cant find installed via rigo program [Solved]

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

cant find installed via rigo program [Solved]

Postby SilentGateKeeper » Thu Jul 17, 2014 6:56

Hello,

I have litte problem with finding my installed soft. I installed few porgrams via RIGO and some are just in KDE lunch menu (like they should) and some i cant find and run... Specifically i installed a virtualbox, and fuseiso (or something like this).
So if someone could help me and tell me how i can start (run) my virtual box or generaly how i can find and run program that rigo dont put in lunch menu i would appricate.
I found one topic with similiar name but ther someone dont use RIGO.

with regards
SGK

ps: sorry for my bad english
Last edited by SilentGateKeeper on Thu Jul 17, 2014 12:45, edited 1 time in total.
SilentGateKeeper
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2014 5:38

Re: cant find installed via rigo program

Postby svantoviit » Thu Jul 17, 2014 12:33

You'll find everything you need to know to run VirtualBox in the Wiki: HOWTO: Using Virtualbox
You would actually know what to do, if you have read the post-install messages. I recommend you to do it after each install or update.

FuseISO is a command line tool, so it wont create a launcher in the menu :roll:
Surprise, it comes with a help:
Code: Select all
$ fuseiso -h
Version: 20070708
Usage: fuseiso [-n] [-p] [-c <iocharset>] [-h] <isofs_image_file> <mount_point> [<FUSE library options>]
Where options are:
    -n                 -- do NOT maintain file $HOME/.mtab.fuseiso
    -p                 -- maintain mount point;
                          create it if it does not exists and delete it on exit
    -c <iocharset>     -- specify iocharset for Joliet filesystem
    -h                 -- print this screen

Common FUSE library options are:
    -f                 -- run in foreground, do not daemonize
    -d                 -- run in foreground and print debug information
    -s                 -- run single-threaded

Please consult with FUSE documentation for more information

If you would check the files it comes with,
Code: Select all
# equo q files fuseiso
╠  @@ Files Search
╠  ### /usr
╠  ### /usr/bin
╠  ### /usr/bin/fuseiso
╠  ### /usr/lib
╠  ### /usr/share
╠  ### /usr/share/doc
╠  ### /usr/share/doc/fuseiso-20070708-r1
╠  ### /usr/share/doc/fuseiso-20070708-r1/AUTHORS.bz2
╠  ### /usr/share/doc/fuseiso-20070708-r1/ChangeLog.bz2
╠  ### /usr/share/doc/fuseiso-20070708-r1/NEWS.bz2
╠  ### /usr/share/doc/fuseiso-20070708-r1/README.bz2
╠   Package:  sys-fs/fuseiso-20070708-r1
╠   Found:    11 files
you would notice the README which gives a little more information as the help. You can read it with
Code: Select all
$ bzless /usr/share/doc/fuseiso-20070708-r1/README.bz2

And after a little googlig you would find this how to: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/FuseIso

Same system as with VirtualBox applies to games, you need to be in the games group in order to play them (and to see a launcher in the menu). But again, you'll find the instructions in the post-install messages after installing a game.
svantoviit
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 17:55

Re: cant find installed via rigo program

Postby SilentGateKeeper » Thu Jul 17, 2014 12:44

Thank you for response.
My mistake come with fact that i used ubuntu and there i never had to do anything more then install via soft center, so after luxury of ubuntu i assumend that sabayon would have automatic configuration as well.
In other hand after fact that i had do config just after installation should lead me to conclusion that i cant do notihng in simple way on that distro...
SilentGateKeeper
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2014 5:38

Re: cant find installed via rigo program [Solved]

Postby svantoviit » Thu Jul 17, 2014 14:51

Sabayon requires a more active user ;)

Define simple!
svantoviit
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 17:55

Re: cant find installed via rigo program [Solved]

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Thu Jul 17, 2014 21:27

The following Web article, published on 14 July 2014, mentions SL in the section 'Best Linux Desktop: Experienced Enthusiasts': Best Linux Desktop: Top 10 Candidates. I think that's a fair assessment.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7985
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom


Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest