Non standar network configuration?

If you want to talk about your personal paperweight, you've found the right place!

Moderator: Moderators

Non standar network configuration?

Postby mobilehunter » Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:43

I want to use linux at my office.

Below are running office network setting:
1. For DHCP my ip will be 192.168.x.x with gateway 192.168.0.1
2. For static, my ip is set to 172.32.x.x with gateway 192.168.0.1

Above setting are given by network administrator.
For windows and mac we do not have problem with above setting, but not for linux

If i use static ip, i cannot browse internet.
Using DHCP i can browse internet, but cannot connect to other computer at 172.32.x.x.

Anybody can solve this?
mobilehunter
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 22:46

Re: Non standar network configuration?

Postby xlnagla » Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:59

For sabayon, usually just setting everything in the "Network Manager Settings" program will work quite well. If you're in kde, right-click kNetworkManager and choose manual configuration. If that's not working for you then you can follow the handbook's guide to static ip:

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=3#doc_chap3

I hope this resolves everything regarding linux and networking.

~xlnalga
xlnagla
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 2:44

Re: Non standar network configuration?

Postby mobilehunter » Sat Dec 06, 2008 1:49

xlnagla wrote:For sabayon, usually just setting everything in the "Network Manager Settings" program will work quite well. If you're in kde, right-click kNetworkManager and choose manual configuration. If that's not working for you then you can follow the handbook's guide to static ip:

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=3#doc_chap3

I hope this resolves everything regarding linux and networking.

~xlnalga

Thanks for the reply.
I can set the ip manually, but the problem is at the configuration.
I have to set my ip to 172.32.x.x and gateway 192.168.0.1 according to my net admin.

Windows and Mac can use this configuration to browse internet.
But Linux can not make it work. I tried with fedora and ubuntu, may be sabayon too ( i forgot).
It seem linux cannot use 192.x.x.x as gateway if my ip is non 192.x.x.x too.

Sorry if my explanation was not clear enough.
I'm promoting linux to my office mate, but i still have problem with this kind of network configuration.
mobilehunter
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 22:46

Re: Non standar network configuration?

Postby xlnagla » Sat Dec 06, 2008 21:35

weird then...

I'm going to have to yield to a higher-level networking guru. Perchance over on gentoo-forums you'll find more luck, or maybe someone else here can help you.

~xlnagla
xlnagla
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 2:44

Re: Non standar network configuration?

Postby sjieke » Mon Dec 08, 2008 11:29

I'm not a network guru, but providing the output of the 'route' command can help. It will show which gateway it uses for which ip-adresses.
sjieke
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 10:46
Location: Maldegem, Belgium

Re: Non standar network configuration?

Postby mobilehunter » Mon Dec 22, 2008 11:28

I'm typing now from openSUSE 11.1 KDE Live-CD, and set my network using static ip 172.x and gateway 192.x from KNetworkManager.
Everything work normally as Windows and Mac. :)

Hope i can get same result with new Sabayon.
mobilehunter
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 22:46


Return to Off Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests