can not boot into kde desktop

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
chuncheng
Young Hen
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 5:58

can not boot into kde desktop

Post by chuncheng » Thu Nov 22, 2007 6:08

after installation, I run "emerge --sync", "emerge portage" and then "etc-update" (-5) just like I did in Gentoo, but now I can not boot into KDE desktop, please refer to the link of screenshot, and any help is appreciated.

http://picasaweb.google.com/chunchengch ... 8063180418

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: can not boot into kde desktop

Post by wolfden » Thu Nov 22, 2007 7:38

can you login at the prompt as root and run /etc/init.d/xdm restart ?

How did you do the install?

chuncheng
Young Hen
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 5:58

Re: can not boot into kde desktop

Post by chuncheng » Thu Nov 22, 2007 8:35

Thanks for reply, I try /etc/init.d/xdm restart, but it does not work either.

I am re-installing Sabayon now.

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: can not boot into kde desktop

Post by wolfden » Thu Nov 22, 2007 9:45

before reinstalling make sure your md5sum is good and make sure you burn the iso slow with burn verify.

Also it would help if you listed your hardware as your probably just having a video card issue. You can check xorg logs if happens again.

chuncheng
Young Hen
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 5:58

Re: can not boot into kde desktop

Post by chuncheng » Thu Nov 22, 2007 13:25

What is the problem of Sabayon?

I re-installed it and tried to reboot it twice with no problem, then I removed the clamav and turned off the Sabayon. Two hours later, now, I can not boot into the kde desktop, just a cursor sticks on the top-left corner of a blank screen. I reboot it again and press F2, I find it stop at the "localhost login:", the same problem as I described earlier, why?

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: can not boot into kde desktop

Post by wolfden » Thu Nov 22, 2007 13:41

before reinstalling make sure your md5sum is good and make sure you burn the iso slow with burn verify.

have you checked that?

chuncheng
Young Hen
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 5:58

Re: can not boot into kde desktop

Post by chuncheng » Thu Nov 22, 2007 13:46

yes, I did check it.

Although I can not boot into the KDE desktop, I can run emerge --sync without problem, the only problem is no KDE desktop. it is weird.

chuncheng
Young Hen
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 5:58

Re: can not boot into kde desktop

Post by chuncheng » Thu Nov 22, 2007 13:52

Here is the screenshot of running emerge --sync
http://picasaweb.google.com/chunchengch ... 5204336274

Post Reply