a problem with compiz

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

a problem with compiz

Postby mokl » Sun Nov 04, 2007 4:15

i just made the switch from windows to linux and im a total n00b to everything so please, be gentle if this is a stupid question or an easy fix...

anywho, compiz will run fine when i start in live-cd but after installing and booting from my hard disk, i noticed that whenever i'd apply a visual effect in the compiz settings manager they wouldn't apply. at all. i did the "compiz-start" command and i got this :
NVIDIA detected
Using KDE decorator
Starting Compiz with: --replace ccp --sm-disable
compiz (core) - Fatal: No composite extension
X Error: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter) 9
Major opcode: 156
Minor opcode: 4
Resource id: 0x0
X Error: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter) 9
Major opcode: 156
Minor opcode: 4
Resource id: 0x0
QPainter::killPStack: non-empty save/restore stack when end() was called
QPainter::killPStack: non-empty save/restore stack when end() was called
QPainter::killPStack: non-empty save/restore stack when end() was called
QPainter::killPStack: non-empty save/restore stack when end() was called
QPainter::killPStack: non-empty save/restore stack when end() was called
QPainter::killPStack: non-empty save/restore stack when end() was called
QPainter::killPStack: non-empty save/restore stack when end() was called


and this
Compiz cannot be started. Please check that you have a working and supported Video Card, OpenGL functionality or visit Sabayon Linux Support forum at: http://www.sabayonlinux.org/forum
GPU: nVidia Corporation G70 [GeForce 7800 GS] (rev a2)


oh, i also ran the acceleration manager and still no go.

thanks for the help!
mokl
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 4:01

Re: a problem with compiz

Postby Stupot » Sun Nov 04, 2007 7:03

After you apply an effect, try reloading your window manager (an option when you right click the compiz icon). If that doesn't make it work but the rest of compiz is working, then the plugin isn't gonna work. Remember, many compiz plugins are unstable.
Stupot
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1544
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:44
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA


Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest