Error with applications that require Root [Solved]

Discussions Regarding Software

Moderator: Moderators

Error with applications that require Root [Solved]

Postby limathebest » Sun Mar 16, 2014 19:42

Hi,

There are approximately seven days after an update, my system started to behave strangely. Whenever I need to use a program that uses root access, eg:

mount partition
gparted
Date and Time Settings
Network Settings
etc ...

If I use the terminal commands that need root, for example:

sudo equo upgrade
sudo nano /etc/filetxt
sudo mv /etc/filetxt /root/filetxt
I can mount other drives using the command line.
I can even log in as root from the terminal.

Everything works normally!!!!!!!!!

I've had other updates and so far nothing. Does anyone have any idea how can I solve this problem?


Subject edited by Moderator, as I believe it was translated from Portuguese using Google Translate and the author meant 'Error with applications that need root', not 'Error with applications that accuracy Root' ('precisam', not 'precisão'!).
Last edited by limathebest on Wed Mar 26, 2014 17:41, edited 1 time in total.
limathebest
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 16:25
Location: Brazil

Re: Error with applications that accuracy of Root

Postby albfneto » Tue Mar 18, 2014 20:25

may be due to sudo modifications or protection from run "graphical" applications as root.
Try to run the "command line" aplications as entropy with normal Root methods, as:

Code: Select all
# equo install package OR
$ sudo equo install package OR
# nano file.txt


etc...
For "Graphical" Applications, try using the "Graphical Sudo", examples:

Code: Select all
$ kdesu kate OR
$ gksu nautilus (if you use GNOME) OR
$ gksu gparted
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE
User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil

Re: Error with applications that accuracy of Root

Postby limathebest » Tue Mar 18, 2014 21:50

Olá Alberto, primeiramente gostaria de dizer que agradeço sua ajuda e seu empenho em me ajudar, então, muito obrigado pela força!

Então, caso eu lance um aplicativo com o comando sudo, exemplo:
Code: Select all
kdesu dolphin

Code: Select all
kdesu gparted


Eles funcionam normalmente, o mesmo ocorre se eu usar o sudo no terminal, exemplo:
Code: Select all
sudo equo update

Code: Select all
# equo upgrade

sudo nano /etc/sysctl.conf


Pra explicar melhor meu problema, basta pensar na necessidade de usar um pendrive, ao inserir o pendrive no pc, ele não permite que eu o monte, pra isso tenho que usar o comando mount, especificar o tipo de partição e onde ele será montado. Antes era bem mais simples, bastava apenas ir no dolphin ou no gerenciador de dispositivos e clicar no disco. Outra coisa que eu perdi o controle com a falta do "root", é a configuração de rede, agora não posso alterar minhas preferencias de rede, antes quando algo na rede era alterado, se fazia necessário digitar a senha de root (sudo), agora não tem como se fazer isso de forma gráfica e fácil.

Administro 4 computadores, 2 deles são usados por crianças que não possuem a senha de root para uso, devido a esse problema elas não podem usar pendrives ou cartões de memoria. A 3ª maquina é utilizada pela minha esposa, que não possui grandes conhecimentos em Linux, mas sabe como tirar proveito dele no dia a dia, na empresa onde ela trabalha a rede é mal configurada e para se navegar é necessário configurar manualmente, ip, dns e mascara de rede. Imagina a tranqueira que seria explicar pra ela configurar uma rede pelo terminal. A 4 máquina é a minha, que me viro através do terminal e de comados como o "kdesu".

Alberto, se você tiver alguma ideia de como me ajudar, ficarei grato, mas desde já agradeço profundamente sua ajuda e sua disposição.

Um forte abraço.

PS: I replied in Portuguese to make it easier to understand my problem.
limathebest
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 16:25
Location: Brazil

Re: Error with applications that accuracy of Root

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Wed Mar 19, 2014 13:30

in Portuguese, limathebest wrote:Hello Alberto, firstly I would like to say that I thank you for your help and your effort in helping me, so, many thanks for the effort!

So, if I launch an application with the command sudo, for example:
Code: Select all
kdesu dolphin

Code: Select all
kdesu gparted


They work normally, the same occurs if I use sudo in the terminal, for example:
Code: Select all
sudo equo update

Code: Select all
# equo upgrade

sudo nano /etc/sysctl.conf


To explain better my problem, it's sufficient to think about the need to use a pen drive, on inserting the pen drive into the PC, it does not allow me to mount it, for this I have to use the mount command, specify the type of partition and where it will be mounted. Before it was much simpler, it was sufficient to go to dolphin or to the device manager and click on the disc. Another thing that I lost control of without "root", is the configuration of the network, now I cannot change my network preferences, before when something on the network was changed, it was necessary to enter the root password (sudo), now there is no way to do this via GUI and easily.

I administer 4 computers, 2 of them are used by children that do not have the root password for use, due to this problem they cannot use pen drives or memory cards. The third machine is used by my wife, who does not posess much knowledge of Linux, but knows how to use it day to day, in the company where she works the netywork is badly configured and to surf it is necessary to configure it manually, ip, dns and network mask. Imagine the hurdle it would be to explain to her how to configure a network via the terminal. The 4th machine is mine, and I by using the terminal and commands like "kdesu".

Alberto, if you have any idea of how to help me, I would be grateful, but in advance I thank you deeply for your help and willingness.

A big hug.

Em inglês, por favor, limathebest. Se não, por favor use o foro português, tá? Obrigado desde já.
In English, please, limathebest. If not, please use the SL Portuguese-language shed (forum), OK? Thanks in advance.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Error with applications that accuracy of Root

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Wed Mar 19, 2014 14:09

Looks like you might be experiencing the same, or similar, problem to these guys:

sudo,pam_unix ... password problem since upgrade [Solved]

Upgrade caused connection problems (2014-03-03) [Solved]

Do you have "init=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd" specified in your /boot/grub/grub.cfg file?
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Error with applications that require Root

Postby albfneto » Fri Mar 21, 2014 1:59

no exactly...

you can use..... sudo for non graphical commands, as : cp, mv, equo, emerge...

instead, try graphical sudo (kdesu and gksu) for graphical aplications, as gedit, kate, kwrite, dolphin, nautilus etc....

You may read Portuguese, see my article:

http://www.pinguimteajuda.com.br/node/192
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE
User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil

Re: Error with applications that require Root

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Fri Mar 21, 2014 12:22

We know that, albfneto. The problem he is having is:

To explain better my problem, it's sufficient to think about the need to use a pen drive, on inserting the pen drive into the PC, it does not allow me to mount it, for this I have to use the mount command, specify the type of partition and where it will be mounted. Before it was much simpler, it was sufficient to go to dolphin or to the device manager and click on the disc. Another thing that I lost control of without "root", is the configuration of the network, now I cannot change my network preferences, before when something on the network was changed, it was necessary to enter the root password (sudo), now there is no way to do this via GUI and easily.

In other words, after upgrading he has lost the ability to mount a pen drive via the GUI (KDE), and he has lost the ability to change his network preferences via the GUI (KDE).

When I click on an unmounted pen drive in KDE's Device Manager or in a Dolphin window, the pen drive gets mounted. He is saying that it used to be that way for him too, but it doesn't work any more.

When I click on Edit in KDE 'Manage Connections', KDE pops up a window prompting me to enter the root user's password before allowing me to edit the network configuration. He is saying that it used to be that way for him too, but it doesn't work any more.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Error with applications that require Root

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Fri Mar 21, 2014 12:44

limathebest,

Just to make sure your installations have been upgraded properly, please do the following:

Code: Select all
$ su
Password:   <--- Enter root user's password
# equo conf update
# equo update
# equo upgrade
# equo conf update
# kernel-switcher switch linux-sabayon-3.13.5
# equo deptest
# equo libtest
# eselect init set systemd
# systemctl reboot
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Error with applications that require Root

Postby limathebest » Wed Mar 26, 2014 17:40

hello,

Sorry for the delay in responding, but only yesterday could perform the procedure described above on four machines I mentioned. Apparently everything is back to normal.

I thank everyone who took the time to help me. Thank you very much.

Sorry for my bad English.
limathebest
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 16:25
Location: Brazil


Return to Software in General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest