install OpenOffice 3.0 beta 2

Discussions Regarding Software

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
miesnerd
Baby Hen
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 9:33
Location: TN
Contact:

install OpenOffice 3.0 beta 2

Post by miesnerd » Sun Aug 24, 2008 0:37

How do I do it? I saw that the gentoo package exists, but I know that Sabayon has different repos.
Please pardon me for not knowing how to do this, Im only getting back to gentoo/sabayon after quite a hiatus.
Since I've forgotten, I'd love some detailed directions, especially if it involves layman as I've forgotten exactly how that works.

Miesnerd

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: install OpenOffice 3.0 beta 2

Post by wolfden » Sun Aug 24, 2008 4:58

Sabayon uses portage and overlays just like gentoo does, they are not different

OpenOffice 3.0 beta 2 is in portage hardmasked -- http://gentoo-portage.com/app-office/openoffice

masked? -- http://gentoo-wiki.com/Masked

If you can't remember how to do things, than you better get rereading the wiki and handbook as it's all covered there

miesnerd
Baby Hen
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 9:33
Location: TN
Contact:

Re: install OpenOffice 3.0 beta 2

Post by miesnerd » Mon Aug 25, 2008 5:29

so I read up on the masked, and I still cant get it. Here's my terminal output. Im stumped as to what I've done wrong.

[email protected] ~ $ su
Password:
localhost miesnerd # echo "=app-office/openoffice-3.0.0_beta2" >> /root/amd64/portage/package.unmask
localhost miesnerd # emerge openoffice-3.0.0_beta2
Calculating dependencies |

!!! 'openoffice-3.0.0_beta2' is not a valid package atom.
!!! Please check ebuild(5) for full details.
!!! (Did you specify a version but forget to prefix with '='?)
... done!
localhost miesnerd #


Thanks in advance for your help.

sjieke
Technological Hen
Posts: 321
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 10:46
Location: Maldegem, Belgium

Re: install OpenOffice 3.0 beta 2

Post by sjieke » Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:20

If you give it a version number you need to specify it completely

Code: Select all

emerge --ask =app-office/openoffice-3.0.0_beta2


Or you can just specify the package name without version. Then emerge will try to get the latest one available

Code: Select all

emerge --ask openoffice

Post Reply