lost desktop background can't change it back!![Solved]

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

lost desktop background can't change it back!![Solved]

Postby mathieujohnson » Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:42

Hi,
I recently installed Sabayon 3.4f amd64. Everything is nice and fast.
But tonight I opened yakuake and my background went black and I could not load any image as a background.
If I change from compiz to kwin to metacity, the situation is the same.
If I kill and reload kdesktop, nothing changes.
I tried rebooting to no avail.
I don't know what is causing this.
I can't even change the color. It's stuck to black.
Any help will be appreciated. I would hate to reinstall everything for a stuck background!
Thanks
Mathieu
Last edited by mathieujohnson on Fri Oct 26, 2007 20:45, edited 1 time in total.
mathieujohnson
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:03

Re: lost desktop background can't change it back!!

Postby mathieujohnson » Sat Oct 20, 2007 21:25

no one has an idea?
mathieujohnson
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:03

Re: lost desktop background can't change it back!!

Postby mathieujohnson » Sun Oct 21, 2007 21:12

Hi,
I reinstalled everything and the problem still persist.
I didn't do a full install though, I kept my home folder on a seperate partition and did not erase it!
I really need help, this is very irritating, a black background + compiz-fusion really is confusing and boring!
Thanks
mathieujohnson
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:03

Re: [SOLVED] lost desktop background can't change it back!!

Postby mathieujohnson » Fri Oct 26, 2007 20:48

Fixed it by erasing my .kde3.5/share/config/kdesktoprc file in my home then choosing the background I wanted with kdesktop.
mathieujohnson
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:03


Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron