Going to use Sabayon on my work computer but need Hipchat

Discussions Regarding Software

Moderator: Moderators

Going to use Sabayon on my work computer but need Hipchat

Postby cdysthe » Sat Mar 15, 2014 16:21

Hi,

I am hoping to be able to use Sabayon on my work computer but we use Hipchat extensively and wondered if anyone have run in on Sabayon? It has installers for Arch, Ubuntu and Fedora, but I can't find anything on Sabayon. Anyone know and/or have experience with running it?
Sabayon GNOME - Come visit: https://vivaldi.net
cdysthe
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 16:07
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Going to use Sabayon on my work computer but need Hipcha

Postby belcocco » Sat Mar 15, 2014 17:04

It says how to do it on the site https://www.hipchat.com/downloads. Section:"Other Linux Distribution"
Download package 32 or 64 bit.
Open a console.
Extract files in a directory with the command:
Code: Select all
$tar --strip=1 -xJvf hipchat*xz.

Launch HipChat by executing in console:
Code: Select all
$./HipChat/bin/hipchat
Ciao
belcocco
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 18:53
Location: Milan, Italy

Re: Going to use Sabayon on my work computer but need Hipcha

Postby cdysthe » Sat Mar 15, 2014 17:06

Thanks, I've seen that, but I would just like to know that it works before I do an install. Also, using that method means HipChat won't be updated automatically. I guess I can live with that. I guess I could try from a Live USB run of Sabayon.
Sabayon GNOME - Come visit: https://vivaldi.net
cdysthe
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 16:07
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Going to use Sabayon on my work computer but need Hipcha

Postby belcocco » Sat Mar 15, 2014 17:14

I did not know until 15 minutes makes the existence of HipChat. :D
I followed the steps and I saw that it works. :alien:
I think that this procedure you can do it also with a Live USB Sabayon.
The next time you reboot you lose the procedure anyway.
CIao
belcocco
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 18:53
Location: Milan, Italy

Re: Going to use Sabayon on my work computer but need Hipcha

Postby svantoviit » Sat Mar 15, 2014 18:58

I wouldn't mess with source unless I really had to… and since hipchat is available in the overlays…
Code: Select all
$ eix -R hipchat
* dev-ruby/hipchat
     Available versions:  (~)0.10.0[1] (~)0.14.0 (~)1.0.1[3] {doc test ELIBC="FreeBSD" RUBY_TARGETS="ruby19"}
     Homepage:            https://github.com/hipchat/hipchat-rb
     Description:         Ruby library to interact with HipChat

* net-im/hipchat
     Available versions: 
     (1)    (~)1.95.444[2]
     (0)    (~)1.98.679[4] (~)2.1.982[4]
     Homepage:            http://www.hipchat.com/
     Description:         A Hipchat client

[1] "dev-zero" layman/dev-zero
[2] "plab" layman/plab
[3] "ruby" layman/ruby
[4] "tmacedo" layman/tmacedo

Found 2 matches.
…you can install it "kosher" using portage.

Another option is to file a package request via Bugzilla.
svantoviit
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 17:55

Re: Going to use Sabayon on my work computer but need Hipcha

Postby cdysthe » Sat Mar 15, 2014 21:18

svantoviit wrote:I wouldn't mess with source unless I really had to… and since hipchat is available in the overlays…
Code: Select all
$ eix -R hipchat
* dev-ruby/hipchat
     Available versions:  (~)0.10.0[1] (~)0.14.0 (~)1.0.1[3] {doc test ELIBC="FreeBSD" RUBY_TARGETS="ruby19"}
     Homepage:            https://github.com/hipchat/hipchat-rb
     Description:         Ruby library to interact with HipChat

* net-im/hipchat
     Available versions: 
     (1)    (~)1.95.444[2]
     (0)    (~)1.98.679[4] (~)2.1.982[4]
     Homepage:            http://www.hipchat.com/
     Description:         A Hipchat client

[1] "dev-zero" layman/dev-zero
[2] "plab" layman/plab
[3] "ruby" layman/ruby
[4] "tmacedo" layman/tmacedo

Found 2 matches.
…you can install it "kosher" using portage.

Another option is to file a package request via Bugzilla.


This is my first run of Sabayon so what you say doesn't make much sense to me (yet). Portage/emerge and entropy is news. So my question is: It says on the Wiki that I should choose either Entropy or Portage on Sabayon. What you suggest is Portage to be "kosher" but could I do the same thing using Entropy? Sorry if this is a stupid question, but there will be a few of those coming from me the coming weeks until I get familiar with Sabayon.

And btw, Hipchat is a great application for team IM. It would be very cool if it could come with Sabayon OOTB at some point. I will file in bugzilla as suggested.
Sabayon GNOME - Come visit: https://vivaldi.net
cdysthe
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 16:07
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Going to use Sabayon on my work computer but need Hipcha

Postby svantoviit » Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:20

The package management is covered in detail in the Wiki, so you'll have to dig into it and experiment.
It's possible and legitimate to mix Entropy and Portage, if you follow certain rules.
Here you'll find more information:
HOWTO: Install Packages on Sabayon / The Complete Portage Guide
HOWTO: Safely mix Entropy and Portage
HOWTO: Example of Installing 3rd Party Ebuilds
Good luck!
svantoviit
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 17:55


Return to Software in General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests