winkey.desktop superkey problem [Solved]

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

Re: winkey.desktop superkey problem

Postby frattale » Fri Jan 02, 2009 16:20

Edited
frattale
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 16:13

Re: windows key

Postby tyranny12 » Fri Jan 02, 2009 19:35

It's not just you. I have this behavior 80% of the time I start Sabayon 4.0. The oddest part is that if I restart X (Ctrl-Alt-Backspace) everything works as it should.

Strictly speaking, any Alt+ combo seems to be grabbing a default Ctrl key as well, sticking us in other terminals. The Win key is grabbing such as well. My culprit is Alt+F2, since I use that everytime I launch an app.

Even odder, the proper command does get passed to X - when you switch back to the GUI, the dialog (be it the Run dialog, or the Kmenu) is present and waiting.
tyranny12
Young Hen
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 3:17

Re: windows key

Postby dagurasu » Fri Jan 02, 2009 20:34

This discussion is I think pretty much identical to here:

viewtopic.php?f=53&t=15504&p=89112#p89112
dagurasu
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 23:33

Re: winkey.desktop superkey problem

Postby tyranny12 » Fri Jan 02, 2009 22:59

Tanis Shadow's post (above) worked for me. Us.map, 32-bit, fresh install.
tyranny12
Young Hen
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 3:17

Re: winkey.desktop superkey problem

Postby tyranny12 » Sat Jan 03, 2009 0:40

Belay that. It works... unless you want to use your TTYs 9: - you can switch out of your GUI, but not back once you're gone. There's an easy modification to Tanis Shadow's post, below.

My guess then with a lot of troubleshooting we just did on IRC is that somehow the keymap isn't overridden on that first load of KDE. Don't know why, though.

Anyhow, if you want to use this work don't delete *all* the entries in the defkeymap.map file labeled Console. Instead, leave the lines that look like:
Code: Select all
        control alt     keycode  64 = Console_6


This preserves the ability to switch TTY consoles while in them, using Ctrl Alt, while removing the Alt functionality that was conflicting, and the Winkey behavior as well. And the Alt+left and Alt+right behavior.

tyranny12 wrote:Tanis Shadow's post (above) worked for me. Us.map, 32-bit, fresh install.
tyranny12
Young Hen
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 3:17

Re: winkey.desktop superkey problem

Postby lxnay » Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:17

Here is the fix, as root:
Code: Select all
rc-update del keymaps default; rc-update add keymaps boot
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+
lxnay
Land Owner
 
Posts: 3595
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy

Re: windows key

Postby chrono » Sat Jan 03, 2009 14:45

dagurasu wrote:This discussion is I think pretty much identical to here:

viewtopic.php?f=53&t=15504&p=89112#p89112


Thanks for the pointer- it appears that the linked thread has two working solutions. FYI, the second one seems to be a lot faster (1st post on page 3).
chrono
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 1:11

Re: winkey.desktop superkey problem [Solved]

Postby lvulliermet » Sat Jan 03, 2009 18:55

COnfirming working on Inspiron 1720 (etc blable will detail config in signature) with S4 86 fr !

Thanks a lot to all (and big one to Ixnay !), I knew it was simple... should I've seen it coming !
lvulliermet
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 12:14

Re: winkey.desktop superkey problem [Solved]

Postby colejv » Sun Jan 04, 2009 1:26

That was the solution I was looking for,
Thanks
colejv
Young Hen
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 19:30

Previous

Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron