nForce Ethernet doesn't work

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
fieldstone
Baby Hen
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 18:37

nForce Ethernet doesn't work

Post by fieldstone » Wed Nov 07, 2007 18:45

Hi there... I've just installed Sabayon Professional 1.1 AMD64 after using Ubuntu / Linux Mint for about the last two or three years. I'm pretty impressed with Sabayon overall, but I just can't seem to get my ethernet card to work. It's a nForce 4, I believe.

It gets an IP address, but neither Firefox nor Portato can find anything online - no web sites or packages or anything. I've already tried the fixed I could find, but still no luck. I'd really like to keep using Sabayon, but if I can't get this problem sorted out, I'm probably going to have to go back to Mint.

The weirdest thing is my ethernet card worked fine under the Sabayon live DVD... but once I installed the OS, I could no longer get it to work, and my sound doesn't work either.

joost
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2718
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: nForce Ethernet doesn't work

Post by joost » Wed Nov 07, 2007 23:54

Sounds like you didn't set the DNS correctly.
Can you ping your router?

Did you run net-setup (as root) already?
Image
My blog | Twitter | Please support Sabayon: Image

fieldstone
Baby Hen
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 18:37

Re: nForce Ethernet doesn't work

Post by fieldstone » Wed Nov 07, 2007 23:56

I'm currently at the university where I work, and I've got it set to DHCP. It should just work.

joost
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2718
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: nForce Ethernet doesn't work

Post by joost » Thu Nov 08, 2007 8:56

Well, if other network stuff like ping work, its obvious a DNS problem.

:mrgreen:
Image
My blog | Twitter | Please support Sabayon: Image

fieldstone
Baby Hen
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 18:37

Re: nForce Ethernet doesn't work

Post by fieldstone » Thu Nov 08, 2007 15:36

No, ping didn't work. However, I installed Sabayon 3.4f instead of Pro 1.1, and now my networking works perfectly.

User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1881
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil
Contact:

Re: nForce Ethernet doesn't work, reply to fieldstone.

Post by albfneto » Fri Nov 16, 2007 3:15

I have the same problem, in brasil. If i undertand, the ethernet board works, and the DNS were found by the DHCP, but you may note navigate...
I have a similar problems, with sabayon and many other distros... my net is atributed by DHCP ( auto), but it works over a pppoe protocol.... I cannot be uvble to run the pppoe-config command.... I do not any window, for digit the login os password, and therefore, cabnt connect!
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE

User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1881
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil
Contact:

Re: nForce Ethernet doesn't work continue the reply to fieldston

Post by albfneto » Fri Nov 16, 2007 3:20

Also, as you, if the net is configurated over the Live CD of Sabayon, it works fine, as in your case!
It is disgusting, as you, i see in the Sabayon, one of the most beautiful and more complete distros!
My net problem id identical of yours!
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE

Post Reply