Where is Konqueror 3.5.9 in Gnome? [Solved]

Discussions Regarding Software

Moderator: Moderators

Where is Konqueror 3.5.9 in Gnome? [Solved]

Postby william4 » Fri Aug 15, 2008 17:47

I run Sabayon 3.5 on a MEDION laptop. Typically I use GNOME. When I open Konqueror, it is version 4.01. It appears twice in the section Applications -> Internet, but both are 4.01, which I do not like. When I go to KDE, the Konqueror version is then 3.5.9, amazingly. I like that one much better, 4.01 just does not do the same things. So the question is, where can I find Konqueror 3.5.9 under GOME? When I try to find it using XFCE4 Appfinder, it is still only 4.01.

Even more amazingly, I also run Sabayon 3.5 on a Fujitsu Lifebook laptop and there the version under GNOME is 3.5.9!! When I look at the command for starting it, is the same as for version 4.01 on my MEDION.

The Spritz Package Manager did not give me any help in this, so does anybody have any suggestions?

william4
=======
william4
Young Hen
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:08

Re: Where is Konqueror 3.5.9 in Gnome?

Postby DHalens » Fri Aug 15, 2008 18:18

Tha paths to those two konqueror are:
/usr/kde/4.0/bin/konqueror
/usr/kde/3.5/bin/konqueror

Maybe if you remove konqueror 4.0.1 then konqueror 3.5.9 will open instead.
Try equo remove =kde-base/konqueror-4.0.1
Former Sabayon staff (retired).
For any personal questions or whatever, contact me trough my G+ profile
DHalens
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 933
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 23:08
Location: Canary Islands, Spain

Re: Where is Konqueror 3.5.9 in Gnome? (solved)

Postby william4 » Sat Aug 16, 2008 2:34

Thanks, DHalens. That worked. I just wrote the path as property of the icon on the panel, so I can now use either 3.5 or 4.0. I did not have to remove 4.0

william4
william4
Young Hen
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:08


Return to Software in General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron