Fitzcarraldo if you could help, would be great! [Solved]

Discussions Regarding Software

Moderator: Moderators

Fitzcarraldo if you could help, would be great! [Solved]

Postby E.M.G. » Sat Nov 29, 2008 17:15

I tried this fix after a re-install (switching from 64 to 32 bit and back) now when I try this I get errors ... first one was that wget couldn't locate the suse file then the ebuild kept erroring with file names I believe because the file I had wget download had a different name ... I tried editing the ebuild but I couldn't get it to work ... if you could possibly look it over it would be great ... this is the thread I'm talking about:


http://www.sabayonlinux.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=56&t=12260&p=70020&hilit=sysinfo+protocol+died+unexpectedly.#p70020


Thanks
Erick
E.M.G.
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 18:50
Location: 42.44°N 73.11°W

Re: Fitzcarraldo if you could help, would be great!

Postby wolfden » Sat Nov 29, 2008 23:50

Is this on 3.5?
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Fitzcarraldo if you could help, would be great!

Postby E.M.G. » Sun Nov 30, 2008 1:39

yes its 3.5.1 64 bit ...
E.M.G.
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 18:50
Location: 42.44°N 73.11°W

Re: Fitzcarraldo if you could help, would be great!

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Thu Dec 04, 2008 0:13

Make sure the contents of the file /usr/local/portage/kde-misc/kio-sysinfo/kio-sysinfo-3.5.5.ebuild are:

Code: Select all
# Copyright 1999-2006 Gentoo Foundation
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: $
# Ebuild from Gentoo Bugzilla Bug Report No. 139837 but
# modified on 3 December 2008 by Fitzcarraldo to get it
# to build in SL 3.5, and also to change the background from the
# standard SuSE background to a Gentoo background from
# the Gentoo Bugzilla Bug Report No. 139837.

inherit kde

MY_P="kdebase3-SuSE-10.2-84.src"
S="kdebase3-SuSE-10.2-84"

DESCRIPTION="kio slave to display system infomation in konqueror"
HOMEPAGE="http://www.opensuse.org"
SRC_URI="http://suse.mirrors.tds.net/pub/opensuse/distribution/10.2/repo/src-oss/suse/src/${MY_P}.rpm"

LICENSE="GPL-2"
SLOT="0"
KEYWORDS="~x86 ~amd64"
DEPEND="virtual/libc
   || ( kde-base/kdebase-kioslaves kde-base/kdebase )
   app-arch/rpm2targz
   >=sys-apps/hwinfo-13.0"
IUSE=""

src_unpack(){

   cd ${WORKDIR}
   rpm2targz ${DISTDIR}/${MY_P}.rpm
   tar -xzf ${WORKDIR}/${MY_P}.tar.gz || die "error unpacking kio-sysinfo"
   tar -xjf ${WORKDIR}/kdebase-SuSE-10.2.tar.bz2 || die "error unpacking kio-sysinfo"
        cd kdebase-SuSE
}


src_compile() {
   cd kdebase-SuSE
   S="${WORKDIR}/kdebase-SuSE"
   sed -i -e "s/\$(TOPSUBDIRS)/sysinfo/" Makefile.am
   sed -i -e "s/SuSE/gentoo/" sysinfo/sysinfo.cpp
   kde_src_compile 'all' || die "error compiling"
}

pkg_postinst() {

wget http://bugs.gentoo.org/attachment.cgi?id=125447 --output-document=background.png
gzip background.png
gzip -d background.png.gz
cp /usr/share/apps/sysinfo/about/images/background.png /usr/share/apps/sysinfo/about/images/background.png.bak
mv background.png /usr/share/apps/sysinfo/about/images/background.png
}


As per my original instructions in the other thread, don't forget to add the following line to the end of /etc/make.conf:

Code: Select all
PORTDIR_OVERLAY=/usr/local/portage


Now create the manifest for the ebuild:

Code: Select all
ebuild /usr/local/portage/kde-misc/kio-sysinfo/kio-sysinfo-3.5.5.ebuild digest


Then enter the following commands as root:

Code: Select all
emerge -C sysinfo
FEATURES="-collision-protect" emerge kio-sysinfo


If the build fails because it cannot download the file kdebase3-SuSE-10.2-84.src.rpm because it is no longer stored on the remote server then e-mail me at fitzcarraldo1 at hotmail dot com and I'll e-mail the file to you (it's 3.9 Mb, though, so make sure first that your e-mail service allows files that large). You would have to copy the file manually into the directory /usr/portage/distfiles and then re-run the above emerge command.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
If you run into trouble because of the change to layman (the older version on the SL 3.5 DVD uses a different sources directory to later versions of layman -- see the thread layman -S does not detect linux-sabayon-2.6.26 [Solved]) then the following information may be of help:

The sources line in /etc/make.conf on my installation is currently:
Code: Select all
source /usr/portage/local/layman/make.conf

and the directory where overlays should be installed on my installation is currently declared in /etc/layman/layman.cfg as:
Code: Select all
#-----------------------------------------------------------
# Defines the directory where overlays should be installed

storage   : /usr/local/portage/layman

#-----------------------------------------------------------

However, do not change your current entries in /etc/make.conf and layman.cfg if kio-sysinfo built.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Last edited by Fitzcarraldo on Thu Dec 04, 2008 2:21, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Fitzcarraldo if you could help, would be great!

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Thu Dec 04, 2008 1:33

By the way, if you're one of those people who worry about unistalling things, don't (worry). Anyway, if you want sysinfo back, just surf over to the sysinfo page (http://forge.novell.com/modules/xfmod/project/?sysinfo) and download the latest version of the sysinfo script (the file SYSINFOV2.3) to your Desktop. Then open a Terminal window and enter the following commands:

Code: Select all
$ cd ~/Desktop
$ su
Password:
# cp SYSINFOV2.3 /bin/sysinfo
# chmod +x /bin/sysinfo
# sysinfo --help


The command sysinfo --all (or sysinfo -a) gives you the full monty.

For a little surprise, enter sysinfo without any options, and a GUI TEST window pops up saying:

"Initializing Graphical Mode... Successful

Press OK to continue.
(Press 'Esc' and click 'OK' to enter text mode)"

So press OK! Nice, eh?! 8)
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Fitzcarraldo if you could help, would be great!

Postby E.M.G. » Thu Dec 04, 2008 2:09

Thanks fitzcarraldo,

When trying to run the emerge command I get the following error:

# FEATURES="-collision-protect" emerge kio-sysinfo
WARNING: repository at /usr/local/portage is missing a repo_name entry
Calculating dependencies \ * Digest verification failed:
* /usr/local/portage/kde-misc/kio-sysinfo/kio-sysinfo-3.5.5.ebuild
* Reason: Filesize does not match recorded size
* Got: 1841
* Expected: 1846
... done!

!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "kde-misc/kio-sysinfo" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- kde-misc/kio-sysinfo-3.5.5 (masked by: corruption)

For more information, see the MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge
man page or refer to the Gentoo Handbook.


* GNU info directory index is up-to-date.

anyother ideas as to where to go from here ??


again .. thanks fer the help
E.M.G.
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 18:50
Location: 42.44°N 73.11°W


Re: Fitzcarraldo if you could help, would be great!

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Thu Dec 04, 2008 2:18

Ah, my mistake, I should have told you that you need to re-digest the ebuild file before doing the emerge (as in the original thread):

Code: Select all
ebuild /usr/local/portage/kde-misc/kio-sysinfo/kio-sysinfo-3.5.5.ebuild digest


Whenever you create or change an ebuild you need to do this to create/recreate the Manifest for the ebuild.

I'll add this to my post above.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Fitzcarraldo if you could help, would be great!

Postby E.M.G. » Thu Dec 04, 2008 23:39

Thanks Fitzcarraldo ... I rebuilt the manifest .. it failed with the http 404 error so I downloaded the file myself and continued with your directions and all is working great now ... THANKS!!!!!!!
E.M.G.
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 18:50
Location: 42.44°N 73.11°W

Re: Fitzcarraldo if you could help, would be great! [Solved]

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Fri Jan 09, 2009 19:23

This bug still occurs in SL 4.0-r1 (also to the x86 edition) yet it's easy to fix and the above procedure still applies (I've used it successfully on a recent SL 4.0-r1 x86 installation).
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Next

Return to Software in General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron