Problem with simplebackup

If you are new to Linux or new to Sabayon Linux and just not sure where to post, here ya go. Post without fear of being told to RTFM :-)

Moderator: Moderators

Problem with simplebackup

Postby MonMon » Mon Oct 28, 2013 19:49

I'm new to sabayon, but i like it :P Earlier I had linux mint. In sbackup (simplebackup), i made a back up of my files. Now i have a problem. In Rigo, i installed this program, but can't find it in menu. When I try search program, it can't find it. But if I open installed programs in rigo, simplebackup is on the list. Why? How can i use this?
MonMon
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 19:43

Re: Problem with simplebackup

Postby linuxfluesterer » Tue Oct 29, 2013 8:55

I have installed 'simplebackup' for testing and I agree, there is no icon. I fear, here in Sabayon, this is a command utility.
You can start it in a konsole/console with:
Code: Select all
simplebackup --help
to see its contents, and how to use.
Anyway, maybe it will be a solution for you.
Personally, I prefer 'rsync', I have written my own script to make backups.

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)
I really hope, that by the Brexit (poor Britain), TTIP will be finally prevented. But don't get tired to talk to your local politician to open eyes for danger to democracy because of TTIP
User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 703
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Re: Problem with simplebackup

Postby MonMon » Tue Oct 29, 2013 10:00

It works ;) Thank you.
MonMon
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 19:43

Re: Problem with simplebackup

Postby wolfden » Tue Oct 29, 2013 11:49

You can always add menu entries manually. Sometimes a log out and log back in will do it too.
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA


Return to Beginners|Newbies Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron