layman -S error & Porthole tells me I need to be root...

Anything that pertains to Portage

Moderator: Moderators

layman -S error & Porthole tells me I need to be root...

Postby brjoon1021 » Wed Aug 15, 2007 15:32

Hi,

here is the output from "layman -S" after "emerge --sync" :

localhost user # layman -S
* Running command "/usr/bin/svn update "/usr/portage/local/layman/sabayon""...
At revision 1496.
* Running command "/usr/bin/svn update "/usr/portage/local/layman/einit""...
At revision 1340.
* Running command "/usr/bin/svn update "/usr/portage/local/layman/portato""...
At revision 422.
*
* Success:
* ------
*
* Successfully synchronized overlay "sabayon".
* Successfully synchronized overlay "einit".
* Successfully synchronized overlay "portato".
*
* Errors:
* ------
*
* The source of the overlay "einit" seems to have changed. You currently sync from "http://einit.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/einit/trunk/distro/gentoo/portdir_overlay" while the global layman list reports "http://svn.berlios.de/svnroot/repos/einit/trunk/distro/gentoo/portdir_overlay" as correct location. Please consider removing and readding the overlay!

**************
secondly, I installed Portato and Porthole to see how I liked them compared to Kuroo. Porthole, unlike Kuroo and Portato tells me that I am limited in my using it because I am not root. How can I change this? The other two open with root privileges.

Thanks!
brjoon1021
Young Hen
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:51

Postby wolfden » Wed Aug 15, 2007 15:40

layman -d einit

than try

kdesu porthole
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Postby brjoon1021 » Wed Aug 15, 2007 16:11

kdesu gets "command not found"

the previous command removed the layer for einit. I thought that I needed that layer for Portato ?
brjoon1021
Young Hen
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:51

Postby wolfden » Wed Aug 15, 2007 16:18

ummmm no, Sabayon doesn't use that overlay any more - nothing to do with portato. See the portato thread

to use kdesu porthole you have to run that as user not root, that should than ask for a root password and start porthole as root. If that don't work than you are gonna have to su, enter password than type porthole to start it as root.

Anything beyond that, contact the developer of porthole
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Postby brjoon1021 » Wed Aug 15, 2007 16:22

Thanks again.

Do you believe that Portato is better (for lack of a better word) than Porthole or Kuroo? I really only need one. You mentioned in another thread that Kuroo is not really under development anymore. That is a major strike against it.
brjoon1021
Young Hen
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:51

Postby Necoro » Wed Aug 15, 2007 22:14

brjoon1021 wrote:kdesu gets "command not found"

Then try "gksu" instead of kdesu (or emerge it ;))

Is portato better then porthole --- depends... try them out and see which fits you better. And: I think it won't hurt if you have installed both of them, as they have nearly the same dependencies ...
User avatar
Necoro
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 22:47
Location: Munich (Germany)

Postby wolfden » Wed Aug 15, 2007 23:55

Portato is actively developed, Kuroo is not and I am not sure if porthole is any more either.
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA


Return to Portage|Emerge Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest