For the inquiring minds - My Log for 3.4 world update

Anything that pertains to Portage

Moderator: Moderators

For the inquiring minds - My Log for 3.4 world update

Postby wolfden » Thu Jul 19, 2007 1:49

Some have asked for tips on world update so I kinda documented how I took the latest 3.4 beta to world update.


First thing first here, now I know I wrote the unofficial guide and what I have done below is not going to follow that guide. Does that make the unofficial guide wrong? No, the unofficial guide works, just more steps involved and better for people new to world updates to follow. I've taken some heat by advanced users as to why do the method I do in the unofficial guide - it takes so much longer is their complaint. I guess to me, time is irrelavent if in the end you end up with a successful world update. The method will work and prior to 3.3, sabayon linux was not really designed for a world update. Another thing with linux is that there is a million ways to do one thing. As you become familiar and more advanced with portage you develop your own methods of doing things. The gentoo forums host several scripts you can use to help with updates also. They do work as I have tried them myself.

3.4 Final to world update on a x86_64 - in the installer I choose to install everything but 3D Extra Games

My Equipment:
1--MSI K9N SLI Platinum Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX AMD
1--AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+ Windsor 2.8GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor
1--EVGA 256-P2-N550 -T2 GeForce 7600GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card
2--CORSAIR XMS2 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel
1--Logitech MX518 2-Tone 8 Buttons 1 x Wheel USB + PS/2 Wired Optical Gaming-Grade Mouse
1--Logitech 920-000021 Black 103 Normal Keys 11 Function Keys USB Standard Access Keyboard 600
1--SAMSUNG 941BW Black 19" 4 ms (GTG) DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 500:1
1--iiyama Vision Master 1451 Monitor

First Thing I Did:
Code: Select all
# emerge --sync && layman -S


Second Thing:
while that is going I can edit - now note, you can not simply copy and paste this as it will not work for you.
/etc/make.conf and edit it to my needs and now looks like:
# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically built this stage

# Please consult /etc/make.conf.example for a more detailed example

USE="mp3 quicktime type1 divx4linux dvb dvd dvdread live mpeg nvidia jpeg truetype v4l v4l2 xv xvid multilib gnutls arts cups ppds foomatic-db alsa gimpprint freetype gnome X gtk gtk2 unicode moznocompose moznoirc moznomail kde qt samba xinerama xine theora kdeenablefinal wifi hal ieee1394 oggvorbis lm_sensors logitech-mouse zeroconf artswrappersuid jack nptl nptlonly rdesktop dvdr css gphoto2 openexr pcmcia speex jpeg2k povray scanner musicbrainz accessibility audiofile exif xscreensaver ffmpeg vcd sndfile musepack asterisk mbrola pam_chroot pam_timestamp pwdb gnokii pda sms bluetooth irda kig-scripting speedo browserplugin nsplugin ldap kerberos firefox dga aac dts xvmc dbus hal dvi on-the-fly-crypt dri xprint acpi ada ruby perforce cjk fat hfs jfs ntfs reiser4 xfs reiserfs joystick skins cdda real shout stream a52 wxwindows vlm lirc libcaca remote stats lcd unichrome 7zip commercial mozsvg canvas xml2 glut java gcj glitz svg avahi ogg vorbis aalib flac gdbm mikmod timidity kdgraphics dlloader exscalibar ipod visualization mono cdr nntp cairo djvu nautilus evo ole pdf xml ladspa soundtouch bzip2 udev mad fuse rtsp tiff kdehiddenvisibility dvi usb kipi aiglx musicbrainz 3dfx pulseaudio x264 dv lame mp3rtp udev cdr beagle dvi djvu libnotify bzip2 aalib startup-notification nsplugin jingle gsm dbox2 opengl sdl png gif qt3 qt4 qt3support"

# CFLAGS="-Os -march=x86-64 -pipe"

CFLAGS="-O3 -march=x86-64 -funroll-all-loops -m3dnow -msse3 -funit-at-a-time -fpeel-loops -ftracer -funswitch-loops -fomit-frame-pointer -pipe"

LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--enable-new-dtags -Wl,--sort-common -s"

CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"

CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"

LINGUAS="en"

PORTAGE_NICENESS="8"

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64"

MAKEOPTS="-s -j3"

CONFIG_PROTECT="/usr/kde/3.5/share/config/kdm /etc"

FEATURES="parallel-fetch"

VIDEO_CARDS="vesa vga nvidia"

INPUT_DEVICES="evdev keyboard mouse"

LIRC_DEVICES="audio audio_alsa"

source /usr/portage/local/layman/make.conf

I take a quick peek at /etc/portage/package.use and make some adjustments
net-www/mplayerplug-in divx gmedia realmedia wmp gtk quicktime win32codecs nsplugin firefox xvid
removed the firefox entry
removed the thunderbird entry
removed the seamonkey entry

Third Thing:
Rebuild my System
Code: Select all
# emerge -e system || until emerge --resume --skipfirst; do emerge --resume --skipfirst; done

This produces 128 packages to rebuild - apx 3 hours for that and I had 1 or 2 failures, but I was not worried about the packages that failed

Fourth Thing:
Than I looked at my world file at /var/lib/portage/world
decided I don't want these:
Code: Select all
emerge -C man-pages-de man-pages-es man-pages-fr man-pages-it man-pages-ja man-pages-nl man-pages-pl man-pages-ro man-pages-ru man-pages-zh_CN skim laptop-mode-tools aspell-fr aspell-it aspell-pl aspell-uk myspell-de myspell-en myspell-eo myspell-es myspell-fr myspell-ga myspell-gl myspell-it myspell-nl myspell-ru aspell-de lacie-lightscribe-labeler lightscribe lightscribe-simplelabeler radeontool kuroo nexuiz sauerbraten warsow cowsay secondlife-bin dangerdeep flightgear torcs savage-bin wesnoth globespan-adsl mingetty ppp pppconfig pptpclient rp-l2tp rp-pppoe slmodem speedtouch wvdial kmyfirewall amsn bcm43xx-firmware bcm43xx-fwcutter bluez-bluefw bluez-hcidump bluez-libs bluez-utils chillispot ipw2200-firmware ipw3945-ucode iwlwifi-ucode iwlwifi4965-ucode kdebluetooth kismet libbtctl libertas-firmware prism54-firmware prism54-usb-firmware rt61-firmware rt73-firmware zd1211 zd1211-firmware 915resolution lilo ati-drivers linuxwacom xf86-video-apm xf86-video-ark xf86-video-ati xf86-video-chips xf86-video-cirrus xf86-video-cyrix xf86-video-dummy xf86-video-fbdev xf86-video-glint xf86-video-i128 xf86-video-i740 xf86-video-i810 xf86-video-imstt xf86-video-mga xf86-video-neomagic xf86-video-nsc xf86-video-nv xf86-video-openchrome xf86-video-rendition xf86-video-s3 xf86-video-s3virge xf86-video-savage xf86-video-siliconmotion xf86-video-sis xf86-video-sisusb xf86-video-tdfx xf86-video-tga xf86-video-trident xf86-video-tseng xf86-video-v4l xf86-video-voodoo metisse clamav klamav gnokii gsmlib democracy openoffice

You will discover that the world file is not adjusted with the installer selections

Fifth thing:
Code: Select all
#emerge -uDN --world || until emerge --resume --skipfirst; do emerge --resume --skipfirst; done



Of course this will cause failures:
Problems:

Java is no longer working in my firefox so I have to do a
Code: Select all
# ln -s /opt/blackdown-jre-1.4.2.03/plugin/amd64/mozilla/libjavaplugin_oji.so /usr/lib/mozilla-firefox/plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so


Netscape Flash netscape-flash-9.0.48.0.ebuild --- Fails and is now hard masked at this time
How I fixed it:
Code: Select all
cd /usr/portage/distfiles
# wget ftp://ftp.dvo.ru/pub/distfiles/install_flash_player_9_linux.tar.gz
# wget ftp://ftp.dvo.ru/pub/distfiles/flash_player_9_linux_dev.tar.gz
# chown root:portage /usr/portage/distfiles/install_flash_player_9_linux.tar.gz
# chown root:portage /usr/portage/distfiles/flash_player_9_linux_dev.tar.gz
# chmod 664 /usr/portage/distfiles/install_flash_player_9_linux.tar.gz
# chmod 664 /usr/portage/distfiles/flash_player_9_linux_dev.tar.gz
# emerge --digest netscape-flash


Epiphany - sandboxed, always does with every install, simply:
Code: Select all
# FEATURES="-sandbox" emerge epiphany


Amarok fails, but simple solution
Code: Select all
# emerge -u tunepimp

Code: Select all
# emerge -u amarok


MC fails and complains of unicode so I edit
/etc/portage/package.use
and add the line
app-misc/mc -unicode
than
Code: Select all
# emerge mc


So I am seeing problems with things and decide to run:
Code: Select all
 # revdep-rebuild -X

-----media-gfx/hugin-0.6.1 fails <---- don't need it so emerge -C hugin

While revdep-rebuild was running I edited /var/lib/module-rebuild/moduledb so it looks like:
a:1:net-wireless/madwifi-driver-0.1473.20060312
a:1:net-wireless/madwifi-ng-0.9.4
a:1:x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-100.14.11-r10
a:1:media-video/gspcav1-20070508
a:1:app-emulation/kvm-28
a:1:net-misc/et131x-1.2.3-r1
a:1:app-emulation/virtualbox-modules-1.4.0

I start again with

Code: Select all
# emerge -uDN --world

what is left after that is:
[ebuild U ] sys-libs/pam-0.99.8.0-r2 [0.99.7.1] USE="cracklib%*"
[ebuild U ] app-emulation/libvirt-0.2.3 [0.2.2-r1] USE="-qemu%" <------masked it instead of uninstalling it
[ebuild U ] media-plugins/gst-plugins-farsight-0.12.2 [0.10.2]
[ebuild U ] net-wireless/linux-wlan-ng-modules-0.2.8 [0.2.7]

So for Pam I need to find what config file is still using pam_stack.so :
Code: Select all
 # grep pam_stack.so /etc/pam.d/*

/etc/pam.d/gdmconfig:auth required /lib/security/pam_stack.so service=system-auth

Follow the http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/base/pam/upgrade-0.99.xml to make the proper changes than:
Code: Select all
# emerge pam


So now I am down to
[ebuild U ] media-plugins/gst-plugins-farsight-0.12.2 [0.10.2]
[ebuild U ] net-wireless/linux-wlan-ng-modules-0.2.8 [0.2.7]

Code: Select all
# equery depends linux-wlan-ng-modules

to see what needs that
Code: Select all
# emerge -C linux-wlan-ng-modules linux-wlan-ng

Code: Select all
# emerge -C linux-wlan-ng-firmware linux-wlan-ng-utils

Final Package to deal with:
Code: Select all
# emerge -C gst-plugins-farsight


One Last TIme:
Code: Select all
 # revdep-rebuild -X


Code: Select all
# emerge -p --depclean

results of that = http://rafb.net/p/4XRlrr47.html <-- I work a couple issues with that and all is good.

I forgot about this command, so doing it now:
Code: Select all
 # dep -w


One Final Last TIme:
Code: Select all
 # revdep-rebuild -X


Steps to do yet - config the kernel

As far as the etc-update - PAY ATTENTION - those config files toast a lot of people's updates. I manually edited the ones I didn't want touched. I don't remember how many I had as I didn't do them all at once. I did some here and there as the updates were going in. I would guess about 6 config files I manually adjusted.


That's All Folks
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Postby dukdukgoos » Mon Jul 23, 2007 4:35

Good stuff, wolfden! Love this kind of advanced use case stuff...
dukdukgoos
Young Hen
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 9:39

Postby totedati » Tue Jul 24, 2007 0:55

me i'm happy also to see this journey shared with us .... after a kde 3.5.7 successful update i think that i go to 'the gentoo way' and will do a compile upgrade to sabayon v3.4 also ... this time with a tuned and customized make.conf ... i forgot this little detail ... and this post will be very handy ...
linux is free, the expertise to harness it is not!
you don't make so much money selling open source software!
You make MORE money USING it, just like google!
linux registered user #352479
totedati
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 417
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 0:24
Location: Sibiu, Romania

Postby Red Knuckles » Wed Jul 25, 2007 21:19

http://rafb.net/p/4XRlrr47.html for me results in:

404 Not Found.

I'm trying this now on 3.4 AMD 64 Loop3 install. would like to take a look at that for problem solving info.

I think I've been breaking my system by not being more discriminating about etc-update. Actually I've been doing dispatch-conf and selecting u for everything. Would it be best to use etc-update -3 and y or n? Assuming I know when to n, which is debatable. The problem I run into is upon reboot no net and only graphical is I think Ice or what ever minimal Desktop SL installs with. In other words it goes to a graphical screen with 1 option. That is to login. No option for session or menu. ie. no KDE or Gnome. I'm guessing I want to use old files for anything to do with KDE, Gnome, xserver, [/etc/X11/xorg.conf doesn't seem to change], and network?
SL 3.4a AMD64, Gentoo2007.0 AMD64 - ASUS M2NPV-VM - AMD64 X2 4800+ 2.5 Ghz - 4X1GB DDR2 800 - GeForce 6150 256MB - 2X320GB
Red Knuckles
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 3:16
Location: Colorado, USA

Postby wolfden » Wed Jul 25, 2007 22:39

I use etc-update, but I know what files to watch out for. The config files will get ya every time.

Networking issue is dhcp, it don't work with knetworkmanager so you have to downgrade it, that is the first time I have ever had a networking issue.

As far as that link, they only hold the link for so long. It was just the output of depclean, nothing important.
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Postby Red Knuckles » Thu Jul 26, 2007 0:33

wolfden wrote:I use etc-update, but I know what files to watch out for. The config files will get ya every time.

Networking issue is dhcp, it don't work with knetworkmanager so you have to downgrade it, that is the first time I have ever had a networking issue.

As far as that link, they only hold the link for so long. It was just the output of depclean, nothing important.


Thanks. I'll be learning as I DON"T know which ones to watch out for. More learning. One thing I saw on a reboot was something like '/et/init.d-no x-setup'. dhcp seems likely suspect for network. Wish I could slow down the boot dialog on 1st reboot. Or what is that log file? /var/log/messages? /var/log /boot/messages? Gotta get smarter about that too.
SL 3.4a AMD64, Gentoo2007.0 AMD64 - ASUS M2NPV-VM - AMD64 X2 4800+ 2.5 Ghz - 4X1GB DDR2 800 - GeForce 6150 256MB - 2X320GB
Red Knuckles
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 3:16
Location: Colorado, USA

Postby totedati » Thu Jul 26, 2007 1:16

Red Knuckles wrote:I think I've been breaking my system by not being more discriminating about etc-update. Actually I've been doing dispatch-conf and selecting u for everything. Would it be best to use etc-update -3 and y or n? Assuming I know when to n, which is debatable.


sweet .... i do the same when i manual update to kde v3.5.7 ... but with --deep flag also to portage, so this was ended in almost 800 packages upgrades .... i survive ... but after revdep-rebuild exercise i see that i need to careful inspect 30 or more etc conf files ... whooo .... i do the same thing .... buth with a twist ..... before i do a quick backup of all /etc directory to a small and cheap usb pendrive .... easy no? when i see something is not working right, a quick diff between old etc conf file and actual, conf file is enough to figure myself what is the problem ...

so ... you backup often ? ... if not, do it now !!! :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:
linux is free, the expertise to harness it is not!
you don't make so much money selling open source software!
You make MORE money USING it, just like google!
linux registered user #352479
totedati
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 417
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 0:24
Location: Sibiu, Romania

Postby wolfden » Thu Jul 26, 2007 1:31

Also note that you can upgrade GCC, which I would do if your going to do a world update. If your going to recompile, might as well upgrade the gcc.

http://www.sabayonlinux.org/wiki/index. ... pgrade_GCC
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Postby Red Knuckles » Thu Jul 26, 2007 21:52

wolfden wrote:Also note that you can upgrade GCC, which I would do if your going to do a world update. If your going to recompile, might as well upgrade the gcc.

http://www.sabayonlinux.org/wiki/index. ... pgrade_GCC


I did upgrade gcc to 4.2.0 and ran those commands suggested in the link as it tells you to do so at end of 'emerge =gcc-4.2.0'. I've done 'emerge -e system' and only one package remains failed 'sys-apps/sandbos-1.2.18.1'. It is already installed so I believe I'm ready for step 5. Except '<dev-libs/boost-1.34.0 (is blocking dev-util/boost-build-1.34.0)'. I've tried masking either package or both in '/etc/portage/package.mask' but that didn't work. I then masked 'dev-libs/boost' and 'dev-util/boost-build'.That worked. I file a bug report [#256] on this yesterday but am not sure if SL can fix problems with ebuilds. On the other hand Gentoo bugzilla told me "Sabayon bugs don't go in Gentoo", by Jakub Moc.
SL 3.4a AMD64, Gentoo2007.0 AMD64 - ASUS M2NPV-VM - AMD64 X2 4800+ 2.5 Ghz - 4X1GB DDR2 800 - GeForce 6150 256MB - 2X320GB
Red Knuckles
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 3:16
Location: Colorado, USA

Postby wolfden » Thu Jul 26, 2007 22:23

Yes, Gentoo gets all uptight about SL users filing bug reports. They are not very mature about the whole SL situation.
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Next

Return to Portage|Emerge Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: glenmo and 1 guest