NVidia 8800 + Pioneer PDP-4270 1080P resolution

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

NVidia 8800 + Pioneer PDP-4270 1080P resolution

Postby gentooruwest » Sat Sep 15, 2007 5:59

This is my cry for help. I've spent the last two evenings trying to get a resolution higher than 1280x720, but I've been failing to do so. I have a few questions.

1. Has anyone else done this?
2. Why doesn't the 1280x720 resolution fit the screen (sides and bottom borders aren't showing)

I've tried the following modeline:
Modeline "My1080i" 74.18 1920 2008 2052 2200 540 542 547 562 interlace +hsync +vsync

However, X just ignores this and says that 1280x720 is the highest the EDID will support. In browsing the web, this appears to be common and what most people do to get around the problem (nvidia module not probing properly) is pass options to tell the nvidia module not to probe EDID or to ingore the vertrefreshcheck. When I do this, I get disasterous results. The picture is all broken up in chunks and lots of garbage on the screen.

What am I doing wrong?
gentooruwest
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 2:27

Re: NVidia 8800 + Pioneer PDP-4270 1080P resolution

Postby momocore » Sat Sep 15, 2007 12:39

Can you post your entire xorg.conf file? And... how is the monitor connected? DVI, VGA...

A little hunting shows that the output for the display is 1024x768. I've got a feeling your modeline is totally out of whack. No, I don't knw what your pixel clock is, but you may want to replace:

1920 2008 2052 2200 540 542 547 562

with:

1024 1056 1160 1192 768 785 789 807
You may want to change the beginning values as well, but I don't know enough...

This may help you out, though:
http://xtiming.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/xtiming.pl
momocore
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 13:27

Re: NVidia 8800 + Pioneer PDP-4270 1080P resolution

Postby WarraWarra » Sun Sep 16, 2007 5:13

If you know the correct resolution for your screen try this with the live dvd before implementing it.

Boot live dvd upto boot menu select music / no music and press F5 and text apears at the bottom of the screen.

I add " xdriver=nvidia res=1440x900 " to the text and then enter to boot.
Once it is finished it should auto have the correct res you want. Nvidia control panel could also fix this but the save now button does not save the xorg.conf so open it from nvidia controll panel + copy + paste to current xorg.conf or make a new text file with this and backup current + replace with new xorg.conf.

If this works using the boot cheat codes "readme file on dvd /iso" then edit /boot/grub/grub.conf and add xdriver=nvidia res=1680x??? with correct info in it and reboot. Then it should work correctly.

Problem is most people think that a hdtv 1080i or something has to run at other resolutions but hdtv will only work with the 1080i if it is connected via the hdmi connection at the 1080i.
If connected to a 15 pin white vga or the blue ? dvi out then it is a screen with screen resolutions and this can be confused sometimes.

Is this the same model as yours ?
http://www.plasma.com/pioneerplasmatv/pdp4270hd.htm

Code: Select all
# Native Resolution XGA 1024 x 768
# Aspect Ratio 16:9 Wide-Screen
# Brightness Data Not Available
# Contrast Ratio Data Not Available


Hope this helps.
WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Re: NVidia 8800 + Pioneer PDP-4270 1080P resolution

Postby gentooruwest » Thu Sep 20, 2007 3:56

http://www.plasma.com/pioneerplasmatv/pdp4270hd.htm

Yes, this is my model, and yes I'm connecting via an HDMI cable. I'm still playing with the modelines ... thanks everyone for the help so far.
gentooruwest
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 2:27


Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests