Konqueror problem with Shockwave Flash plugin.

Discussions Regarding Software

Moderator: Moderators

Konqueror problem with Shockwave Flash plugin.

Postby Richlion » Sun Dec 09, 2007 2:08

Hi All,

I wanted to start using Konqueror to view web pages. It's a really great program, I just rediscovered it again. There are so many beautiful settings I can use with this program. Windows Explorer sucks. But I I have a problem viewing videos on some pages.
Please read my thread on Gentoo:
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-45 ... ml#4595636
Can someone check if he can view videos on :
http://news.sky.com/skynews/home

In Firefox things work, but on another web page WMV files cannot run, but they do run on Konqueror.
I just need some hints, what to do. I am not sure if I should continue with the nsplugins update.

Code: Select all
localhost ~ # emerge --search nsplugins
Searching...
[ Results for search key : nsplugins ]
[ Applications found : 1 ]

*  kde-base/nsplugins
      Latest version available: 3.5.8
      Latest version installed: 3.5.7
      Size of files: 23,648 kB
      Homepage:      http://www.kde.org/
      Description:   Netscape plugins support for Konqueror.
      License:       GPL-2


localhost ~ # emerge --update "=kde-base/nsplugins-3.5.8"
Calculating dependencies... done!

!!! Error: the kde-base/ksync package conflicts with another package;
!!!        the two packages cannot be installed on the same system together.
!!!        Please use 'emerge --pretend' to determine blockers.

For more information about Blocked Packages, please refer to the following
section of the Gentoo Linux x86 Handbook (architecture is irrelevant):

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?full=1#blocked


I am new to Sabayon/Gentoo and Portage.

Thanks in advance.
Richard.

2.6.22-sabayon #1 SMP Sun Sep 2 22:23:05 UTC 2007 i686 Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.70GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
*** Sabyon user since 2006 ***
Sabayon Linux amd64 13.03 - x86_64 Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00GHz
KDE 4.10.1 - on Acer Aspire 7730 zg 17" with Nvidia Geforce 9300M GS
Richlion
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:19
Location: Manchester

Re: Konqueror problem with Shockwave Flash plugin.

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Sun Dec 09, 2007 2:25

Your search told you that 3.5.8 is the latest version of nsplugins, so no need to add the version to the emerge --update command. The error message is telling you that you cannot proceed because ksync is blocking another package. You could type emerge -upv ksync to see what it is without actually building anything. But, if you don't use SL to sync with a PDA:

http://www.gentoo-portage.com/kde-base/ksync

then just get rid of ksync by doing emerge -C ksync and then retry emerging nsplugins: emerge -uv nsplugins
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7977
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Konqueror problem with Shockwave Flash plugin.

Postby Richlion » Sun Dec 09, 2007 17:45

Thanks Fitzcarraldo,

I also see that the Konqueror version is not up to date, after the Sabayon 3.4f installation we have 3.5.7 and the --search told me 3.5.8 is available. But I cannot install 3.5.8 for the similar reason. Dependencies are blocking the update. Since I have the plugins in version 3.5.7 installed, and now they still are, things should still work, but every time I visit a web page it looks like the plugin crashes with a SIGSEGV (11)
Here is there a backtrace:
Code: Select all
This backtrace appears to be of no use.
This is probably because your packages are built in a way which prevents creation of proper backtraces, or the stack frame was seriously corrupted in the crash.

(no debugging symbols found)
Using host libthread_db library "/lib/libthread_db.so.1".


Question: do you suggest I should make a system upgrade following Wolfden's thread?
viewtopic.php?f=54&t=5531
I now don't have much time to run a full system upgrade, I am new to Portage and I need more time to go through this process.
I need to do it after new year.

Thanks in advance for helping.
Richard
*** Sabyon user since 2006 ***
Sabayon Linux amd64 13.03 - x86_64 Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00GHz
KDE 4.10.1 - on Acer Aspire 7730 zg 17" with Nvidia Geforce 9300M GS
Richlion
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:19
Location: Manchester

Re: Konqueror problem with Shockwave Flash plugin.

Postby slmeyer » Sun Dec 09, 2007 23:29

Richlion wrote:Hi All,

Can someone check if he can view videos on :
http://news.sky.com/skynews/home



I can, with Konqueror 3.5.7, and plugins:
* kde-base/nsplugins
Latest version available: 3.5.7
Latest version installed: 3.5.6
Size of files: 23,839 kB
Homepage: http://www.kde.org/
Description: Netscape plugins support for Konqueror.
License: GPL-2

* kde-base/nsplugins32 [ Masked ]
Latest version available: 3.5.6-r1
Latest version installed: [ Not Installed ]
Size of files: 9,893 kB
Homepage:
Description: 32-bit Netscape plugins support for 64-bit Konqueror
License: GPL-2
slmeyer
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:12

Re: Konqueror problem with Shockwave Flash plugin.

Postby slmeyer » Sun Dec 09, 2007 23:32

Richlion wrote:Hi All,

Can someone check if he can view videos on :
http://news.sky.com/skynews/home



I can, with Konqueror 3.5.7, and plugins:
* kde-base/nsplugins
Latest version available: 3.5.7
Latest version installed: 3.5.6
Size of files: 23,839 kB
Homepage: http://www.kde.org/
Description: Netscape plugins support for Konqueror.
License: GPL-2

* kde-base/nsplugins32 [ Masked ]
Latest version available: 3.5.6-r1
Latest version installed: [ Not Installed ]
Size of files: 9,893 kB
Homepage:
Description: 32-bit Netscape plugins support for 64-bit Konqueror
License: GPL-2
slmeyer
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:12

Re: Konqueror problem with Shockwave Flash plugin.

Postby Richlion » Sun Dec 09, 2007 23:49

Thanks Slmeyer,
which Sabayon version do you have?

Richard
*** Sabyon user since 2006 ***
Sabayon Linux amd64 13.03 - x86_64 Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00GHz
KDE 4.10.1 - on Acer Aspire 7730 zg 17" with Nvidia Geforce 9300M GS
Richlion
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:19
Location: Manchester

Re: Konqueror problem with Shockwave Flash plugin.

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Mon Dec 10, 2007 3:34

Richlion wrote:Thanks Fitzcarraldo,

I also see that the Konqueror version is not up to date, after the Sabayon 3.4f installation we have 3.5.7 and the --search told me 3.5.8 is available. But I cannot install 3.5.8 for the similar reason. Dependencies are blocking the update. Since I have the plugins in version 3.5.7 installed, and now they still are, things should still work, but every time I visit a web page it looks like the plugin crashes with a SIGSEGV (11)
Here is there a backtrace:
Code: Select all
This backtrace appears to be of no use.
This is probably because your packages are built in a way which prevents creation of proper backtraces, or the stack frame was seriously corrupted in the crash.

(no debugging symbols found)
Using host libthread_db library "/lib/libthread_db.so.1".


Question: do you suggest I should make a system upgrade following Wolfden's thread?
viewtopic.php?f=54&t=5531
I now don't have much time to run a full system upgrade, I am new to Portage and I need more time to go through this process.
I need to do it after new year.

Thanks in advance for helping.
Richard


Did you try emerge -C ksync and then emerge -uv nsplugins?

No, I don't recommend you try to do a world update. If you're a newcomer to Portage then you need to learn how to walk before you can run. And anyway that would be like using a sledgehammer to crack a nut.

By the way, have you searched the SL Forum for other threads on Flash problems? There have been a few. Here's one, for starters (see momocore's post):

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=11729&p=67358&hilit=flash#p67355

You can also try that to see if it works.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7977
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Konqueror problem with Shockwave Flash plugin.

Postby Richlion » Mon Dec 10, 2007 14:09

Thanks Fitzcarraldo ,

I solved the problem partially, I removed the version I installed using emerge -C.
Then I installed a version that I was sugested on Gentoo, an older but stable version.
It is possible it was this one: emerge =netscape-flash-9.0.48.0-r1
(cannot access Gentoo from work.)

Thanks for the suggestions. I will take some time to get prepared for the world update.

The only thing is left is that Konqueror crashes when I close it down. But this also could be related to using other plugins, I saw that the Photobook view can cause Konqeuror to crash... version 3.5.7

Right now I can watch movie news on Sky News and on my Polish site www .itvp.pl, where Windows media content is used.

Thanks again,
Richard.
*** Sabyon user since 2006 ***
Sabayon Linux amd64 13.03 - x86_64 Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00GHz
KDE 4.10.1 - on Acer Aspire 7730 zg 17" with Nvidia Geforce 9300M GS
Richlion
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:19
Location: Manchester

Re: Konqueror problem with Shockwave Flash plugin.

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Mon Dec 10, 2007 18:23

I'm sure you can fix these.

I can view videos perfectly on the Sky News site (the URL you posted earlier). And the latest versions of nsplugins and Konqueror work fine on my laptop:

Code: Select all
 # eix nsplugins
[I] kde-base/nsplugins
     Available versions:  (3.5)  3.5.5 3.5.5-r1 3.5.5-r2 (~)3.5.6 (~)3.5.6-r1 (~)3.5.6-r2 3.5.7 (~)3.5.8
        {arts debug elibc_FreeBSD kdeenablefinal kdehiddenvisibility xinerama}
     Installed versions:  3.5.8(3.5)(04:50:35 24/11/07)(arts kdeenablefinal kdehiddenvisibility xinerama -debug -elibc_FreeBSD)
     Homepage:            http://www.kde.org/
     Description:         Netscape plugins support for Konqueror.

* kde-base/nsplugins32 [1]
     Available versions:  (~)3.5.5 (~)3.5.6 (~)3.5.6-r1
     Description:         32-bit Netscape plugins support for 64-bit Konqueror

[1] "sabayon" /usr/portage/local/layman/sabayon

Found 2 matches.
 # eix konqueror
[I] kde-base/konqueror
     Available versions:  (3.5)  3.5.5 (~)3.5.6 (~)3.5.6-r1 (~)3.5.7 (~)3.5.7-r1 3.5.7-r2 3.5.7-r3 (~)3.5.8
        {arts branding debug elibc_FreeBSD java kdeenablefinal kdehiddenvisibility xinerama}
     Installed versions:  3.5.8(3.5)(07:49:32 24/11/07)(arts java kdeenablefinal kdehiddenvisibility xinerama -branding -debug -elibc_FreeBSD)
     Homepage:            http://www.kde.org/
     Description:         KDE: Web browser, file manager, ...

[I] kde-base/konqueror-akregator
     Available versions:  (3.5)  3.5.5 (~)3.5.6 3.5.7 (~)3.5.8
        {arts debug elibc_FreeBSD kdeenablefinal xinerama}
     Installed versions:  3.5.8(3.5)(08:08:38 24/11/07)(arts kdeenablefinal xinerama -debug -elibc_FreeBSD)
     Homepage:            http://www.kde.org/
     Description:         konqueror's akregator plugin

Found 2 matches.
 #


So there should be no reason why you cannot view the videos. Why not try emerging Konqueror too? Just do:

Code: Select all
# emerge -uv nsplugins
# emerge -uv konqueror


The "u" should take them both up to the latest versions (like I have on my laptop: see above).


EDIT: By the way, as you mentioned you are a newcomer to SL, have you configured /etc/make.conf correctly for your PC? Apart from removing unnecessary entries in VIDEO_CARDS and INPUT_DEVICES for hardware you don't have installed, you need to add some missing global USE flags to that file -- see the following post by freeallbadgers for a list of some USE flags to add if they are not already in the file:

viewtopic.php?f=53&t=11545&p=66371&hilit=missing+use+flags#p66314

In my case, from experience emerging umpteen packages over nine months, I added the following global USE flags:

opengl qt4 qt3 qt3support gtk sdl png gif nls win32codecs bonobo kickoff

and I deleted some duplicate and triplicate global USE flags in the as-installed /etc/make.conf. (I also removed the "pda" USE flag as that was stopping the latest version of GNOME application Evolution from emerging.)

Getting /etc/make.conf right is the single most important thing you need to do after installing SL. Read the following guide for a good introduction into /etc/make.conf:

viewtopic.php?f=54&t=10863

As recommended by wolfden, I also added the following local USE flags to the entry for mplayerplug-in in /etc/portage/package.use:

net-www/mplayerplug-in gtk quicktime divx gmedia realmedia wmp win32codecs nsplugin firefox xvid

and also I rebuilt mplayerplug-in immediately using temporary USE flags:

USE="nls gtk quicktime divx gmedia realmedia wmp" emerge mplayerplug-in

If you look on the following page:
http://gentoo-portage.com/net-www/mplayerplug-in
you will find the list of USE flags that can be used to build the latest version (3.45) of mplayerplug-in. You can even click on 'View' to see the actual code of the ebuild and check the list of USE flags that the ebuild can process:
IUSE="gtk divx gmedia mplayer-bin nls realmedia quicktime wmp"

As you can see, the above IUSE list does not contain all the USE flags that wolfden recommended, but it does no harm to include 'excess' USE flags, they will simply be ignored by the ebuild.

See the following guide for an introduction to the various types of USE flags:

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/h ... t=2&chap=2
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7977
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Konqueror problem with Shockwave Flash plugin.

Postby Richlion » Sun Dec 16, 2007 12:18

Hi,
I am looking at my /etc/make.conf file and I am just thinking something is not quite correct there:

Code: Select all
USE="-oss voice weather libao -esd amarok xine java mp3 gnutls cups ppds \
     foomatic-db alsa \ hal gimpprint freetype X unicode \
     moznocompose moznoirc moznomail kde qt livecd samba rdesktop kerberos \
     xscreensaver pda zeroconf wifi gnokii lm_sensors ieee1394 \
     logitech-mouse xinerama bluetooth irda sms quotas dvb nvidia \
     xprint dvd theora ogg a52 kdeenablefinal win32codecs v4l xvid \
     network dvdread fame quicktime -kerberos winbind libclamav \
     subversion ruby svg ffmpeg nsplugin wmf 7Zip visualization \
     accessibility css audiofile artswrappersuid musicbrainz gphoto2 \
     povray scanner musepack dvdr jack new-login commercial kerberos \
     mono pam_console pwdb dbus firefox acpi kqemu esd pcmcia \
     openexr rar dri aac dlloader fat hfs jfs xfs ntfs reiserfs cjk \
     cdda dts imap flash jabber msn yahoo icq irc lj aim bidi rss \
     dxr3 cairo sysfs xpm nptl nptlonly reiser4 gs dv lzo mjpeg mmx \
     speex slp fftw real joystick asf xvmc mythtv v4l2 \
     cpudetection matroska vcd libcaca sndfile plugin inkjar effects streams \
     skins wxwindows xosd extraicons speech extramodules mail -apm \
     config_wizard krb4 dga lcd chm spreadsheet webservices pdf \
     xsl ext-man ext-rtf ext-tex pascal clearcase ada glitz gcj \
     switch_all_desktops ipod flac exscalibar avahi stream live \
     kdehiddenvisibility tiff usb kipi aiglx musicbrainz x264 3dfx \
     pulseaudio x264 dv lame mp3rtp udev cdr beagle dvi djvu libnotify \
     bzip2 aalib mng startup-notification openal jingle gsm dbox2 \
     -evo -gnome -gtk -gtk1 -gtk2 -eds"


If you look at the line:
foomatic-db alsa \ hal gimpprint freetype X unicode \
I think there is one backslash too many. Am I right?

I ran the updates yesterday after removing the package suggested. It was running fine for a while, but was unsuccessful, so I will be running this again.

Regards,
Richard.
*** Sabyon user since 2006 ***
Sabayon Linux amd64 13.03 - x86_64 Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00GHz
KDE 4.10.1 - on Acer Aspire 7730 zg 17" with Nvidia Geforce 9300M GS
Richlion
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:19
Location: Manchester

Next

Return to Software in General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron