Archs?

Discuss all artwork and development - Suggestions needed

Moderator: Moderators

What arch do you run SL on?

P3 or lower
4
8%
P4
8
17%
Athlon single core
5
10%
Athlon64 single core
13
27%
Intel Dual core (any)
7
15%
AMD Dual core (any)
11
23%
 
Total votes : 48

Postby cvill64 » Fri Nov 10, 2006 21:39

you don't need a quad for a tablet.... why would you be running multithreaded apps on a portable tablet? you want that for battery life and small things it sounds like for me...
cvill64
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2185
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:03
Location: Virginia, USA

Postby barcode_linux » Fri Nov 10, 2006 23:52

Here's my machines:

Desktop = AthlonXP 2Ghz 32 bit single core w/2GB ram
Laptop1 = P3 850Mhz 32bit single core w/ 512MB RAM
Laptop2 = Athlon4 1.3Mhz 32 bit single core w/ 256MB RAM
Laptop3 = Turion64X2 1.6Ghz dual core w/ 1GB RAM

cvill64: You were right about the dual core proc's. I don't regret it!

AND Square Bottle: and quad core chips will be here sonner than you think --->> http://news.com.com/2100-1006_3-6096192.html
barcode_linux
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 7:10
Location: Alabama, USA

Postby Goatee » Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:10

i voted dual core but i run it on an athlon64 single core too and i want to run it on my lappy qhich is an OLD celeron
Goatee
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 16:15
Location: England, UK

Postby johnnyhay » Sun Nov 12, 2006 9:18

I'm on an Athlon 2600+ 1.9 Ghz with 1.5 GBs of RAM. Does it make a difference if I tell you all it was a 6800Xtreme running at 1000Mhz on 256MB DDR3? Well it does. :) lol.
But it's really amazing to hear that it's running on P3 and lower systems.
johnnyhay
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 8:54
Location: Google's main DNS

In the middle of an upgrade

Postby ArcherB » Thu Jan 11, 2007 1:28

I currently run on an old AthlonXP 3200, but I'm about to upgrade to a Core2 Duo (got it at Fry's for $170, with motherboard! Yeah, it's an E6300 and the MB is AGP, but that just makes it easier to upgrade!) I'm a pretty die-hard AMD guy, but the price was too good to pass up!
ArcherB
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 4:44

Postby Appleman1234 » Fri Feb 09, 2007 22:10

I am running a AMD Turion :)
Image
Appleman1234
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 964
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 9:48
Location: Land Down Under / Australia

Postby jsyjr » Tue Feb 13, 2007 14:53

Variety of amd64 and amd64x2. Have yet to install on any older x86-based platforms.
jsyjr
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 13:17
Location: concord, ma, usa

Previous

Return to Artwork and Development Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests