wireless ok but can't resolve DNS

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
whitetr6
Baby Hen
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:15

wireless ok but can't resolve DNS

Post by whitetr6 » Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:26

New SL install on a Thinkpad with built-in Intel Wireless. I had no problem getting the wireless card to recognize and connect through my access point. (i.e. ifconfig shows my correct DHCP address). However, I cannot access the Internet using DNS addresses, though by IP it works fine. I figured from playing with Gentoo in the past that the problem is likely with resolv.conf, but the entries are correct:

Code: Select all

search mydomain.local
nameserver 192.168.254.2
Any suggestions? (I can't use net-setup I guess because it doesn't seem to support WPA??)
Thanks!

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: wireless ok but can't resolve DNS

Post by wolfden » Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:33

try nameserver 4.2.2.2

whitetr6
Baby Hen
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:15

Re: wireless ok but can't resolve DNS

Post by whitetr6 » Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:40

So I should edit the resolv.conf?
If so, doesn't it get overwritten each time by DHCP?

whitetr6
Baby Hen
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:15

Re: wireless ok but can't resolve DNS [solved]

Post by whitetr6 » Thu Oct 25, 2007 3:13

I found the following post, and did as suggested in the last posting in the thread. The issues appears to be with the search within mydomain.local, and when it's not found there, it stops. I know Macs have (or had) issues with .local domains, so maybe this is a similar situation.
http://www.sabayonlinux.org/forum/viewt ... =52&t=9677
Thanks!

mdmarmer
Advanced Hen
Posts: 240
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 1:46
Location: dayton OH usa
Contact:

Re: wireless ok but can't resolve DNS

Post by mdmarmer » Thu Oct 25, 2007 3:17

You should check /etc/resolv.conf and edit it if necessary

See here http://www.mepislovers.org/forums/showt ... nameserver

Mike

Dark_MaGe
Your Farmer
Posts: 1699
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 8:19
Location: Catania Italy
Contact:

Re: wireless ok but can't resolve DNS

Post by Dark_MaGe » Thu Oct 25, 2007 7:42

since you probably have networkmanager active, it will replace your resolv.conf everytime deleting the entries, so if you don't use it and log manually with dhclient I suggest you remove it from rc-update

Code: Select all

rc-update NetworkManager del
Image

Post Reply