GeForce 4 ,Geforce 3,Geforce 2 plus TNT2 & TNT

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

GeForce 4 ,Geforce 3,Geforce 2 plus TNT2 & TNT

Postby joe201 » Sun Aug 12, 2007 5:05

Ok in the Mini version coming out would it hurt to cover this cards?They make up a large number
of users. If 3.4 mini had something like Nvidia 9639 or 9631 would save a lot of people headaches.
The new latest drives thats being used cuts out all the older cards.Sure you can remove the driver,
emerge the driver you need.Now your xorg is NV so all that needs editing .These lower resource
would happy to have the old driver,Giving everbody a system out of the box.I for one would
like having a usable driver for at least one version.
joe201
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 14:31
Location: Tex

Postby archwndas » Sun Aug 12, 2007 8:19

I totally agree with you! I have the same problems. Take a look at my two posts...

http://www.sabayonlinux.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8931

http://www.sabayonlinux.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9149

Have in mind though that for me Nvidia 96XX drivers didn't work. I do not why. For a quick description look here at my post!

http://www.sabayonlinux.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9443

I need help sorting this out!
Thank you for mentioning. I think the problem may be that on UP systems they have an SMP kernel but I am not sure about that. Maybe I am wrong. I want to install a simple Linux distro from scratch and compile the drivers there, on my own as I used to do.
archwndas
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 14:54

Postby happyuser » Wed Aug 15, 2007 13:29

I totally agree ! I hope Sabayon will do this in the future. :roll: I am very puzzled as to why 3.4a didn't support these cards ?

I told friends that Sabayon detects video drivers right out of the box. That Acceleration Manager asks you to pick Aiglx or XGL to set up 3D desktop to start you off on the right foot.
happyuser
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 13:23

Postby joe201 » Sat Aug 18, 2007 4:16

I was hoping more would chime in.I just thought that if one release had the older drivers it would
be easier to emerge update to the latest driver you could use.But at least you would have
Beryl and xorg configured.Plus I don,t understand why 3.4 loop 1,2,3 and B.E 1.0 had older
driver and then release the final with the latest driver.
joe201
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 14:31
Location: Tex

Re: GeForce 4 ,Geforce 3,Geforce 2 plus TNT2 & TNT

Postby jerryf196 » Thu Aug 30, 2007 14:03

Well i have the geforce2 MX/400 and I can't choose the desktop 3D acceleration. It says open GL not working.

Are there any drivers for this card in the Sabayon 3.4e? Or do I have to install it myself?
jerryf196
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 16:43

Re: GeForce 4 ,Geforce 3,Geforce 2 plus TNT2 & TNT

Postby joe201 » Thu Aug 30, 2007 17:23

I have same card Geforce 2 64 MB ,you,ll well have to emerge older driver ,edit NV to Nvidia .You could use
3.3 b mini version and have 3D and Beryl are if it was still on torrent the 3.4 loop 3 driver was still o.k.
joe201
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 14:31
Location: Tex

Re: GeForce 4 ,Geforce 3,Geforce 2 plus TNT2 & TNT

Postby ScottishDuckHunter » Thu Aug 30, 2007 18:56

I seriously doubt the majority of users are using GeForce 4 or worse. I'm using an 8600GT and the average user will have a 6/7/8 series card. Why not just buy a new card? You can get a 7 series for under £30.
Image
ScottishDuckHunter
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 16:57
Location: Lochgilphead, Scotland

Re: GeForce 4 ,Geforce 3,Geforce 2 plus TNT2 & TNT

Postby joe201 » Thu Aug 30, 2007 19:33

Because the cards work fine ,and there are drivers.At least one in this thread is a laptop.
Are you saying he should threw away his laptop?Sabayon supported most of this card,s
until 3.4 a & 3.4e .I can run 3.4 loop 3 (the last beta) without a problem but then the final
release 3.4a they change driver.Why have beta,s then?Why buy new card to use this release?
joe201
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 14:31
Location: Tex

Re: GeForce 4 ,Geforce 3,Geforce 2 plus TNT2 & TNT

Postby ScottishDuckHunter » Thu Aug 30, 2007 20:34

joe201 wrote:Because the cards work fine ,and there are drivers.At least one in this thread is a laptop.
Are you saying he should threw away his laptop?Sabayon supported most of this card,s
until 3.4 a & 3.4e .I can run 3.4 loop 3 (the last beta) without a problem but then the final
release 3.4a they change driver.Why have beta,s then?Why buy new card to use this release?


Because you could pick one up for £30 that would be about 10x faster.
Image
ScottishDuckHunter
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 16:57
Location: Lochgilphead, Scotland

Re: GeForce 4 ,Geforce 3,Geforce 2 plus TNT2 & TNT

Postby rand.a » Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:27

boot without X, downgrade the driver with emerge, restart X

not that difficult.....
rand.a
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 20:08
Location: Shelton, WA

Next

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron