[help] ipw3945, eduroam and Sabayon

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

[help] ipw3945, eduroam and Sabayon

Postby prlm » Tue Oct 16, 2007 14:53

Hello!

I recently installed Sabayon, and I really like this distro. But, when it comes to wireless, it starts to give me the headaches... With KNetworkManager, I'm able to connect at home, using WPA passphrase. When I go to the university, I can't connect to the wireless network! I have a .conf file, a script to start the device and the certificate, but neither Firefox, nor even ping work. Iwconfig shows that I associate with the network, and that I have an IP address, but I can't connect to anything...These files worked on my friends' computers, using Ubuntu. So I googled and found some lines to add to /etc/conf.d/net, but it has proven worthless. I don't know what else to do. wpa_supplicant, NetworkManager and Knetworkmanager are up-to-date.I just hope that anyone can help me ;)

Thanks in advance!
prlm
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 14:42

Re: [help] ipw3945, eduroam and Sabayon

Postby archwndas » Tue Oct 16, 2007 19:01

I also have ipw3945 and it also causes me headaches from time to time. Generally I can connect. When I resume from suspend in RAM though it some times doesn't want to connect unless I login as root in a console and type:

modprobe -r ipw3945
modprobe ipw3945

which unloads and loads the module back again. Generally this fixes my problem. Otherwise it doesn't want to connect when I resume from RAM suspend. When I start the:
/etc/init.d/powersaved start

then when I try to suspend it tells me: cannot unload ipw3945 module, and so I have to manually unload the module after login as root. Then Suspend in RAM works. So something is wrong either with Sabayon or with the KNetworkManager or both. I hope these issues are fixed in the next release of Sabayon.

I do not know if this helps you but generally try to unload and load back the module the way I described. Try also to switch from KNetworkManager offline and then back to online. Of course this is not the solution you would like to have but I do not know anything else.

Good luck,
Archwn.
archwndas
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 14:54

Re: [help] ipw3945, eduroam and Sabayon

Postby hakatu » Tue Oct 16, 2007 22:01

I've managed (somehow) to get eduroam academic wireless network working on my ipw3945 card with wpa_supplicant.

/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code: Select all
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=wheel

eapol_version=1
ap_scan=2
fast_reauth=1

network={
ssid="eduroam"
scan_ssid=1
proto=WPA
pairwise=TKIP
group=TKIP
key_mgmt=WPA-EAP
eap=PEAP
identity="USER@ACADEMIC-DOMAIN.COM"
password="USER_SUPER_SECRET_PASSWORD"
phase1="peaplabel=1"
phase2="auth=MSCHAPV2"
ca_cert="/directory/to/root_cert_of_radius_server.pem"
}


/etc/conf.d/net
Code: Select all
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_eth1="-Dwext -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf"
wpa_timout_eth1=30
config_eth1=( "dhcp" )


Post your comments if it works or not.

Best regards,
hakatu
hakatu
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 21:45
Location: 195.xxx.xxxx.xxx

Re: [help] ipw3945, eduroam and Sabayon

Postby archwndas » Wed Oct 17, 2007 18:33

Listen, I had some problems with my home wireless. It didn't want to connect unless I modprobe -r ipw3945 and load it back. What I did is to:

emerge --sync
emerge ipw3945

when the emerge finishes it tells you to add something in your /etc/conf.d/net file otherwise you face a bug namely:
preup() {
if [[ ${IFACE} = "wlan0" ]]; then
sleep 3
fi
return 0
}

Add that in the end of your /etc/conf.d/net file after emerging the ipw3945 driver. Everything now works fine for me. I do not have to try too hard to get connected. It connects right away. Please try that and let me know.

Best Regads,
Archwn.
archwndas
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 14:54

Re: [help] ipw3945, eduroam and Sabayon

Postby prlm » Fri Oct 26, 2007 16:35

Thanks for your reply hakatu, but I tried it and it didn't work...I think I'll just wait for an update to come for KNetworkManager, and then maybe I'll be able to connect. Cheers
prlm
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 14:42


Return to Networking and Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests