Emerge updated dhcp and now I can't get online [Solved]

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

Postby timpalpant » Sun Jul 22, 2007 5:07

Just reverted to dhcp-3.0.6 and it works perfectly now. Looks like it's an issue with net-misc/dhcp-3.1.0, I suggest you mask it and I'm going to file a bug.
timpalpant
Young Hen
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 21:04

Postby WarraWarra » Sun Jul 22, 2007 5:53

Good stuff will do.

Keep up the good work.
WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Postby smolloy » Sun Jul 22, 2007 6:26

timpalpant wrote:Just reverted to dhcp-3.0.6 and it works perfectly now. Looks like it's an issue with net-misc/dhcp-3.1.0, I suggest you mask it and I'm going to file a bug.

Great work. That worked perfectly for me.

Examining my emerge.log, it looks like I was previously running dhcp-3.1.0_rc2 quite happily, and that the bug was introduced when it went to dhcp-3.1.0 after I synced emerge on July 20. Might want to note that in your bug report.

Thanks for your help everyone. It's great when a forum works as well as this. 8)
AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 7300 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 2X250GB SATAII
smolloy
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 5:24

Postby WarraWarra » Sun Jul 22, 2007 7:58

3.0.3 here in 1.0 BE that caused it. Using 3.0.6 now to see if it will be better.
WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Re: Emerge updated dhcp and now I can't get online [Solved]

Postby Rhywden » Fri Aug 31, 2007 19:24

Okay, that may be all fine and dandy for those who can revert to an older version still on their PC.

How exactly do you manage to achieve that when you just installed Sabayon from the Live DVD?
Rhywden
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 19:21

Re: Emerge updated dhcp and now I can't get online [Solved]

Postby wolfden » Fri Aug 31, 2007 20:45

livedvd should have older version, not effected

otherwise run net-setup
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Emerge updated dhcp and now I can't get online [Solved]

Postby Rhywden » Sat Sep 01, 2007 2:12

Sorry, the LiveDVD is affected as well. I figured out how to use net-setup, but both the old LiveDVD version and the newest one are affected.

Though I somehow managed to get the system to use DHCP directly after emerging to the newest version. After a reboot, this doesn't work anymore, sadly enough.

edit: I did downgrade to version 3.0.6 of DHCP - still no go. Sometimes a manual use of "dhclient eth1" manages to get a lease from the server, but as of yet I haven't figured out what the conditions for that to happen are.
"dhcping -v -s 192.168.0.1" gets a valid response from the server as soon as I've set the IP adresse manually - but dhclient usually doesn't.

I have to admit that this kind of behaviour is somewhat annoying.
Rhywden
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 19:21

Re: Emerge updated dhcp and now I can't get online [Solved]

Postby Rhywden » Sat Sep 01, 2007 14:39

Okay, some more weird stuff: DHCP doesn't work 95% of the time when I'm using a wired connection.

It works all the time via wireless but only halfway. I'm connecting to the network, credentials are fine, I get my IP, I can ping the router but cannot connect to the internet. It seems as if the DHCP client doesn't fetch / set the gateway and/or the DNS server. When I set the gateway / DNS-IP manually, everything works fine.

This is with DHCP-3.0.6
Rhywden
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 19:21

Re: Emerge updated dhcp and now I can't get online [Solved]

Postby wolfden » Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:03

Something with your system cause the LiveDVD is not effected by the dhcp upgrades since it is not upgraded.

Sounds like you have problem with networkmanager. Have you updated that?
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Emerge updated dhcp and now I can't get online [Solved]

Postby Rhywden » Mon Sep 03, 2007 20:52

emerge knetworkmanager didn't do any good either.
Rhywden
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 19:21

PreviousNext

Return to Networking and Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron