Everytime I start up have to activate wireless

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

Everytime I start up have to activate wireless

Postby bpazolli » Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:27

Everytime I start up I have to type sudo modprobe ndiswrapper into the terminal to activate the wireless. How can I automate this or fix it??
Ben Pazolli
HP Pavilion Laptop dv6140us
-- AMD Turion 64x2 1.8GHz
-- nVidia Geforce Go 6150 (128MB Shared)
-- 2GB Memory
running Sabayon Linux 3.4 miniedition & Windows Vista Home Premium (32bit)
bpazolli
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 9:47
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Everytime I start up have to activate wireless

Postby chickpea » Thu Dec 27, 2007 14:42

SEARCH THE FORUM/WIKI

http://wiki.sabayonlinux.org/index.php? ... th_Sabayon

need to do a

Code: Select all
sudo echo "ndiswrapper" > /etc/modules.autoload/kernel-2.6
chickpea
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 15:08
Location: Washington, DC

Re: Everytime I start up have to activate wireless

Postby nebster » Thu Dec 27, 2007 15:11

chickpea wrote:SEARCH THE FORUM/WIKI

http://wiki.sabayonlinux.org/index.php? ... th_Sabayon

need to do a

Code: Select all
sudo echo "ndiswrapper" > /etc/modules.autoload/kernel-2.6


Shouldn't that be:
Code: Select all
sudo echo "ndiswrapper" >> /etc/modules.autoload/kernel-2.6


otherwise it will get rid of any currently in there
nebster
Young Hen
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:14

Re: Everytime I start up have to activate wireless

Postby chickpea » Thu Dec 27, 2007 15:26

my bad, I got those confused, you're right.
chickpea
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 15:08
Location: Washington, DC

Re: Everytime I start up have to activate wireless

Postby bpazolli » Fri Dec 28, 2007 14:07

sudo echo "ndiswrapper" >> /etc/modules.autoload/kernel-2.6

It does not exist either kernel-2.6 or moduldes.autoload so I will create it and see how it goes.
Ben Pazolli
HP Pavilion Laptop dv6140us
-- AMD Turion 64x2 1.8GHz
-- nVidia Geforce Go 6150 (128MB Shared)
-- 2GB Memory
running Sabayon Linux 3.4 miniedition & Windows Vista Home Premium (32bit)
bpazolli
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 9:47
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Everytime I start up have to activate wireless

Postby chickpea » Fri Dec 28, 2007 20:05

umm, it should already exist. I may have mistyped it. Use tab complete and the ls command to snoop around in the directory tree to find the file I mentioned.

I think the dir may actually be

Code: Select all
 /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6


sorry think I forgot the ".d" in my previous post.
chickpea
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 15:08
Location: Washington, DC

Re: Everytime I start up have to activate wireless

Postby WarraWarra » Fri Dec 28, 2007 20:35

Code: Select all
# /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6:  kernel modules to load when system boots.
#
# Note that this file is for 2.6 kernels.
#
# Add the names of modules that you'd like to load when the system
# starts into this file, one per line.  Comments begin with # and
# are ignored.  Read man modules.autoload for additional details.

# For example:
# aic7xxx
ndiswrapper


Just copy and save it and reboot.

PS> also check "rc-update -s" , "rc-update add net.wlan0 dafault " if you need the connection to start at boot after ndiswrapper is loaded.
WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Re: Everytime I start up have to activate wireless

Postby bpazolli » Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:47

Just to update I got it working with the right directory with the .d. Creating the folder & file didn't work.Thanks!
bpazolli
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 9:47
Location: Perth, Western Australia


Return to Networking and Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron