Compiz Fusion

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Post by wolfden » Mon Jun 25, 2007 12:49

I installed it on SL and it was eating up cpus, beryl is more stable yet in my findings - will try it again with loop3

dave_p_b
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 607
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 1:39
Location: Exeter, UK

Post by dave_p_b » Mon Jun 25, 2007 20:08

Hi

Looks like my question about compiz-fusion has been answered here http://planet.sabayonlinux.org/?p=48

Cheers

Dave

teo
Baby Hen
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 23:09
Location: Trieste, Italy
Contact:

Compiz Fusion on 3.4loop2

Post by teo » Mon Jun 25, 2007 22:19

Running Compiz Fusion-git right now on SL3.4loop2 and works great, no crashes so far. Most of the effects look slightly more fluid than on Beryl, but no 3D windows hovering on the transparent cube so far :wink:

You can find the ebuilds on the xeffects overlay.

dave_p_b
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 607
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 1:39
Location: Exeter, UK

Post by dave_p_b » Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:28

Hi teo

Maybe you could help me. I followed the instructions at here http://wiki.gentoo-xeffects.org/Compiz_Fusion
I enter the line "KDEWM="compiz --replace ccp --sm-disable" into the /etc/env.d/99kde-env file.
Each time I log on it gets half way through the kde splash screen and returns to the login screen. I then have to remove the entry from the /etc/env.d/99kde-env file to be able to log back in.
Once I'm logged in I can start compiz manually but it causes problems that way.

I'm using a nvidia 6600 card.

Did you have to upgrade desktop-acceleration-helpers and accel-manager to the latest versions?

Oh, and I'm using 3.4 Loop1. Do you think that would make a difference?

Cheers

Dave

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Post by wolfden » Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:42

I start it manually

compiz --replace ccp

auto starting seems to cause weird effects

dave_p_b
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 607
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 1:39
Location: Exeter, UK

Post by dave_p_b » Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:46

Hi wolfden

If I start it manually I get strange problems with kicker and when trying to open konqueror windows. I used to get this with beryl too. When I was using beryl, these problems went away when I auto started it at login.

I shall persist. :wink: Hopefully it will be fully integrated by version 3.4.
I'm patient :lol:

Cheers

Dave

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Post by wolfden » Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:50

well by the sounds of it, it will be. Compiz-Fusion is just sooo alpha, a July release of 3.4 final with compiz-fusion could be scary, hopefully it will be better by than.

with lxnay on the job, it should be all good.

timpalpant
Young Hen
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 21:04

Post by timpalpant » Tue Jun 26, 2007 4:27

I had the exact same issue with autostart in KDE. I have no clue because it just returns to the login screen without any kind of error at all.

Also, has anyone got this to work on ATI cards? I couldn't help noticing the wording on the xeffects wiki:
Compiz Fusion will now start whenever you start Xgl, X.Org with AiGLX, or start X.Org with nVidia drivers.
(emphasis added)

That may relate to the error I get:

Code: Select all

[email protected] ~ $ compiz --replace ccp
compiz (core) - Fatal: GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap is missing
compiz (core) - Error: Failed to manage screen: 0
compiz (core) - Fatal: No manageable screens found on display :0.0

teo
Baby Hen
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 23:09
Location: Trieste, Italy
Contact:

Post by teo » Tue Jun 26, 2007 9:02

I didn't touch kde-env, instead I use a script I found on a howto that I can't find now that sets up the environment for compiz fusion and starts it.

eduardhc
Technological Hen
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 16:31
Location: Barcelona (Cat)

Post by eduardhc » Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:50

timpalpant wrote:I had the exact same issue with autostart in KDE. I have no clue because it just returns to the login screen without any kind of error at all.

Also, has anyone got this to work on ATI cards? I couldn't help noticing the wording on the xeffects wiki:
Compiz Fusion will now start whenever you start Xgl, X.Org with AiGLX, or start X.Org with nVidia drivers.
(emphasis added)

That may relate to the error I get:

Code: Select all

[email protected] ~ $ compiz --replace ccp
compiz (core) - Fatal: GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap is missing
compiz (core) - Error: Failed to manage screen: 0
compiz (core) - Fatal: No manageable screens found on display :0.0

AFAIK ATI drivers don't support AIGLX. You need to use XGL.
(Don't ask to configure Compiz to use XGL, though... :D)

Cheers,
Eduard

Post Reply