Problem generating valid grub.conf file [Solved]

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

Problem generating valid grub.conf file [Solved]

Postby jmak » Tue May 05, 2009 3:52

Hello,
I've just installed kde 4.1 without grub.

After I did this:
grub
root (hd0,4)
setup (hd0,4)

Everything went fine but I cannot find a valid the menu list, or grub.conf file with boot entry.

I found one called: grub.conf.old.add

I copied the entry from here into the grub in the mbr grub, which is ubuntu grub. It starts booting but after a short time it says: couldn't find root block divice.

My question is, how can I generate a valid grub entry into its own partition that I can paste into the grub in the mbr?

Thanks,
jmak
Last edited by jmak on Tue May 05, 2009 6:31, edited 1 time in total.
jmak
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 14:31

Re: Problem generating valid grub.conf file

Postby WarraWarra » Tue May 05, 2009 5:07

grub
root (hd0,4)
setup (hd0,4)


Error = setup (hd0,4)
grub
root (hd0,4)
setup (hd0)


Above also misses a part that could help:
grep -v rootfs /proc/mounts > /etc/mtab


Can also help if in livedvd to:
mkdir /mnt.gentoo
mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot

Note sda3 in example = root partition so change to your correct numbering / label and then do the grep and then grub like above to get correct method / partitions but depends on linux distro

Easiest:
Run livedvd and run installer again then select upgrade and grub / boot menu option only then select the only listed partition in the drop down that should be the root partition and let it install.

Links:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/h ... stall-auto

Hope this helps.
WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Re: Problem generating valid grub.conf file

Postby jmak » Tue May 05, 2009 6:31

Thanks, the live dvd grub re-install did the trick.
jmak
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 14:31


Return to Installer Issues - Calamares **Not for Package Manager Stuff**

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest