Lightscribe Communication Error (4224)

Discussions Regarding Software

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
down8ve
Simple Hen
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:13
Location: St. Peter, MN USA
Contact:

Lightscribe Communication Error (4224)

Post by down8ve » Tue Aug 05, 2008 3:57

No matter what I try, I cannot get Lightscribe to communicate with my Lightscribe Drive. I always get the "A communication error with the LightScribe drive has occurred" error.

Anyone else? Google didn't help. This software worked on Ubuntu and PCLOS.

down8ve
Simple Hen
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:13
Location: St. Peter, MN USA
Contact:

Re: Lightscribe Communication Error (4224)

Post by down8ve » Tue Aug 05, 2008 13:48

By the way, I did try the "enumerate" command, all seems well:

~ $ 4L-cli enumerate
Using /etc/lightscribe.rc
Drive path: /dev/sr0
Usable: 1
Full name: TSSTcorp - CD/DVDW SH-S162L - TS08
Model: CD/DVDW SH-S162L
Manufacturer: TSSTcorp
Capabilities: monochrome
Drive inner radius: 21700
Drive outer radius: 59000

down8ve
Simple Hen
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:13
Location: St. Peter, MN USA
Contact:

Re: Lightscribe Communication Error (4224)

Post by down8ve » Tue Aug 05, 2008 14:29

OK, looks like it works fine when I use it as root. K3b has burn access as a user, why can't Lightscribe? Anyone know how to fix this?

gocool
Growing Hen
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 13:37

Re: Lightscribe Communication Error (4224)

Post by gocool » Sat Aug 09, 2008 13:46

wow...so someone else is having the same issues.

This is what my cli enumerate is coming out with

localhost office # 4L-cli enumerate
Using /etc/lightscribe.rc
Drive path: /dev/sr0
Usable: 0
Full name: ATAPI - DVD A DH16A6L - ZH1A
Model: DVD A DH16A6L
Manufacturer: ATAPI
Capabilities: monochrome
Drive inner radius: 58
Drive outer radius: 0

My cd and dvd burns fine but the light scribe gives me problem. The same communication error which you got.

I'll appreciate if you stumble upon a solution for this, please do post it...even I'll do the same. Even I am hunting for a solution for this.

Post Reply