error: Could not run/locate "i586-pc-linux-gnu-gcc"

Anything that pertains to Portage

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
luixxiul
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 22:19

error: Could not run/locate "i586-pc-linux-gnu-gcc"

Post by luixxiul » Thu Sep 13, 2007 15:13

Hello,
when trying to emerge -e world after changing CHOST from i586-pc-linux-gnu to i686-pc-linux-gnu, following the manual here,
I got the following message;

Code: Select all

>>> Compiling source in /var/tmp/portage/dev-perl/IO-Interface-1.03/work/IO-Interface-1.03 ...
 * Using ExtUtils::MakeMaker
Checking if your kit is complete...
Looks good
Checking for getifaddrs()... Okay, I will use it.
Writing Makefile for IO::Interface
cp Interface/Simple.pm blib/lib/IO/Interface/Simple.pm
cp Interface.pm blib/lib/IO/Interface.pm
AutoSplitting blib/lib/IO/Interface.pm (blib/lib/auto/IO/Interface)
/usr/bin/perl /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.8/ExtUtils/xsubpp  -typemap /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.8/ExtUtils/typemap  Interface.xs > Interface.xsc && mv Interface.xsc Interface.c
i586-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -c   -fno-strict-aliasing -pipe -Wdeclaration-after-statement -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -O2 -march=i586 -mno-tls-direct-seg-refs -mmmx -m32   -DVERSION=\"1.03\" -DXS_VERSION=\"1.03\" -fPIC "-I/usr/lib/perl5/5.8.8/i586-linux/CORE"  -DUSE_GETIFADDRS Interface.c
gcc-config error: Could not run/locate "i586-pc-linux-gnu-gcc"
make: *** [Interface.o] Error 1
 *
 * ERROR: dev-perl/IO-Interface-1.03 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *   ebuild.sh, line 1654:   Called dyn_compile
 *   ebuild.sh, line 990:   Called qa_call 'src_compile'
 *   ebuild.sh, line 44:   Called src_compile
 *   ebuild.sh, line 1334:   Called perl-module_src_compile
 *   perl-module.eclass, line 141:   Called die
 *
 * compilation failed
 * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
 * A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/dev-perl/IO-Interface-1.03/temp/build.log
How could I avoid this error?

thanks,

lxnay
Land Owner
Posts: 3596
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: error: Could not run/locate "i586-pc-linux-gnu-gcc"

Post by lxnay » Thu Sep 13, 2007 15:38

What's the reason of changing a CHOST? NOTHING. IT DOES NOT INCREASE YOUR PC PERFORMANCES, I JUST MESSES UP YOUR INSTALLATION UNLESS YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING IN DEPTH.
Why doing that? I can't understand, CHOST is not CFLAGS.
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+

luixxiul
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 22:19

Re: error: Could not run/locate "i586-pc-linux-gnu-gcc"

Post by luixxiul » Thu Sep 13, 2007 16:02

To let my computer run BOINC, completely not to increase PC performance.
The applications cannot be distributed unless the host is i686. It'd be okay if I had x86_64 mashine.
It's actually not NOTHING.

Okay, I'll go Fedora.

lxnay
Land Owner
Posts: 3596
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: error: Could not run/locate "i586-pc-linux-gnu-gcc"

Post by lxnay » Thu Sep 13, 2007 16:22

Linux

* Operating system
o Linux kernel 2.2.14 or higher
o glibc 2.3.2 or higher
o XFree86-3.3.6 or higher
o gtk+2.0 or higher

* Hardware
o Pentium 500 MHz or greater
o 64 MB RAM
o 50 MB disk space
Sorry? Where?

Code: Select all

emerge sci-misc/boinc
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+

Raqua
Growing Hen
Posts: 175
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 10:17

Re: error: Could not run/locate "i586-pc-linux-gnu-gcc"

Post by Raqua » Thu Sep 13, 2007 16:52

lxnay wrote:What's the reason of changing a CHOST? NOTHING. IT DOES NOT INCREASE YOUR PC PERFORMANCES, I JUST MESSES UP YOUR INSTALLATION UNLESS YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING IN DEPTH.
Why doing that? I can't understand, CHOST is not CFLAGS.
Wow, why do you scream on that guy, you seem to be a bit overreacting. :lol:
I have been asking the same thing a couple of months ago and not too many people could help me. It might be posted somewhere to avoid these problems as it is not that obvious that there is no significant increase in performance and that you can mess Sabayon up.

luixxiul wrote:Okay, I'll go Fedora.
Forget Fedora and next time use SEARCH function. If you did, you would have found my thread here.
http://www.sabayonlinux.org/forum/viewt ... &sk=t&sd=a

Post Reply