3.4a after install Could not mount specified ROOT

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

3.4a after install Could not mount specified ROOT

Postby pelotillehuito_poet » Fri Aug 03, 2007 14:41

Hello all,

First of all: I would like to thank the developers making such a beautifull linux OS.

After many hours of trying to install this beauty, got the graphical installer finally to do a install to my harddrive en after boot I get the following:


>>Loading modules
:: -loads all fine-

>>Activating mdev
>>Activating Device-Mapper RAID(s)
ERROR: creating degraded mirror mapping for "pdc_cijdegaih"
>>Determing root device...
>>Detected real_root=/dev/sdb2
>>Mounting root...
mount: Mounting /dev/sdb2 on /newroot failed: Device or resource busy
!! Could not mount specified ROOT, try again
!! The root block device is unspecified or not detected.
Please specify a device to boot, or 'shell' for a shell
boot() :: _

This my 80gb Maxtor IDE Drive on the primary slave,
on the primary master I have a WinXP dynamic drive,
on the secondary master my DVD drive (wich I hade to swap in order to run the dvd)
and on the secodary slave a Debian Etch installed from wich I manualy partitioned the 80gb Maxtor on the secondary master.

This runs on a AMD Athlon 1600 with 1024 mb RAM, 2 NIC's, ATI Radeon 64mb
the live DVD runs fine, but installing from it gave me a really hard time.

How could I install or boot properly?

-dvd iso image is OK, md5sum checked, burned at 2x. Install proces took about an hour and a half...
-tryied to run with only the maxtor hdd, but no succes.
-tryied to mount after choosing shell
-tryied to umount
pelotillehuito_poet
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 12:25
Location: The Neverlands

Postby DontPanic » Fri Aug 03, 2007 15:38

It might be interesting to see what your boot loader is looking at for a partition table when it reaches this point.

When it gives you the option of dropping out to a shell, type 'shell'.

Then type 'cat /proc/partitions' to see if it is looking at your drives in the right order.
DontPanic
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 20:29
Location: Mobile, AL, USA

Postby pelotillehuito_poet » Fri Aug 03, 2007 16:19

ok grub sets as root hd(0,0)

output of cat /proc/partitions

8 0 40146624 sda
8 1 40138371 sda1
8 16 8043264 sdb
8 17 104391 sdb1
8 18 77834925 sdb2
8 19 2096482 sdb3
8 32 20066251 sdc
8 33 5381743 sdc1
8 34 1 sdc2
8 37 682731 sdc5
8 38 14000616 sdc6
251 0 80043200 dm-0
251 1 104391 dm-1
251 2 77834925 dm-2
251 3 2096482 dm-3

tryed to change block device to hd(1,0) hd(1,1) -> same thing
tryed boot with the help of the SGD (Super Grub Boot Disk) with no succes.
pelotillehuito_poet
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 12:25
Location: The Neverlands

Postby DontPanic » Fri Aug 03, 2007 17:15

Well, I think I see your problem. But I'm over my head on how to fix it.

I see:

>>Activating Device-Mapper RAID(s)
ERROR: creating degraded mirror mapping for "pdc_cijdegaih"


and for your partition table, I see:

251 0 80043200 dm-0
251 1 104391 dm-1
251 2 77834925 dm-2
251 3 2096482 dm-3


The boot process seems to be seizing your sdb drive, and mirroring the partitions into "degraded mirror mapping" partitions. I guess that's why it thinks the sdb2 drive is busy.

I think the typical report here should be "No RAID devices found".

I'm sorry, but I'm not familiar with the intricacies of how the booting process can be getting confused about whether or not this is a RAID device. Maybe somebody else in the forums can pick it up from here.
DontPanic
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 20:29
Location: Mobile, AL, USA

Postby pelotillehuito_poet » Fri Aug 03, 2007 18:26

Thanx for your (deep) thoughts, "don't panic" :D

I am also wondering what "pdc_cijdegaih" is?

Guess I'll have to wait now...
pelotillehuito_poet
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 12:25
Location: The Neverlands


Return to Installer Issues - Calamares **Not for Package Manager Stuff**

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests