Sound Problems on Toshiba A135-SP4146 Laptop

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

Sound Problems on Toshiba A135-SP4146 Laptop

Postby Beatnik » Mon Oct 01, 2007 11:55

Hello,
First I want to thank Lxnay, and all Sabayon team for 3.4F, a beautiful distro. But here is the thing:
My brother has bought a new Toshiba Satellite A135-SP4146 laptop, and I tried first with 3.4F DVD and then with the 3.4 mini cd and none of them had Sound on live cd mode. The boot was o.k., but once it enters on desktop screen there is a message: I dont remember exactly but it said something that it was going to use a nolloft driver or something, but never had sound on the laptop.
Another thing, it always happen that when closing (shut down or restarting Sabayon, it gets stucked in the white bar of the booting out, and never turns off, then I have to shut down manually or reset the PC. This occurs on my dell desktop, and my brother Toshiba laptop.

Here are the specs (in spanish)
(1)Procesador(GHZ): Intel pentium Dual Core T2130 (1.86GHz/L2 2MB/533MHz) (2)Memoria (MB): 1024 DDR2 667MHz (2x512) número de ranuras 2 (3)Máximo : 4GB (2 x 2048MB) (4)Lector de memorias: 5 en 1 (SM, SD, MMC, MS/PRO ) (5)Pantalla: Lcd TFT 15.4" WXGA (1280x800) (6)Almacenamiento: Disco duro (GB): 120GB SATA 5400RPM (7)Drive : DVD±R/RW DL (8)Sonido: bocinas interconstruidas (9)Video: Intel Graphics Media 950 with 8Mb - 64 Mb memoria de gràficos compartida dinámicamente (10)Comunicación: -Red 10/100 -Modem 56Kb -Wireless lan IEEE 802.11a/b/g -Bluetooth (11)Puertos 4 USB 2.0 (12)Monitor externo (DB-15): 1 (13)S-video: 1 (14)RJ-11: 1 (15)RJ-45: 1 (16)IEEE 1394 : 1 (17)Micrófono (18)Auricular

Oh, I remember trying Sabayon on olders Toshiba laptops and they also had message problems at starting the desktop.
Could someone help me to solve this sound issue?
Thanks
Beatnik
Young Hen
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 13:24
Location: Panama

Re: Sound Problems on Toshiba A135-SP4146 Laptop

Postby wolfden » Mon Oct 01, 2007 20:40

does alsaconf detect sound card?

than use alsamixer or kmix to adjust sound
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Sound Problems on Toshiba A135-SP4146 Laptop

Postby Beatnik » Sat Oct 06, 2007 11:10

This is the exact error message at starting the desktop:

"Informational-artsmessage:
Error while iniatlizing the sound driver:
device/dev/dsp can´t be opened (no such file or directory)
The sound server will continue, using the null output device."

Oh, and when I try to play an mp3 file using amarok, I got this message:
"Audio output unavailable; the device is busy"


Alsaconf gave me this info:

"Following cards are found on your system.
Choose a asoundcard to configure:
hda-intel Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High definition audio
legacy Probe legacy ISA (non-PnP) chips"


I gave it O.K. and it started configuring the sound card,
The I got this message on the shell-konsole:


"Now ALSA is ready to use.
For adjustment of volumes, use your favorite mixer.

Have a lot of fun!"


Well, it didn´t work, (no fun here), There is an X over the volume mixer icon, and when I put the cursor on it I get this:"Mixer cannot be found"

Now, what can I do to make it work?
Beatnik
Young Hen
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 13:24
Location: Panama

Re: Sound Problems on Toshiba A135-SP4146 Laptop

Postby wolfden » Sat Oct 06, 2007 19:35

did you run alsamixer than to set your volume?
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Sound Problems on Toshiba A135-SP4146 Laptop

Postby laptop2012 » Mon Oct 22, 2007 1:27

i have the same laptop toshiba a-135 and hardware and am having the same trouble with the sound not working. There is an X on my volume control and when i try and open the volume control it says "no volume control GStreamer plugins/or devices found". When i install a gstreamer package in root it says that it has been installed and works fine, but nothing changes. when i run aslaconf




┌──────────────────────────Soundcard Selection─────────────────────────────┐
│ │
│ Following card(s) are found on your system. │
│ Choose a soundcard to configure: │
│ ┌──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┐ │
│ │hda-intel Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audi│ │
│ │legacy Probe legacy ISA (non-PnP) chips │ │
│ │ │ │
│ │ │ │
│ │ │ │
│ │ │ │
│ │ │ │
│ │ │ │
│ └──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┘ │
├──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┤
│ < OK > <Cancel> │
└──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┘
┌────────────────────────────────────────────────┐
│ │
│ Configuring snd-hda-intel │
│ Do you want to modify /etc/modules.d/alsa? │
│ │
├────────────────────────────────────────────────┤
│ < Yes > < No > │
└────────────────────────────────────────────────┘
┌──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┐
│ │
│ │
│ OK, sound driver is configured. │
│ │
│ ALSA CONFIGURATOR │
│ │
│ will prepare the card for playing now. │
│ │
│ Now I'll run alsasound init script, then I'll use │
│ amixer to raise the default volumes. │
│ You can change the volume later via a mixer │
│ program such as alsamixer or gamix. │
│ │
├─────────────────────────────────────────────────────92%──┤
│ < OK > │
└──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┘




Running modules-update...
* Please run 'update-modules' from now on; 'modules-update' is going away
* Warning: the current /etc/modprobe.devfs has not been automatically generated
* Use "update-modules force" to force (re)generation
Loading driver...
* Loading ALSA modules ...
* Loading: snd-card-0 ... [ ok ]
* Loading: snd-seq-oss ... [ ok ]
* ERROR: Failed to load necessary drivers [ ok ]
* Restoring Mixer Levels ...
* No mixer config in /var/lib/alsa/asound.state, you have to unmute you [ ok ]
Setting default volumes...
amixer: Mixer attach default error: No such device

===============================================================================

Now ALSA is ready to use.
For adjustment of volumes, use your favorite mixer.

Have a lot of fun!


localhost laptop # alsamixer

alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such device

nothing is muted
laptop2012
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 0:49

Re: Sound Problems on Toshiba A135-SP4146 Laptop

Postby Beatnik » Sat Oct 27, 2007 15:32

Thanks laptop2012,
I will try that.

I have a question for you:
Do you have the same problem when shutting down (turning off) or rebooting your laptop? In my Dell desktop, and the Toshiba laptop, it takes like hours, and never turn off or reboot, why is that? The only way to get out is resetting manually on the dell dektop pc, or disconnecting the ac-cable of the laptop.

Thanks
Beatnik
Young Hen
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 13:24
Location: Panama

Re: Sound Problems on Toshiba A135-SP4146 Laptop

Postby jyothysuresh » Sun Nov 11, 2007 21:11

Hi

I am totally new to Sabayon Linux. I installed it on a Samsung P10 laptop. I am running it from my hard disk not the DVD drive.No sounds play on my computer.

I tried doing the ALSACONF etc. but I am getting no sounds after all that. Does anyone have any simple solution.

thanks
jyothysuresh
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 19:51

Re: Sound Problems on Toshiba A135-SP4146 Laptop

Postby joost » Mon Nov 12, 2007 0:19

@jyothysuresh

What version of sabayon did you install?
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Sound Problems on Toshiba A135-SP4146 Laptop

Postby Othello » Thu Nov 15, 2007 1:00

I am having exactly the same problem and I am using Sabayon 3.4f. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance
Othello
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 23:31


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests