initializing kernel problem

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

initializing kernel problem

Postby MoonDoggie » Fri Jul 27, 2007 0:35

not sure why its happening now, i booted and installed 3.3 before prob free but now.....anyway i checked the torrent and file after i finished downloading and everything checked out ok. but i dont know why it just hangs on the initializing kernel screen during boot. i've tried a few cheat codes that seemed to have anything to do with the kernel but to no avail.

laptop specs.

amd turion64

2 gigs

nvidia geforce go 6150

mmm i guess thats it......any help will be very much appreciated

oh yea, and does the size of dvds pose any issue? because i found it weird that the size of the iso is bigger than a traditional dvd, 4.7 gigs, and yet it still burned onto it.....is it just me?
MoonDoggie
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 23:28

Postby RedShirt » Fri Jul 27, 2007 1:09

My download was 4.32 gigs... yours is bigger than 4.7 gigs?

Kernel initializing could fail for a number of reasons... turn on verbose mode and see if you can catch where it fails. Do you have anything odd with that hardware, like a widescreen monitor? you may need to set something like 1024x768 resolution (1440x900 on mine doesn't work on boot, and it defaults to 1900x1200 or so.) But without knowing where it is failing, it is tough to point you at a solution.
RedShirt
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 14:35

Postby MoonDoggie » Fri Jul 27, 2007 2:52

well i'm guessing the disc gets formated before installation because alcohol 120% was showing the disc as having only 4.14 gigs, and the iso was 4.32. i'm not sure though.......anyway thanks for the help, i'll see about where it fails in verbose mode.
MoonDoggie
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 23:28

Postby MoonDoggie » Sat Jul 28, 2007 2:35

ok so i couldn't look at verbose mode because the option is not given where the dvd hangs on the "initializing the kernel" splash screen. but i actually did get it to load by using the cheat acpi=off. but the problem now was that it loaded in text mode or something. so my question is this: what exactly is the acpi=off cheat? is it suppose to turn graphical mode off? and how would i go about fixing this?
MoonDoggie
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 23:28


Return to Installer Issues - Calamares **Not for Package Manager Stuff**

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests