Just got into Sabayon...

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

Just got into Sabayon...

Postby m1ndctrl » Wed Sep 12, 2007 15:54

Hello Folks,

I'm just stepping into Sabayon linux from Gentoo, Fedora and other distro's.

So Sabayon didn't auto-config my card (intel i810) to work out of the box but with some editting of xorg.conf and tinkering I managed to get compiz fusion loading at least.

However, I'm having some trouble getting it to operate properly; for example, when it loads many shadows are white borders around menu's and windows, also window contents are not always visible nor clickable.

I think this is related to the warning I get when I run compiz-start:

Code: Select all
libGL Warning: 3d driver claims to not support visual 0x73.


I have read this having to do something with cachelines or another and there being too little ram allotted to the 3d drivers.

I'm kinda lost and too busy to spend days on this to solve it, can anyone help?

Mind you I have had beryl running on Gentoo, Ubuntu and Fedora on this very laptop - so I know it does work - unless compiz-fusion is THAT much different. Regardless in the end though as I had ubuntu with compiz-fusion running on this very laptop too.
m1ndctrl
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 15:42

Re: Just got into Sabayon...

Postby wolfden » Wed Sep 12, 2007 23:03

Fresh install?

I would seriously get the C-F updated, try that first. The default C-F on install seems to have issues period.
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Just got into Sabayon...

Postby m1ndctrl » Thu Sep 13, 2007 3:38

Alright well I tried to update but after running

Code: Select all
fusionupdate.sh merge


I get this error upon trying to emerge compiz-9999:

Code: Select all
>>> Emerging (1 of 15) x11-wm/compiz-9999 to /
 * checking ebuild checksums ;-) ...                                      [ ok ]
 * checking auxfile checksums ;-) ...                                     [ ok ]
 * checking miscfile checksums ;-) ...                                    [ ok ]
>>> Unpacking source...
 * git clone start -->
 *    repository: git://anongit.freedesktop.org/git/xorg/app/compiz
Initialized empty Git repository in /usr/portage/distfiles/git-src/compiz/
fatal: The remote end hung up unexpectedly
fetch-pack from 'git://anongit.freedesktop.org/git/xorg/app/compiz' failed.
 *
 * ERROR: x11-wm/compiz-9999 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *   ebuild.sh, line 1654:   Called dyn_unpack
 *   ebuild.sh, line 768:   Called qa_call 'src_unpack'
 *   ebuild.sh, line 44:   Called src_unpack
 *   ebuild.sh, line 1334:   Called git_src_unpack
 *   git.eclass, line 280:   Called git_fetch
 *   git.eclass, line 195:   Called die
 *
 * git.eclass: can't fetch from git://anongit.freedesktop.org/git/xorg/app/compiz.
 * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
 * A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/x11-wm/compiz-9999/temp/build.log'.
 *

 * Messages for package x11-wm/compiz-9999:

 *
 * ERROR: x11-wm/compiz-9999 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *   ebuild.sh, line 1654:   Called dyn_unpack
 *   ebuild.sh, line 768:   Called qa_call 'src_unpack'
 *   ebuild.sh, line 44:   Called src_unpack
 *   ebuild.sh, line 1334:   Called git_src_unpack
 *   git.eclass, line 280:   Called git_fetch
 *   git.eclass, line 195:   Called die
 *
 * git.eclass: can't fetch from git://anongit.freedesktop.org/git/xorg/app/compiz.
 * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
 * A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/x11-wm/compiz-9999/temp/build.log'.
 *



I don't understand what the problem is - looks like something is wrong on the server end? anybody have any ideas - greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
m1ndctrl
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 15:42

Re: Just got into Sabayon...

Postby wolfden » Thu Sep 13, 2007 4:07

yea, looks like server issues, just have to try laters
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Just got into Sabayon...

Postby m1ndctrl » Fri Sep 14, 2007 18:50

Alright, well I did the update and I'm still experiencing weird problems.

When I launch the compiz-fusion icon and it loads compiz fusion the cube and other effects seem to work ok but nothing renders in windows.

i.e. I'll open up my home directory and the windows opens but the menu's and directories aren't rendered - furthermore on some windows where it does render it still won't let me use anything in the window - none of it is clickable.

Does anybody have any idea what might be causing this?
m1ndctrl
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 15:42


Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests