Fatal flaw in 3.26 wiping out user dir during install

Discuss all artwork and development - Suggestions needed

Moderator: Moderators

Fatal flaw in 3.26 wiping out user dir during install

Postby Bobby » Mon Jan 22, 2007 13:08

When installing 3.26 over a working distro it does not properly protect exisiting users.

During install if you choose to add an additional user (besides the main user) which already exisits it will delete the dir and create a new one. Obviously it should give a warning and not just wipe it out.
Bobby
Young Hen
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 20:18

Postby cvill64 » Mon Jan 22, 2007 16:29

? I have tried multiple times at re-adding a user created /home and it hasn't whiped it out, I just cannot get it to happen, but I'll keep trying
cvill64
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2185
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:03
Location: Virginia, USA

Postby Bobby » Mon Jan 22, 2007 16:38

I started with a FC6, user bobby, and then installed Sabayon. Wiped all but /home partition.
During the first install I used bobby as the main user. Realizing that there's a conflict with KDE settings I nstalled again, this time using rob as the main and bobby as the added user.
When I logged in as bobby all was gone.

During these test I never did anything much more than logging in.
Bobby
Young Hen
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 20:18

Postby Bobby » Mon Jan 22, 2007 16:40

I had the thought that I might have wiped the home partition the second time, except that all the other home directories were still there.
Bobby
Young Hen
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 20:18


Return to Artwork and Development Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron