Problems after world update [Solved]

Anything that pertains to Entropy, Equo or Sulfur

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Problems after world update

Postby azteka22 » Fri Jun 12, 2009 23:56

ok thx

shuld i do :
rc-update del wicd && rc-update add networkmanager or not?
azteka22
Young Hen
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 21:37

Re: Problems after world update

Postby azteka22 » Fri Jun 12, 2009 23:58

i still keep gettin the same message:

localhost ~ # emerge -av =net-misc/networkmanager-0.6.6-r1

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!

emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "=net-misc/networkmanager-0.6.6-r1".
azteka22
Young Hen
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 21:37

Re: Problems after world update

Postby micia » Sat Jun 13, 2009 0:04

if you use wicd, yes, you should put back NetworkManager with rc-update.

The problem with NetworkManager is pretty strange, what do you get searching for it doing:
Code: Select all
emerge -s networkmanager
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Problems after world update

Postby azteka22 » Sat Jun 13, 2009 0:06

localhost ~ # emerge -s networkmanager
Searching...
[ Results for search key : networkmanager ]
[ Applications found : 5 ]

* kde-misc/knetworkmanager
Latest version installed: 0.7.0_p20090207
Homepage: http://en.opensuse.org/Projects/KNetworkManager
Description: A KDE frontend for NetworkManager
License: GPL-2

* net-misc/networkmanager
Latest version available: 0.7.1-r4
Latest version installed: 0.7.0-r3
Size of files: 1,234 kB
Homepage: http://www.gnome.org/projects/NetworkManager/
Description: Network configuration and management in an easy way. Desktop environment independent.
License: GPL-2

* net-misc/networkmanager-openvpn
Latest version available: 0.7.1
Latest version installed: 0.7.0
Size of files: 372 kB
Homepage: http://www.gnome.org/projects/NetworkManager/
Description: NetworkManager OpenVPN plugin.
License: GPL-2

* net-misc/networkmanager-pptp [ Masked ]
Latest version available: 0.7.1
Latest version installed: [ Not Installed ]
Size of files: 376 kB
Homepage: http://www.gnome.org/projects/NetworkManager/
Description: NetworkManager PPTP plugin.
License: GPL-2

* net-misc/networkmanager-vpnc
Latest version available: 0.7.1
Latest version installed: 0.7.0
Size of files: 371 kB
Homepage: http://www.gnome.org/projects/NetworkManager/
Description: NetworkManager VPNC plugin.
License: GPL-2
azteka22
Young Hen
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 21:37

Re: Problems after world update

Postby micia » Sat Jun 13, 2009 0:17

I'm sorry, but my skill with portage are pretty limited, the strange thing, is that I'm able
to download the 0.6.6 version with the command I gave to you with no problem;

you could try:
Code: Select all
emerge -av '<net-misc/networkmanager-0.7.0'

this should pick a version lower than the 0.7.0 one.

here, I see that the package is available http://gentoo-portage.com/net-misc/networkmanager

You synced correctly with portage using the 'emerge --sync' command?
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Problems after world update

Postby azteka22 » Sat Jun 13, 2009 0:21

ya i also checked the gento portage database and found it. and i installed it now i just did
emerge -av =net-misc/networmanager-0.6.6 (withought the r1) and it worked. it installed it perfectly.
Thank you for all your help micia i really appreciated it!!
azteka22
Young Hen
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 21:37

Re: Problems after world update

Postby micia » Sat Jun 13, 2009 0:27

check if it works before thanking me :mrgreen:

Be careful with world updates, often merging all config files lead to problems, double check them;
also entropy now will most likely suggest you to update NetworkManager, you could mask the package
in entropy, but you should read the wiki and get used to entropy before doing this kind of things :)

Enjoy Sabayon!

(BTW, if it is really solved, please edit the first post of the subject and add [Solved] to the end,
so anyone will be able to find the solution if they have your same problem :wink: )
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Problems after world update

Postby azteka22 » Sat Jun 13, 2009 2:54

No, it didn't work. I installed networkmanager .0.6.6 but sumhow wicd Is still the default network program. Do I need to erase wicd 2 make networkmanager .0.6.6 my default even tho I already ran rc-update add networkmanager && rc-update del wicd.
azteka22
Young Hen
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 21:37

Re: Problems after world update

Postby WarraWarra » Sat Jun 13, 2009 4:15

If you can not connect a network cable try this:
You can also depending on skill pop in the livedvd and chroot into your installed system and continue + fix what is needed then exit and reboot into installed hd / should then be working normal Sabayon.

CHROOT:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/h ... art1_chap6

What is important in this link.
First get your internet going in the livedvd then in a terminal login as root, decide where you will be mounting your installed hard drive.

Example:
To get the dns to work so it will connect ip addresses with word addresses for internet sites:
cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/

See how and what is your partition layout:
fdisk -l

Make a dir for mounting the installed hard drive partition too:
mkdir /mnt/linux

Mount the partition to this folder
mount /dev/sda??? /mnt/linux
Replace the ??? with actual label / numbering as is appropriate to your partition layout / root partition numbering dev/sda* or /dev/sdb* or similar.

mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc

mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev

chroot /mnt/linux /bin/bash

env-update
>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...

source /etc/profile

export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"

or
export PS1="(pimp-my-linux) $PS1"
Any label will do to keep you focused on what and where you are working in. Any other terminal window will be root of livedvd and have to chroot /mnt/..... and later parts to get into installed hd partition instead of livedvd root terminal.

Now you are in chroot and can do what you need same as if you booted into it, just don't try to start kde or gnome if it is already running on the livedvd. LOL

This way you do not need a network cable and can do all the stuff Micia posted above to get it to work.

Yup we should edit the guide and let most folks first " equo world --fetch " or download and then run and install as this is a safer way to do it.

Hope this helps, shout if you need more help.
WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Re: Problems after world update

Postby WarraWarra » Sat Jun 13, 2009 4:18

azteka22 wrote:No, it didn't work. I installed networkmanager .0.6.6 but sumhow wicd Is still the default network program. Do I need to erase wicd 2 make networkmanager .0.6.6 my default even tho I already ran rc-update add networkmanager && rc-update del wicd.


You might be able to in the wicd option / advanced option stop it from loading at boot time and then start networkmanager manually and set it to start at boot as default for gnome or kde.

Not in SL now so can not post specific commands. See also the wiki it could have more info.
WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

PreviousNext

Return to Entropy|Equo|Rigo Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron