No keyboard when installing...

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

No keyboard when installing...

Postby mcangeli » Wed Aug 01, 2007 14:49

Ok, this disc is an improvement over the last stable release (which just booted to a blank screen). I can log in and start the installer, however, when I have to type in the root password and confirm it, nothing happens when I start typing. NOTHING.

Sabayon is a nice, polished distribution that I'd love to use, however, if I can't type (haven't tried typing in another program yet...)...
mcangeli
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 19:50
Location: Atlanta, GA

Postby edgevision » Wed Aug 01, 2007 15:01

?

Are you in a console, or in KDE, or what?

When you type in password in a console (terminal window), your input is not shown for security reasons.. have you not been able to use the keyboard whatsoever? Test it in other applications.
edgevision
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 18:40
Location: New Brunswick, Canada

Postby orglub » Wed Aug 01, 2007 16:12

Hello, I had the same problem with the installer, it seems that you can't type any password if you don't choose before a " bios password " . Sorry for the language , I speak better in spanish :D
orglub
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 16:04
Location: france

Postby mcangeli » Wed Aug 01, 2007 16:15

Yea, I don't know what the issue was installing from the live version. I booted to the graphical installer and installed it, and things are ok. Now to figure out compiz on the ati card...
mcangeli
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 19:50
Location: Atlanta, GA


Return to Installer Issues - Calamares **Not for Package Manager Stuff**

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests