Still can't use Compiz. [Solved]

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

Still can't use Compiz. [Solved]

Postby Ric » Thu Sep 20, 2007 1:56

With Sabayon 3.3, I could use Beryl just fine. ( Acceleration manager = auto)
Now with Sabayon 3.4e, I get a blank screen if I use XGL and lockups if I use Aiglx.
I have downgraded nvidia as per viewtopic.php?f=5&t=8944 ( that help stability!! )
xorg.93.log shows :
(II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "nvidia-auto-select"
(II) Loading extension NV-GLX
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA 3D Acceleration Architecture Initialized
(II) NVIDIA(0): Using the NVIDIA 2D acceleration architecture
..so I do have 3d. ( Blender works... whew.) , but if I use teminal; 'compiz --replace' , I get a white screen.
What else can I try?
Last edited by Ric on Sat Oct 20, 2007 20:11, edited 1 time in total.
Act weird. It supports freedom.
It gives others permission to act weird too.
Ric
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 2:25

Re: Still can't use Compiz.

Postby navman » Thu Sep 20, 2007 3:04

take a look at this

viewtopic.php?f=53&t=9708
navman
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 20:51

Re: Still can't use Compiz. (solved)

Postby Ric » Sat Oct 20, 2007 20:16

I have tried that driver and it was a big improvement. Thanks.
But the root of my problem was my bios settings. When I installed my Nvidia 7300, the bios got set to PCI , this card is a PCI-Express.
Now I have set the Bios properly it seems solid :)
Act weird. It supports freedom.
It gives others permission to act weird too.
Ric
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 2:25


Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ajr784 and 1 guest