Borderless Windows when running Compiz

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Borderless Windows when running Compiz

Postby Lamo » Sun Oct 28, 2007 4:13

Naw I added the use flags from the first post.
Dell Inspiron 6400
Intel Core 2 Duo 1.86
1 gig ram
nVidia GeForce Go 7300 256MB
Lamo
Young Hen
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 4:17

Re: Borderless Windows when running Compiz

Postby wolfden » Sun Oct 28, 2007 5:11

did you run python-updater -i yet?
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Borderless Windows when running Compiz

Postby Lamo » Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:43

yep, and it f*cks up as usual
Dell Inspiron 6400
Intel Core 2 Duo 1.86
1 gig ram
nVidia GeForce Go 7300 256MB
Lamo
Young Hen
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 4:17

Re: Borderless Windows when running Compiz

Postby wolfden » Sun Oct 28, 2007 16:39

Lamo wrote:yep, and it f*cks up as usual


well you have to get that to run thru - do it manually if you can't get it. It will give you the list of packages it is going to install, sort them and use emerge. If a package fails than just emerge --resume --skipfirst
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Borderless Windows when running Compiz

Postby joost » Sun Oct 28, 2007 16:43

I reproduced the error here, struggling through it as we speak.
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2566
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Borderless Windows when running Compiz

Postby Lamo » Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07

OK I ran python-updater -i like you said and it got somewhat far before stopping with this:

Code: Select all
* ************************************************************
 * * Packages that still need to be manually emerged :        *
 * ************************************************************

 *  Masked Packages:
 *  ----------------
 *  Unmask the following packages (at your own risk) and
 *  emerge them using this command after removing the '-p'
 *  parameter.

 *  emerge -p  \=app-portage/portato-0.8.0-r1 \=dev-util/portatosourceview-2.16.1


 *  Failed Packaged:
 *  ----------------
 *  These packages have failed and need to be re-emerged again.
 *  Alternatively, try re-running this script again to see if it
 *  can be fixed.

 *  emerge -p  \=dev-python/m2crypto-0.17-r1 \=dev-python/numeric-24.2-r4 \=dev-python/pyorbit-2.14.2 \=dev-python/gnome-python-2.18.0 \=dev-python/celementtree-1.0.5 \=dev-java/java-config-2.0.31-r7 \=net-dns/avahi-0.6.18 \=app-admin/webapp-config-1.50.16 \=sys-apps/file-4.20-r1 \=dev-python/gst-python-0.10.6 \=dev-python/python-musicbrainz2-0.3.1 \=dev-util/scons-0.96.96 \=x11-libs/vte-0.16.1 \=gnome-base/gnome-menus-2.18.0 \=media-tv/democracy-0.9.5.1-r1 \=dev-java/antlr-2.7.7 \=dev-util/subversion-1.4.3 \=media-libs/mutagen-1.10.1 \=dev-python/eyeD3-0.6.12 \=net-fs/samba-3.0.24-r1 \=net-print/hplip-1.6.10 \=dev-python/python-ldap-2.3 \=dev-python/PyQt4-4.1.1

So I ran what it said to without the -p and I get this:

Code: Select all
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "=dev-python/m2crypto-0.17-r1".


I'm not sure I understand why it's telling me to emerge something that isn't available?

I tried running

Code: Select all
emerge --resume --skipfirst


after it failed but received this message:

Code: Select all
Calculating dependencies \
 * Error: The resume list contains packages that are no longer
 *        available to be emerged. Please restart/continue
 *        the merge operation manually.
Dell Inspiron 6400
Intel Core 2 Duo 1.86
1 gig ram
nVidia GeForce Go 7300 256MB
Lamo
Young Hen
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 4:17

Re: Borderless Windows when running Compiz

Postby wolfden » Mon Oct 29, 2007 14:02

Just keep working thru it
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Borderless Windows when running Compiz

Postby joost » Mon Oct 29, 2007 16:10

Ok,

i worked out the python update, now doing a revdep-rebuild it looks like it all comes down to this file: libwnck-1.so.18
Not sure if compiz-fusion depends on that. (Looks like it does though)
Also note that i upgrade my gnome-version, so it might be some left-overs i needed to fix.

This is what the system wants to re-merge here:

Code: Select all
All prepared. Starting rebuild...
emerge --oneshot -p =x11-wm/compiz-0.6.2 =x11-wm/emerald-0.5.2 =media-gfx/digikam-0.9.1 =kde-base/noatun-plugins-3.5.7 =dev-java/sun-jdk-1.4.2.16 =x11-misc/notification-daemon-0.3.7 =gnome-extra/evolution-exchange-2.10.0 =gnome-extra/gnome-power-manager-2.18.3 =gnome-extra/gnome-system-monitor-2.18.1.1 =gnome-extra/avant-window-navigator-extras-9999 =media-sound/amarok-1.4.7


Note: I got avant through xeffects overlay.

I'll update on this later.
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2566
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Borderless Windows when running Compiz

Postby joost » Mon Oct 29, 2007 19:22

Ok.

Remerge compiz and emerald, what i did, and it's all working again.

Remember that you need to complete the python update procedure wolfden described above before doing that.
Also running revdep-rebuild to solve some missing deps might get things on track for you.
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2566
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Borderless Windows when running Compiz

Postby Lamo » Mon Oct 29, 2007 20:45

How do I keep python-updater running every time it gets stuck on a package? How do I emerge each package separately when it says it doesn't exist? Sorry I'm a little confused here. I'm at work right now but when I get home tonight I'll work more on it. Thanks again for the help so far.
Dell Inspiron 6400
Intel Core 2 Duo 1.86
1 gig ram
nVidia GeForce Go 7300 256MB
Lamo
Young Hen
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 4:17

PreviousNext

Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests