GUI Package Manager ~Portato~ Old Support Thread

Anything that pertains to Portage

Moderator: Moderators

Re: GUI Package Manager ~Portato~

Postby Necoro » Tue Sep 04, 2007 17:14

darkscot wrote:I have since upgraded to 3.4e and that seems to be OK. But i can post the file anyway if you still want it?

Sabayon 3.4e uses Portato 0.8.1 by default. If you did not upgrade portato you now have this version installed ... (and then I don't need the desktop file)
User avatar
Necoro
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 22:47
Location: Munich (Germany)

Re: GUI Package Manager ~Portato~

Postby darkscot » Wed Sep 05, 2007 19:07

darkscot wrote:I have since upgraded to 3.4e and that seems to be OK.

Well i was wrong! Since upgrading to 3.4e the problem with portato remains. It opens ok from the command line but clicking the icon does nothing.portato
Desktop1: Sabayon 3.4e, WinXP | Desktop2: Sabayon 3.4e, WinME |
darkscot
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:41
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: GUI Package Manager ~Portato~

Postby Necoro » Wed Sep 05, 2007 19:24

Please give the output of
Code: Select all
emerge -pv portato
.

/edit: I guess, that it is a gksu/kdesu issue...
User avatar
Necoro
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 22:47
Location: Munich (Germany)

Re: GUI Package Manager ~Portato~

Postby darkscot » Wed Sep 05, 2007 20:51

Necoro wrote:Please give the output of
Code: Select all
emerge -pv portato
.

/edit: I guess, that it is a gksu/kdesu issue...


Code: Select all
sabayonx86-64 dt # emerge -pv portato

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild     UD] app-portage/portato-0.7.5 [0.8.0-r1] USE="-etcproposals -gtk% -qt4% -userp               riv (-kde%*)" 95 kB [1]

Total: 1 package (1 downgrade), Size of downloads: 95 kB
Portage tree and overlays:
 [0] /usr/portage
 [1] /usr/portage/local/layman/sabayon
sabayonx86-64 dt #
Desktop1: Sabayon 3.4e, WinXP | Desktop2: Sabayon 3.4e, WinME |
darkscot
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:41
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: GUI Package Manager ~Portato~

Postby Necoro » Wed Sep 05, 2007 21:10

Ok ... I recommend, that you upgrade your overlays (portato-0.8.5 is now in the normal sabayon overlay) and upgrade portato - and reinstall gksu (just in case):

Code: Select all
layman -S
emerge -1av libgksu gksu
USE="-kde -userpriv" emerge -av portato

Then please test it again. If it still does not work, paste the content of /usr/share/applications/portato.desktop
User avatar
Necoro
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 22:47
Location: Munich (Germany)

Re: GUI Package Manager ~Portato~

Postby darkscot » Thu Sep 06, 2007 19:48

Necoro wrote: If it still does not work, paste the content of /usr/share/applications/portato.desktop


What do you mean by this? portato.desktop is an application.
Desktop1: Sabayon 3.4e, WinXP | Desktop2: Sabayon 3.4e, WinME |
darkscot
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:41
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: GUI Package Manager ~Portato~

Postby Necoro » Thu Sep 06, 2007 21:26

darkscot wrote:
Necoro wrote: If it still does not work, paste the content of /usr/share/applications/portato.desktop


What do you mean by this? portato.desktop is an application.

It's a text file ...
User avatar
Necoro
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 22:47
Location: Munich (Germany)

Re: GUI Package Manager ~Portato~

Postby darkscot » Fri Sep 07, 2007 7:57

Necoro wrote:It's a text file ...

Not on my setup it is not! :?: Whenever I try to open it I get the message "are you sure you want to run this application?" If I say yes it opens portato!
Desktop1: Sabayon 3.4e, WinXP | Desktop2: Sabayon 3.4e, WinME |
darkscot
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:41
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: GUI Package Manager ~Portato~

Postby Stupot » Fri Sep 07, 2007 15:28

right click on it, go to open with and choose kwrite or some other text editor.
Stupot
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1556
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:44
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA

Re: GUI Package Manager ~Portato~

Postby darkscot » Fri Sep 07, 2007 17:21

Here you go!

Code: Select all
[Desktop Entry]
Name=Portato
Icon=portato-icon
Exec=portato
StartupNotify=true
Type=Application
Categories=Application;System;PackageManager
Desktop1: Sabayon 3.4e, WinXP | Desktop2: Sabayon 3.4e, WinME |
darkscot
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:41
Location: Yorkshire, UK

PreviousNext

Return to Portage|Emerge Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest