SubMenu in next release? Already made layout with pictures.

Discuss all artwork and development - Suggestions needed

Moderator: Moderators

Postby johnnyhay » Tue Jan 09, 2007 5:13

Posting my kmenu with submeans in here. I'll also be filling out a bug report soon.
Note: This only works with the follow liveDVD's, I think?.
Sabayon 3.2, 3.25 or 3.26 liveDVD.

Instructions.
1. Download applications-kmenueidt.menu.
Code: Select all
http://www.sharebigfile.com/file/55202/applications-kmenuedit-menu.html

UPDATE:
Please rename to the file, after you download, to "applications-kmenuedit.menu".
You can't download file after Jauary 18,2007.

2. Now open up konqueror or any file browser, and type this in the address.
/home/USERNAME/.config/menus
3. Make a backup of applicastions-kmenuedit.menu, if you have one.
4. Now with the downloaded file, applicastions-kmenuedit.menu, copy and paste it into the current folder, /home/USERNAME/.config/menus
5. Log out then back in and you should see the new menu.

If you want to change your menu back just replace the back up with the modified version you put in.

Hope that works.
Last edited by johnnyhay on Tue Jan 09, 2007 5:39, edited 1 time in total.
johnnyhay
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 8:54
Location: Google's main DNS

Postby wolfden » Tue Jan 09, 2007 5:26

johnnyhay wrote:Posting my kmenu with submeans in here. I'll also be filling out a bug report soon.
Note: This only works with the follow liveDVD's, I think?.
Sabayon 3.2, 3.25 or 3.26 liveDVD.

Instructions.
1. Download applications-kmenueidt.menu.
Code: Select all
http://www.sharebigfile.com/file/55202/applications-kmenuedit-menu.html

You can't download file after Jauary 18,2007.

2. Now open up konqueror or any file browser, and type this in the address.
/home/USERNAME/.config/menus
3. Make a backup of applicastions-kmenuedit.menu, if you have one.
4. Now with the downloaded file, applicastions-kmenuedit.menu, copy and paste it into the current folder, /home/USERNAME/.config/menus
5. Log out then back in and you should see the new menu.

If you want to change your menu back just replace the back up with the modified version you put in.

Hope that works.


Nice!

I have my own Kmenu edited and never knew how to back it up - never thought of that. I got mine all nicely organized with icons and all that pretty stuff
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Postby johnnyhay » Tue Jan 09, 2007 5:53

Yeah, I was really pissed off when I couldn't find an "export" feature. So after fighting with google to find an answer, I just went off on my own to find it and 2 hours later, I did. :)

*johnnyhay starts bitching.*
In realilty, it only took 3 mintues to find it but it was hard to tell since the data structure sucks! It's like one HUGE f***ing HTML. I was like "this can't be it, it still has my old settings".
You see, it's XML based and instead of deleting your old settings, they just place a OLD tag around it and insert the new entries, with a NEW tag.
Also, you can't change anything or else it'll overwrite your changes. I found that out after messing up the Multimedia menu. Just look at it.
*bitching has ended.*

UPDATE:
You don't have to log off to view the changes. Just overwrite the file with the one you download and it should work.
johnnyhay
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 8:54
Location: Google's main DNS

Postby cvill64 » Tue Jan 09, 2007 7:33

I still see nothing in bugs.sabayonlinux.org under enhancements which would be the proper mode of transmission for something like this to get included
cvill64
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2185
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:03
Location: Virginia, USA

Previous

Return to Artwork and Development Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests