How to enable root login on Sabayon [Solved]

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
jackmule
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2020 0:17

How to enable root login on Sabayon [Solved]

Post by jackmule » Fri Aug 21, 2020 12:56

I installed Sabayon KDE on a laptop. Coming from Slackware, I am used to be able to login as root. How can this be done with Sabayon? I cannot seem to find it anywhere online.

I also have Calculate Linux on another laptop and that allows root login.

Not being able to login as root could be a deal breaker for me. I find Sabayon running fine otherwise.

jackmule
Last edited by jackmule on Sun Aug 23, 2020 17:17, edited 3 times in total.

svantoviit
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 765
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 17:55
Contact:

Re: How to enable root login on Sabayon

Post by svantoviit » Sun Aug 23, 2020 14:07

It's not considered best practice running your system as root.
You can always

Code: Select all

su
to become root if needed.

jackmule
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2020 0:17

Re: How to enable root login on Sabayon

Post by jackmule » Sun Aug 23, 2020 17:12

I am going to take it that you cannot log into Sabayon as root. That is fine. The distro is working extremely well on second laptop. I am very impressed especially after big KDE update. Everything is working flawlessly.

Kudos to Sabayon team.

I will mark as solved

Post Reply