install problems Please Help

Anything that pertains to Portage

Moderator: Moderators

install problems Please Help

Postby SLiguykyle » Sat Sep 01, 2007 6:11

okay, i downloaded stepmania-3.9a-linux-tar.gz from http://www.stepmania.com onto my desktop, and i neeeed to know, HOW TO INSTALL IT!!! i have looked around, and looked up SEVERAL tutorials on how to install .tar.gz archives, and i have come up with that it should be the command: tar xfvz <filename>... but what do i put in file name? stepmania-3.9a-linux.tar.gz? because i have tried this several times and get this output:

localhost sliguykyle # tar xfvz stepmania-3.9a-linux.tar.gz
tar: stepmania-3.9a-linux.tar.gz: Cannot open: No such file or directory
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now
tar: Child returned status 2
tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors
localhost sliguykyle #

i need extreme help over here, i have no clue as to what i'm doing, and cannot find a thread that says how to overcome this issue... any help GREATLY appreciated, thanks anyone who helps :? :? :?
a sight to see, an event to be.
SLiguykyle
Young Hen
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:14
Location: my room

Re: install problems PLEASE HELP!!!!

Postby Cohan » Sat Sep 01, 2007 6:22

<filename> is indeed stepmania-3.9a-linux-tar.gz
Most likely you are not in the same directory as you downloaded your file to. If you have downloaded the file to your desktop then try
Code: Select all
cd /home/<your username>/Desktop
tar xfvz stepmania-3.9a-linux.tar.gz

Mind the capital D in Desktop.
Cohan
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 17:23

Re: install problems PLEASE HELP!!!!

Postby SLiguykyle » Sat Sep 01, 2007 6:51

okay, i got it to make another folder on my desktop, but now what? something about ./configure or something???? how do i get it to install? it just kinda uh... sits there
a sight to see, an event to be.
SLiguykyle
Young Hen
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:14
Location: my room

Re: install problems PLEASE HELP!!!!

Postby darkscot » Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:57

SLiguykyle wrote:okay, i got it to make another folder on my desktop, but now what? something about ./configure or something???? how do i get it to install? it just kinda uh... sits there

I took a look at the installation instructions on the website.
http://www.stepmania.com/wiki/Install_a ... _StepMania
According to them all you to is unpack the compressed file and double click on the Stepmania file. However, it seems to me that what actually gets downloaded is an MS Windows version. The file you are instructed to click on is actually stepmania.exe.
Desktop1: Sabayon 3.4e, WinXP | Desktop2: Sabayon 3.4e, WinME |
darkscot
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:41
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: install problems PLEASE HELP!!!!

Postby SLiguykyle » Sat Sep 01, 2007 22:24

soo... what is being said here? it is incompatible with linux???? i mean, .exe don't work with linux does it? i mean, it says it's for linux, but everything points in the direction of a DOS operating system... is there no way of installing it??? i have heard of people using stepmania on linux, but how??? it doesn't seem to be able to go on linux
a sight to see, an event to be.
SLiguykyle
Young Hen
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:14
Location: my room

Re: install problems Please Help

Postby wolfden » Sun Sep 02, 2007 1:15

Why don't you learn the package manager that comes with Sabayon Linux?

as root simply
emerge --sync && layman -S
emerge -av stepmania

ALWAYS use the package manager
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: install problems Please Help

Postby SLiguykyle » Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:36

hmm, okay... stepmania installed, but now i need to put songs in it (aka: i need to know WHERE it installed...) and then from there i hope it starts, kuz it wont even open right now...
a sight to see, an event to be.
SLiguykyle
Young Hen
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:14
Location: my room

Re: install problems Please Help

Postby wolfden » Sun Sep 02, 2007 3:52

wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: install problems Please Help

Postby SLiguykyle » Sun Sep 02, 2007 7:38

stepmania STARTS!!!! buuuuuuuuttt, it doesn't go much further than that... am i gonna find out that it's because i'm running 64bit? kuz if it is, i guess i could install 32 bit.... but hmm.... is there a 32bit converter tool or something that iono about? kuz people say some games work on 64bit, so iono... help? :? :? :?

edit: okay well no one's helped out, and uh... i still need stepmania.. i'm like killin' myself having to boot winblows just to play stepmania... any help?!?!?! i just don't get why every single game i have runs except for stepmania (the one game i'm the most addicted to) PLEASE HELP MEEEEE
a sight to see, an event to be.
SLiguykyle
Young Hen
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:14
Location: my room


Return to Portage|Emerge Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron