Dual screen on laptop

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

Dual screen on laptop

Postby emilun » Sat Nov 17, 2007 11:38

Hi

I can't figure out how to get my intel GMA 950 work with dual monitors. I want to have my extern monitor as the main monitor and my ordinary laptop monitor as the second. I've no idea how to make it like that and it would be nice if i could get some help.

Thanks..
emilun
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 17:31

Re: Dual screen on laptop

Postby WarraWarra » Sat Nov 17, 2007 15:40

Dell Laptops has F8 button that needs to be pressed + the FN button inbetween right side ctrl + windows button = FN in blue.
This usually sets the screen to 1st / 2nd etc etc.

Not sure about intel 950 video and how it does this but the nvidia and ati control panel usually does this for you.
If you can give us a idea of what laptop it is / Mac Mini intel or similar + the version of Sabayon you are using then it should be easier to help you.

as root in terminal / konsole:
# su
passwd:
# lspci
# lsmod

and then post the results here using the code button above this when creating a message.
WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Re: Dual screen on laptop

Postby emilun » Sat Nov 17, 2007 16:17

Thank you for your reply!

My computer is an HP G3000 with an intel celeron M processor. I'm running Linux 2.6.22-sabayon i686.
I get this at the top lines when I type # lspci:

Code: Select all
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/PM/GMS, 943/940GML and 945GT
 Express Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS, 943/940GM
L Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML E
xpress Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)


and all this when I type # lsmod

Code: Select all
Module                  Size  Used by
snd_rtctimer            3680  0
i915                   22496  3
drm                    76276  4 i915
snd_seq_dummy           3876  0
snd_seq_oss            29600  0
snd_seq_midi_event      7008  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                46448  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          7884  3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
vboxdrv                39176  0
8139too                25696  0
bcm43xx               113672  0
ieee80211softmac       27264  1 bcm43xx
ieee80211              31752  2 bcm43xx,ieee80211softmac
ieee80211_crypt         5984  1 ieee80211
i2c_i801                8368  0
iTCO_wdt               10788  0
iTCO_vendor_support     3940  1 iTCO_wdt
intelfb                34788  0
serio_raw               6852  0
i2c_algo_bit            6020  1 intelfb
i2c_core               23840  3 i2c_i801,intelfb,i2c_algo_bit
snd_hda_intel         238776  0
joydev                  9696  0
intel_agp              23380  1
tg3                   100452  0
e1000                 111680  0
scsi_wait_scan          1504  0
sl811_hcd              11808  0
uhci_hcd               22896  0
ehci_hcd               31276  0
emilun
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 17:31

Re: Dual screen on laptop

Postby WarraWarra » Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:53

Good stuff drivers works fine i915 module loaded and working hardware recognized.

Not sure if this is in our wiki but we are gentoo based so anythign gentoo or similar + a small addition in most linux versions should work here or after finetuning work here.

Found this:
http://www.google.co.za/search?q=gentoo ... =firefox-a

This could be worth something:
http://budlite.blogspot.com/2007/09/hot ... linux.html
http://gentoo-wiki.com/HARDWARE_Acer_TravelMate_2480
http://gentoo-wiki.com/HARDWARE_Samsung_UMPC_Q1-Ultra
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-436869.html

Might have to manually edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf .
What likely has to happen = screen 0 and screen 1 has to have each it's own screen resolution or if lucky they use the same then set 1 as default say external one and laptop as 2nd display .

How this is done correctly some else has to give this info , no clue here but check out the xorg website / manual / wiki or other post from nvidia / ati cards that has posted xorg.conf file and try and play around with it so yours looks similar for the screens.

The idea / info stayes the same for the screens likely but the video card part might differ as xorg is generic to most linux video cards.

Would suggest to use the live cd /dvd of SL version ??? you have and then once ready and working just save the working /etc/X11/xorg.conf file to the desktop hd and replace the current one after renaming it to /etc/X11/xorg.testing or similar , this way you can always copy it back if needed.

Hope this gets you started.

Now check these ones out:
http://www.google.co.za/search?q=gentoo ... =firefox-a
http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Dual_Monitors
http://forum.compiz-fusion.org/showthread.php?t=4741
http://www.yolinux.com/TUTORIALS/LinuxA ... itors.html

Hope this helps.
WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests