GeForce 4 ,Geforce 3,Geforce 2 plus TNT2 & TNT

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

Re: GeForce 4 ,Geforce 3,Geforce 2 plus TNT2 & TNT

Postby joe201 » Sat Sep 01, 2007 16:56

Little more left to do.Since your xconfig is a messed up now and you didn,t have Beryl or any 3D because of wrong
driver read above post .Be nice if they fixed it next release thats all we were talking about. It,s not just these
cards there are a lot of them messed up in 3.4a & 3.4e.
joe201
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 14:31
Location: Tex

Re: GeForce 4 ,Geforce 3,Geforce 2 plus TNT2 & TNT

Postby Raqua » Sat Sep 01, 2007 23:21

c0nv1ct wrote:boot without X, downgrade the driver with emerge, restart X

not that difficult.....


Big deal for newbie. I do not think that this is the good impression that will get more people to Sabayon.
Raqua
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 10:17

Re: GeForce 4 ,Geforce 3,Geforce 2 plus TNT2 & TNT

Postby rand.a » Mon Sep 03, 2007 21:10

joe201 wrote:Little more left to do.Since your xconfig is a messed up now and you didn,t have Beryl or any 3D because of wrong
driver read above post .Be nice if they fixed it next release thats all we were talking about. It,s not just these
cards there are a lot of them messed up in 3.4a & 3.4e.


It would be nice to have such things working OOTB. But trying to maintain a cutting-edge distro, while keeping support for ancient hardware may not be an easy thing to do.

Raqua wrote:Big deal for newbie. I do not think that this is the good impression that will get more people to Sabayon.


With google at your fingertips, you don't have to be a newb :)
rand.a
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 20:08
Location: Shelton, WA

Re: GeForce 4 ,Geforce 3,Geforce 2 plus TNT2 & TNT

Postby Raqua » Mon Sep 03, 2007 23:26

c0nv1ct wrote:With google at your fingertips, you don't have to be a newb :)

I think I am not total newbie anymore and I was able to fix these things, but I make my living in computers, not everyone does though. It is not hard to imagine that this might be a real drawback for a first time Linux user who is trying "this strange Linux thing" and sees, that it just does not work.
Most of these people just say it is a crap and get back to Win. Not good imho.

On the other side, I understand that this might be a problem with portage that does not allow two both drivers installed.
Maybe a thing for Equo ?
Raqua
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 10:17

Re: GeForce 4 ,Geforce 3,Geforce 2 plus TNT2 & TNT

Postby joe201 » Sat Sep 15, 2007 6:39

Well hoped they would look into this in this release Ubuntu and other have a scrip that lets you pick
the driver.Vector live selects the older driver and then you can update to the driver you want
either way you don,t have to edit x-config to remove the NV junk.
joe201
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 14:31
Location: Tex

Re: GeForce 4 ,Geforce 3,Geforce 2 plus TNT2 & TNT

Postby pablokun » Tue Sep 18, 2007 5:03

Please!!! i need help!!! i have a nvidia mx 4000 when i was using sabayon beta my card was working pretty fine
but now i upgrade to 3.4 f and my card does not work anymore...
i had tried to install the drivers from the nvidia web site... but it makes my machine goes slow and a withe screen all the time...
so could some body tell me the way to make my card work?
im noob on linux...
please make a tutorial step by step!!!
pablokun
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 3:18
Location: México

Previous

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron