Sabayon resets my net settings :S ? [Solved]

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

loodi
Young Hen
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 16:00

Sabayon resets my net settings :S ? [Solved]

Post by loodi » Thu Oct 11, 2007 15:15

Every time I restart my computer I have to run in konsole "net-setup" because minute I shut down its like I never did it...
I found out that by running "ifconfig" after reboot..and I see that my IP and other things are not as they should be...

Why is Sabayon doing that.. and how do I prevent this.. because its pain in the ass to run net-stup every time and configure my IP, gateway etc... I did it so many times I learned it by heart..

post
Baby Hen
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 15:52

Re: Sabayon resets my net settings :S ?

Post by post » Thu Oct 11, 2007 20:53

i've got completely the same problem :? have tried different session setting but nothing helps...
would appreciate any help

thanks

Eden
Growing Hen
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 16:44
Location: Scotland, UK

Re: Sabayon resets my net settings :S ?

Post by Eden » Thu Oct 11, 2007 21:16

It's probably network manager resetting the setting, you just need to disable it.
Sabayon Wiki Admin

Sabayon Wiki Editors needed.
Image

lxnay
Land Owner
Posts: 3596
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Sabayon resets my net settings :S ?

Post by lxnay » Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:31

No, you just need to properly configure /etc/conf.d/net
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+

mjf55
Baby Hen
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 18:40

Re: Sabayon resets my net settings :S ?

Post by mjf55 » Sat Oct 13, 2007 5:49

I also tend to disable network manager and use net-setup each session. I am sure there are many others doing this, so please, elaborate on what the properly configured /etc/conf.d/net is? Thanks

loodi
Young Hen
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 16:00

Re: Sabayon resets my net settings :S ?

Post by loodi » Sat Oct 13, 2007 10:30

mjf55 wrote:I also tend to disable network manager and use net-setup each session. I am sure there are many others doing this, so please, elaborate on what the properly configured /etc/conf.d/net is? Thanks

Same here..

i tryed now "nano /etc/conf.d/net

And file is empty, it contains only this:
# This network configuration was written by net-setup

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: Sabayon resets my net settings :S ?

Post by wolfden » Sat Oct 13, 2007 21:57


loodi
Young Hen
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 16:00

Re: Sabayon resets my net settings :S ?

Post by loodi » Sun Oct 14, 2007 12:47

ok I manually edited :
/etc/conf.d/net and added my IP, netmas...

and edited resolv.conf and added nameservers but after reboot same story again.. seems network manager resets my nameservers and as far as i know its disabled...

how do i remove it ?

lxnay
Land Owner
Posts: 3596
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Sabayon resets my net settings :S ?

Post by lxnay » Sun Oct 14, 2007 12:50

Opening /etc/conf.d/net.example so hard? :)
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+

loodi
Young Hen
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 16:00

Re: Sabayon resets my net settings :S ?

Post by loodi » Sun Oct 14, 2007 13:52

lxnay wrote:Opening /etc/conf.d/net.example so hard? :)
nope its not....
But it doesnt help.. looked over it already and in gentoo handbook.. i set up everything the way it should be..but after reboot internet doesnt work.. im really tired of trying.. bye byee sabayon.. .welcom linux mint..

Post Reply