		  fujitsu	Fujitsu S7020
		  acer		Acer TravelMate
		  basic		fixed pin assignment (old default model)
		  auto		auto-config reading BIOS (default)
	
		ALC262
		  fujitsu	Fujitsu Laptop
		  hp-bpc	HP xw4400/6400/8400/9400 laptops
		  hp-bpc-d7000	HP BPC D7000
		  benq		Benq ED8
		  hippo		Hippo (ATI) with jack detection, Sony UX-90s
		  hippo_1	Hippo (Benq) with jack detection
		  basic		fixed pin assignment w/o SPDIF
		  auto		auto-config reading BIOS (default)
	
		ALC882/885
		  3stack-dig	3-jack with SPDIF I/O
		  6stack-dig	6-jack digital with SPDIF I/O
		  arima		Arima W820Di1
		  macpro	MacPro support
		  w2jc		ASUS W2JC
		  auto		auto-config reading BIOS (default)
	
		ALC883/888
		  3stack-dig	3-jack with SPDIF I/O
		  6stack-dig	6-jack digital with SPDIF I/O
		  3stack-6ch    3-jack 6-channel
		  3stack-6ch-dig 3-jack 6-channel with SPDIF I/O
		  6stack-dig-demo  6-jack digital for Intel demo board
		  acer		Acer laptops (Travelmate 3012WTMi, Aspire 5600, etc)
		  medion	Medion Laptops
		  targa-dig	Targa/MSI
		  targa-2ch-dig	Targs/MSI with 2-channel
		  laptop-eapd   3-jack with SPDIF I/O and EAPD (Clevo M540JE, M550JE)
		  auto		auto-config reading BIOS (default)
	
		ALC861/660
		  3stack	3-jack
		  3stack-dig	3-jack with SPDIF I/O
		  6stack-dig	6-jack with SPDIF I/O
		  3stack-660	3-jack (for ALC660)
		  uniwill-m31	Uniwill M31 laptop
		  toshiba	Toshiba laptop support
		  asus		Asus laptop support
		  asus-laptop	ASUS F2/F3 laptops
		  auto		auto-config reading BIOS (default)
	
		ALC861VD/660VD
		  3stack	3-jack
		  3stack-dig	3-jack with SPDIF OUT
		  6stack-dig	6-jack with SPDIF OUT
		  3stack-660	3-jack (for ALC660VD)
		  lenovo	Lenovo 3000 C200
		  auto		auto-config reading BIOS (default)
	
		CMI9880
		  minimal	3-jack in back
		  min_fp	3-jack in back, 2-jack in front
		  full		6-jack in back, 2-jack in front
		  full_dig	6-jack in back, 2-jack in front, SPDIF I/O
		  allout	5-jack in back, 2-jack in front, SPDIF out
		  auto		auto-config reading BIOS (default)
	
		AD1981
		  basic		3-jack (default)
		  hp		HP nx6320
		  thinkpad	Lenovo Thinkpad T60/X60/Z60
		  toshiba	Toshiba U205
	
		AD1986A
		  6stack	6-jack, separate surrounds (default)
		  3stack	3-stack, shared surrounds
		  laptop	2-channel only (FSC V2060, Samsung M50)
		  laptop-eapd	2-channel with EAPD (Samsung R65, ASUS A6J)
		  ultra		2-channel with EAPD (Samsung Ultra tablet PC)
	
		AD1988
		  6stack	6-jack
		  6stack-dig	ditto with SPDIF
		  3stack	3-jack
		  3stack-dig	ditto with SPDIF
		  laptop	3-jack with hp-jack automute
		  laptop-dig	ditto with SPDIF
		  auto		auto-config reading BIOS (default)
		
		Conexant 5045
		  laptop	Laptop config 
		  test		for testing/debugging purpose, almost all controls
				can be adjusted.  Appearing only when compiled with
				$CONFIG_SND_DEBUG=y
	
		Conexant 5047
		  laptop	Basic Laptop config 
		  laptop-hp	Laptop config for some HP models (subdevice 30A5)
		  laptop-eapd	Laptop config with EAPD support
		  test		for testing/debugging purpose, almost all controls
				can be adjusted.  Appearing only when compiled with
				$CONFIG_SND_DEBUG=y
	
		STAC9200/9205/9254
		  ref		Reference board
	
		STAC9220/9221
		  ref		Reference board
		  3stack	D945 3stack
		  5stack	D945 5stack + SPDIF
		  macmini	Intel Mac Mini
		  macbook	Intel Mac Book
		  macbook-pro-v1 Intel Mac Book Pro 1st generation
		  macbook-pro	Intel Mac Book Pro 2nd generation
		  imac-intel	Intel iMac
	
		STAC9202/9250/9251
		  ref		Reference board, base config
		  m2-2		Some Gateway MX series laptops
		  m6		Some Gateway NX series laptops
		  pa6		Gateway NX860 series
	
		STAC9227/9228/9229/927x
		  ref		Reference board
		  3stack	D965 3stack
		  5stack	D965 5stack + SPDIF
	
		STAC9872
		  vaio		Setup for VAIO FE550G/SZ110
		  vaio-ar Setup for VAIO AR
	
	    The model name "genric" is treated as a special case.  When this
	    model is given, the driver uses the generic codec parser without
	    "codec-patch".  It's sometimes good for testing and debugging.
	
	    If the default configuration doesn't work and one of the above
	    matches with your device, report it together with the PCI
	    subsystem ID (output of "lspci -nv") to ALSA BTS or alsa-devel
	    ML (see the section "Links and Addresses").
	
	    Note 2: If you get click noises on output, try the module option
		    position_fix=1 or 2.  position_fix=1 will use the SD_LPIB
		    register value without FIFO size correction as the current
		    DMA pointer.  position_fix=2 will make the driver to use
		    the position buffer instead of reading SD_LPIB register.
		    (Usually SD_LPLIB register is more accurate than the
		    position buffer.)
open a console and type:

Code: Select all

su
(command to become root)

now run

Code: Select all

 lsof /dev/snd/* 
and see if there's an application using audio. if yes, kill it!

To kill it, open Kde process manager with ctrl+esc or alt+f2 and execute kcontrol and kill processes.

after that run:

Code: Select all

 rmmod snd-hda-intel 
to unload the driver.

after that run:

Code: Select all

 modprobe snd-hda-intel model=YOUR_MODEL 
YOUR_MODEL is the one u found (or u think that should work) on the list
after that command volumes are set to 0, so with kmix u have to pump it up!

Now try to play something, if not working u could try another model starting the guide from begin!

if it works, do this on the installed sabayon, and after we need to save those settings, so:

open a console and become root with

Code: Select all

su
command.

then run:

Code: Select all

echo "options snd-hda-intel model=YOUR_MODEL" >> /etc/modules.d/alsa
and

Code: Select all

modules-update
someone said he had to run:

Code: Select all

modules-update force
now reboot and see if it works ! I hope this guide will help someone! ByeZ!
--
Core Beta/Site,Blog,Forum Admin
Image

Merlin7777
Simple Hen
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 3:47

Re: [HOWTO]: Resolve Problems With HDA-INTEL Sound Cards

Post by Merlin7777 » Tue Nov 27, 2007 22:15

If you are still having trouble after trying the above, try this:


as root:

Code: Select all

alsaconf


after that as root:

Code: Select all

alsamixer

Be sure to unmute all in alsamixer.

I give props to Joost for helping me with this!

Xvan911
Baby Hen
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 6:42

Re: [HOWTO]: Resolve Problems With HDA-INTEL Sound Cards

Post by Xvan911 » Wed Jan 09, 2008 6:28

I have the same problem on a dell inspiron 1420 -laptop, after doing those steps the sound works great, but when I reboot the sound doesn't work, I have to repeat the steps due to make the sound work,

Any ideas about how to fix this?!

Thanks guys!!

EvilBunny
Baby Hen
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 22:55

Your model ?

Post by EvilBunny » Fri Feb 15, 2008 23:00

Am following the guide on how to get sound if you got an hda intel card. At the part that says put your model am not sure what exactly

My card is an SB600 am I suppose to type in that ?

actaea
Young Hen
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 18:48

Re: [HOWTO]: Resolve Problems With HDA-INTEL Sound Cards

Post by actaea » Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:18

I have AD1988 6stack card on motherboard. I'd like to use the "line in" port and listen to radio on my computer speakers from an old amp. On the OS of darkness and evil, the radio simply plays when I start the OS up (as long as the line-in is not muted, of course). Can I do this on Linux yet? Or are the drivers just not able to do this yet? Thanks!!

User avatar
xodeus
Baby Hen
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:12
Location: Fredericia, DK
Contact:

Re: [HOWTO]: Resolve Problems With HDA-INTEL Sound Cards

Post by xodeus » Fri Mar 28, 2008 20:02

This is great.

Code: Select all

modprobe snd-hda-intel model=toshiba
Worked on my Zepto Znote 3215W.
This is my HW profile.
Zepto ZNote 3215W custom:
  • Memory:: 2018MB
  • CPU:: Intel® Core(tm)2 Duo CPU T5450 @ 1.66GHz
  • Display Adapter:: Intel® Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller
  • USB Controller:: 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Contoller #4
  • Audio device:: 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller
  • Ethernet interface:: Broadcom NetLink BCM5906M Fast Ethernet PCI Express
  • Wireless interface:: RaLink rt2860
  • FireWire:: Ricoh R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller
  • DVD-RAM writer:: TSSTcorp CDDVDW SN-S082H
  • SATA controller:: Intel 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA AHCI Controller
  • HDD:: 160 GB 2,5" Hitachi 5400rpm

loserkid70
Baby Hen
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 21:53

Re: [HOWTO]: Resolve Problems With HDA-INTEL Sound Cards

Post by loserkid70 » Wed Oct 07, 2009 19:29

great HOWTO but im having trouble with one of the first commands.

ls of /dev/snd/*

It gives me an error "No such file or directory" and has a list of files that are in the /dev/snd/ folder.

I realize im supposed to replace " * " with something but im not 100% sure what. ive tried the names of all the files in the folder but i get the same error. Im new to the reconfiguring hardware portion of linux so a little help would be great.

Ive tried using alsaconf and it said the process completed but still no audio.

I tried skipping this part to the " rmmod snd-hda-intel " code but it says i have an application using the audio driver. Ive tried opening the 2 programs you listed, (Kde process manager & kcontrol) but i do not have these anywhere. At least that i know of. Im using the Gnome desktop GUI.

Thanks

Gateway T6815
Intel Core 2 Duo - Centrino Duo
2GB RAM
Intel-HDA 82801H Audio
Sabyon 4.2

ajez
The Blamed One
Posts: 506
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 17:17
Location: Venezia - /dev/null
Contact:

Re: [HOWTO]: Resolve Problems With HDA-INTEL Sound Cards

Post by ajez » Wed Oct 07, 2009 22:19

keep in mind the post is 2 years old, and that now sabayon 5 is available.

anyway:
1- the correct command should be

Code: Select all

lsof /dev/snd/*
2- the output of that command should be a list of applications using the audio, u have to kill them using the gnome task manager, u can find it in the gnome menu
3- as reported from the user posted before u, the correct setting for u should be "modprobe snd-hda-intel model=toshiba"

i suggest u to do the following:
  • a. check with the command

    Code: Select all

    alsamixer
    in a root console if all channels are unmuted

    b. if it's all unmuted, do

    Code: Select all

    ls /dev/snd/*
    and kill the processes listed in there

    c. after killing those processes, run as root

    Code: Select all

    rmmod snd-hda-intel
    if it fails i suggest to jump to step f

    d. then do

    Code: Select all

    modprobe snd-hda-intel model=toshiba
    e. check if now its working

    f. if its working, run as root (with quotes):

    Code: Select all

    echo "options snd-hda-intel model=toshiba" >> /etc/modules.d/alsa
    and after that do:

    Code: Select all

    modules-update
    Now reboot and see if it keeps working
If u are still having no sound, try having help on our IRC support channel.
Thanks for using sabayon
--
Core Beta/Site,Blog,Forum Admin
Image

Underlost
Baby Hen
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 1:56
Location: Santiago, Chile

Re: [HOWTO]: Resolve Problems With HDA-INTEL Sound Cards

Post by Underlost » Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:17

i had the same problems, but i found 2 solutions:

1.- removing pulseaudio with --nodeps ( and merging kmix with -pulseaudio)

OR

2.- merging pulseaudio-0.9.19-r50 and re-merging kmix.

it seems that pulseaudio-0.9.17-r51 is bugged or somthing with snd-hda-intel.

loserkid70
Baby Hen
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 21:53

Re: [HOWTO]: Resolve Problems With HDA-INTEL Sound Cards

Post by loserkid70 » Thu Oct 08, 2009 21:58

I have updated to 5.0 and that combines with alsaconf has solved my sound issues.. thanks everyone

Post Reply