Error when booting Sabayon 4.1 G (grub-error)

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

Error when booting Sabayon 4.1 G (grub-error)

Postby infasoft » Sat May 16, 2009 4:11

Hi,
I just successfully installed Sabayon 4.1 Gnome Edition. When i rebooted, i was happily greeted by the screen just saying "grub",nothing else; just said "grub". The only way i can boot into my system is by booting through my USB drive (used unetbootin) and choose "boot from first hard drive". Then, it would ask for the root device, i would just type /dev/sda1 and it would work normally. Any Suggestions? Thank you!
~~~Infasoft~~~
infasoft
Young Hen
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 22:42

Re: Error when booting Sabayon 4.1 G (grub-error)

Postby kodiakmax » Sat May 16, 2009 5:46

did you try looking just a little further down this page?

viewtopic.php?f=50&t=16631
viewtopic.php?f=50&t=16858
viewtopic.php?f=50&t=16844
If you check the wiki, use the search function and google you can find the answer to most of your questions.

Remember to mark your thread [Solved] if your issue is fixed.
kodiakmax
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 23:46

Re: Error when booting Sabayon 4.1 G (grub-error)

Postby infasoft » Sat May 16, 2009 16:49

Thanks for your reply.
However, it still doesent work. Now when i boot, i get grub saying error 18 at stage 1.5. Progression, but not quite there. What should i do?
infasoft
Young Hen
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 22:42

Re: Error when booting Sabayon 4.1 G (grub-error)

Postby kodiakmax » Sat May 16, 2009 18:29

did you try this? 3 different ways

1)Use the LiveDVD/CD run through the install gui (don't reformat anything) until you get to the grub install section and use it to reinstall grub and then quit the installer.

2) Use supergrubdisk --> http://www.supergrubdisk.org/

3) slightly more complicated -->
3a. Pop in the Live CD, boot from it until you reach the desktop.
3b. Open a terminal window or switch to a tty.
3c. Type "grub"
3d. Type "find /boot/grub/stage1". You'll get a response like "(hd0)" or in my case "(hd0,2)". Use whatever your computer spits out for the following line
3e. Type "root (hd0,2)", or whatever your harddisk + boot partition numbers are (my /boot is at /dev/sda7, which translates to hd0,6 for grub).
3f. Type "setup (hd0)", ot whatever your harddisk nr is.
3g. Quit grub by typing "quit".
3h. Reboot.
If you check the wiki, use the search function and google you can find the answer to most of your questions.

Remember to mark your thread [Solved] if your issue is fixed.
kodiakmax
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 23:46


Return to Installer Issues - Calamares **Not for Package Manager Stuff**

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest