Alsa problem

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Alsa problem

Postby wolfden » Tue Oct 02, 2007 0:03

realtek should be the driver you need

alsaconf doesn't detect it?

open konsole and enter
su
your password
alsaconf

once that is done
alsamixer or kmix
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Alsa problem

Postby lucknuts » Tue Oct 02, 2007 1:01

realtek should be the driver you need

alsaconf doesn't detect it?

open konsole and enter
su
your password
alsaconf

once that is done
alsamixer or kmix


Wolfden,

I will try that when I get off of work, thank you.

I'm pretty sure I already tried that, and it said alsoconf is not a command.

I will try again, probably a fat-fingered error. ha-ha.

I have to say sabayon forums are helpful like crazy.

-lucknuts
Yes, I'm new at this.
Will learn. WIll teach.
lucknuts
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 6:48
Location: United States of America

Re: Alsa problem

Postby wolfden » Tue Oct 02, 2007 3:05

if you ran alsaconf as user, you will get command not found error, that is a hint to use the root so su, enter password when prompt than run the command.

I have pretty much same as you and alsaconf had no problems with mine. I don't like onboard tho so went and got a real sound card.
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Alsa problem

Postby lucknuts » Tue Oct 02, 2007 5:38

wolfden wrote:if you ran alsaconf as user, you will get command not found error, that is a hint to use the root so su, enter password when prompt than run the command.

I have pretty much same as you and alsaconf had no problems with mine. I don't like onboard tho so went and got a real sound card.


I got almost everything in my computer for free, so I don't complain.

Anyways....so I got alsaconf to work...

Im in it...Did it once didn't work.
It found my audio...

But I get the question "do you want to modify /etc/modules.d/alsa"....

Do I? Or do I not?

,,,ok I tried it, and it looks like I wanted to choose "yes" in the first place...

Haha...

==================================

So for any of your with my exact problem, as for a beginner almost like me...

Just go into ROOT

SU

enter your password

type in alsaconf

it will find your driver.

then click yes to editing that file or location.

bam



---THanks again to helping me.
Yes, I'm new at this.
Will learn. WIll teach.
lucknuts
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 6:48
Location: United States of America

Previous

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest