rsync errors doing emerge --sync

Anything that pertains to Portage

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
enzomars
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 22:15

rsync errors doing emerge --sync

Post by enzomars » Wed May 30, 2007 22:56

Someone can explain to me how to make this thing works?
I've been trying to update my system for a while ,and i really need it now.
That's what i've been getting after trying to synchronize my portage:

# emerge --sync
>>> Starting rsync with rsync://64.127.121.98/gentoo-portage...
>>> Checking server timestamp ...
timed out
rsync error: received SIGINT, SIGTERM, or SIGHUP (code 20) at rsync.c(276) [receiver=2.6.9]
>>> Retrying...


>>> Starting retry 1 of 3 with rsync://209.177.148.226/gentoo-portage
>>> Checking server timestamp ...
timed out
rsync error: received SIGINT, SIGTERM, or SIGHUP (code 20) at rsync.c(276) [receiver=2.6.9]
>>> Retrying... (this 3 times :evil: )


!!! Rsync has not successfully finished. It is recommended that you keep
!!! trying or that you use the 'emerge-webrsync' option if you are unable
!!! to use rsync due to firewall or other restrictions. This should be a
!!! temporary problem unless complications exist with your network
!!! (and possibly your system's filesystem) configuration.





first i thought there was a problem with my ports/firewall but everything was fine.
Port 873 is fine and unlocked.
Then i thought something was wrong with my version of rsync so i reinstalled it.
But it's still the same.

So anyone knows how to deal with this little problem?

emerge-webrsync ;doesn't seems to do any good since it asks to run a proper rsync later on.

.

WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Post by WarraWarra » Wed May 30, 2007 23:12

Could be:
Check your clock / time / date and see if it is correct.

Also timed out = high ping / latency on the internet , try "ping -c 3 http://www.yahoo.com" or google or big websites , yahoo is in Dallas TX or try http://www.speakeasy.net
Yours should start with small numbers close to you. 34ms once past cable modem .

Anything above 100ms means there is too much traffic on the connections between you and the ping website you tried.

As for the servers I have seen 1 or 2 of them being down for maintenance yesterday.

Think the Cisco bug that was out last week is hitting the servers now that is not yet updated , my ISP was down for 4 hours last night "ISP via AT&T to internet"

Alternatively compare your ping to this link below to same ip / website as your pc ping to website.
This should give you a idea where the bottle neck is. Then give your ISP a call and complain if needed LOL.

http://network-tools.com/default.asp?pr ... 8&Base=YES

Round trip time to 64.127.121.98: 49 ms
Round trip time to 64.127.121.98: 49 ms
Round trip time to 64.127.121.98: 49 ms
Round trip time to 64.127.121.98: 48 ms
Round trip time to 64.127.121.98: 48 ms
Round trip time to 64.127.121.98: 49 ms
Round trip time to 64.127.121.98: 48 ms
Round trip time to 64.127.121.98: 48 ms
Round trip time to 64.127.121.98: 49 ms
Round trip time to 64.127.121.98: 49 ms

Hope this helps.

enzomars
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 22:15

Post by enzomars » Wed May 30, 2007 23:24

Nope that's not it.
+ i did ping most of the repositories sites with shorter TTL's results than that.
Aks for the time/clock on my pc, i don't see how it could matter.

Round trip time to 64.127.121.98: 49 ms
Round trip time to 64.127.121.98: 48 ms
Round trip time to 64.127.121.98: 49 ms
Round trip time to 64.127.121.98: 48 ms
Round trip time to 64.127.121.98: 48 ms
Round trip time to 64.127.121.98: 49 ms
Round trip time to 64.127.121.98: 48 ms
Round trip time to 64.127.121.98: 48 ms
Round trip time to 64.127.121.98: 49 ms
Round trip time to 64.127.121.98: 50 ms

Average time over 10 pings: 48.6 ms

WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Post by WarraWarra » Wed May 30, 2007 23:39

Time date is not a big deal , but can make some errors.
Can only think that the servers is busy. Maybe someone more clued up than me can help you.
Works fine from my side.

robotz
Baby Hen
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 17:43

Post by robotz » Wed Jun 13, 2007 17:47

I had this problem. I did 'emerge rsync', and that seemed to fix it.

echo6
Growing Hen
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 22:18

Post by echo6 » Tue Aug 14, 2007 22:46

I've just complained to Pipex UK.

Was seeing a horrendous performance problem when trying to --sync to 134.68.220.74. No problem with pinging it. Then when I looked at Wireshark I saw numerous TCP errors.

Is GENTOO_MIRRORS in /etc/make.conf no longer supported? I can't seem to get emerge --sync to pick another server!

It should be supported

echo6
Growing Hen
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 22:18

Post by echo6 » Tue Aug 14, 2007 22:48


Post Reply