Problems after world update [Solved]

Anything that pertains to Entropy, Equo or Sulfur

Moderator: Moderators

Problems after world update [Solved]

Postby azteka22 » Fri Jun 12, 2009 18:57

Hey,
After readin the post about world updatin I decided 2 upgrade my sabayon system. Just before the upgrade was complete my laptop lost Internet connectivity, prbly due 2 the networkmanager 0.7.0 upgrade. And accordin 2 the post I was supposed to update my drivers/modules, I tried equo install nvidia driver but it said culd nat contact server. In addition I cannot downgrade the networkmanager bcuz I can't connect to the Internet. Now the login screen is messed up and it doesn't let me in to my sabayon home desktop. Any help pls? How can I update my video card driver n networkmanager 0.6.0 if m nat connected 2 the Internet?
Last edited by azteka22 on Sat Jun 13, 2009 21:24, edited 1 time in total.
azteka22
Young Hen
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 21:37

Re: Problems after world update

Postby micia » Fri Jun 12, 2009 19:35

if you are able to login in text mode and connect to a cable in order to get access to
the internet try the following:

- login in text mode and gain root priviledges using 'su'.

- give the following commands:
Code: Select all
equo update && equo install wicd

this will install wicd, an alternative to NetworkManager. Now
you should replace NetworkManager with it.
Code: Select all
rc-update del NetworkManager && rc-update add wicd

wicd should not run when NetworkManager is running, otherwise
bad things will happen.

- now try to install the nvidia drivers
Code: Select all
equo install nvidia-drivers
eselect opengl set nvidia


- reboot using the
Code: Select all
reboot

command and see if now your session is ok.

[EDIT] to get your graphical session back you could temporarily set the video drivers
back to xorg:
Code: Select all
eselect opengl set xorg-x11

and reboot
(eselect opengl list will give you all available video drivers)
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Problems after world update

Postby azteka22 » Fri Jun 12, 2009 22:29

thx for the advice!
[EDIT]
o damn i dont have an nvidia card on this laptop, i have a Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller, wot r the drivers for this? I cannot find them. Cuz this be the reason why my screen is all grey with only a terminal in the center an window that says xsm:default int he left hand side of my screen?
azteka22
Young Hen
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 21:37

Re: Problems after world update

Postby micia » Fri Jun 12, 2009 23:00

I think that probably your /etc/conf.d/xdm file has some problem.
If I understood correctly you have a login screen (not textual, but a
grey window), which is not the one you previously had, and when you
login you get some console windows and the one you mentioned in your last post.

If it is so:

gain root priviledges in a console using su,
open the file /etc/conf.d/xdm with a text editor, in these situations nano could
be useful, it is a console text editor, but it is easy to use; type in the console:
Code: Select all
nano /etc/conf.d/xdm

it will open the file, navigate in the file using the keyboard arrows and edit the file
normally.

There should be a line like:
Code: Select all
DISPLAYMANAGER="gdm"

The value "gdm" depends on your system setup:
if you use Gnome it should be, as here, "gdm".
If you use KDE it should be "kdm".

In your situation I think it is set to "xdm", try to correct it, save the file using Ctrl+o
and exit (Ctrl+x).



The Intel drivers should be already installed, you should set your active openGL implementation
to xorg using eselect:
Code: Select all
eselect opengl set xorg-x11


reboot to check that everything is fine-

Hope it helps.
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Problems after world update

Postby azteka22 » Fri Jun 12, 2009 23:23

ok thank u soo much it workd.. it was set to "kde" but im using gnome so i switched it to gdm and it works perfect again..
however my internet is still nat working.. how do i downgrade to Networkmanager .0.6.0?
azteka22
Young Hen
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 21:37

Re: Problems after world update

Postby micia » Fri Jun 12, 2009 23:28

You don't have the chance to link to the network using a cable or such?

If you can, I'd install wicd as I explained in my first post, since NetworkManager seems to be
pretty troublesome for some users.
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Problems after world update

Postby azteka22 » Fri Jun 12, 2009 23:32

ya wicd works great wired, unfortunately its not possible to use a copper connection with this laptop. Before i was using network manager 0.6.0 and it worked great with wireless.
azteka22
Young Hen
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 21:37

Re: Problems after world update

Postby micia » Fri Jun 12, 2009 23:40

If you really need NetworkManager I think that the best thing should be downgrading it using portage,
there are some topics on how to do this:
http://forum.sabayonlinux.org/viewtopic.php?f=52&t=16007&hilit=NetworkManager&start=40#p91548
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Problems after world update

Postby azteka22 » Fri Jun 12, 2009 23:50

I followed your linked and typed
emerge --sync && layman -S
and then typed
emerge =net-misc/networkmanager-0.6.6-r1
and i get this message:

emerge -u =net-mic/networkmanager-0.6.6-r1
Calculating dependencies... done!

emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "=net-mic/networkmanager
azteka22
Young Hen
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 21:37

Re: Problems after world update

Postby micia » Fri Jun 12, 2009 23:55

you made a typo,
it should be:
Code: Select all
 emerge -av =net-misc/networkmanager-0.6.6-r1


however ensure to do:
Code: Select all
emerge --sync && layman -S

before doing it (Gentoo netiquette states that you should do
emerge --sync just once or max twice a day, since it is very expensive for their servers).

After installing networkmanager do:
Code: Select all
equo database gentoosync

so that equo gets informed of this.
Notice that equo could suggest you to still upgrade networkmanager so be careful
with world updates.
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Next

Return to Entropy|Equo|Rigo Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests